We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly 'fine dining'”
Review of Seasonal Tastes

Seasonal Tastes
Ranked #5 of 6,828 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Food:
We opted for a buffet lunch - pretty fine but nothing too amazing. There was a lot to choose from, some being good and some pathetic. Like the custom pizza was too good and the rice/biriyani/Indian being below average. And when it came to desserts, we had a lot to choose from. I managed to try most of them and I couldn't find a reason to complain.

Ambiance:
Big and again nothing much to write about. If you are happy looking at huge empty spaces, you will do good.

BUT, there was this 'fly' problem. Yea, I had to swat flies and that is certainly something I do not want to do. And that is the reason preventing me from taking a 2nd look at this place.
I did not complain, because it is the responsibility of the hotel or the restaurant manager to make sure things are fine and it is not the guests who should tell them how to do it.

The restaurant seems to the place a lot of IT companies choose for team lunches and when that happens, the place is a mess. I dont blame the hotel for it, but just telling you if you are the type who does like to be in a crowd, jostling for space and cutlery during their fine dining experience.

The service is excellent and the staff seemed genuinely happy to help.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DonThomasJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnimeshBarat, Manager at Seasonal Tastes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

It was a pleasure to host you at Seasonal Tastes and we thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

It is nice to know that you found the food offerings to your liking and were satisfied with the services provided to you at our restaurant. However, we regret the inconvenience you faced while dining with us. We have noted your concerns and will share the relevant information with our team in the kitchen and other respective departments. We assure you that this was a one off occurrence and hope that your experience does not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Thank you for your patronage.

Stay well,

Animesh Barat
Director – Food and Beverage
Animesh.Barat@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 176 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Loved the food. though the varieties were limited on the stand , the open kitchen served lot of hot dishes. Pizza's were amazing too. The made to order pasta was perfect too. I would have rated more if the Air conditioning was better. It wasn't fixed despite our request and it did spoil the entire experience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ambrishl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnimeshBarat, Manager at Seasonal Tastes, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Welcome to Renewal!

It was a pleasure serving you at Seasonal Tastes and we thank you for sharing your review with us on TripAdvisor.

It was delightful to know that you were able to experience the open kitchen and enjoyed the food being served to you. We are glad to know that the pizzas and the made to order pastas were to your liking. We will certainly share your review with our team in the kitchen, they will be glad to know that their services added value to your dining experience. We have also noted your concerns and regret the inconvenience that you faced while dining with us. Your feedback will be shared with the relevant department so that the corrective measure can be taken at the earliest possible.

Thank you for your patronage.

Stay well,

Animesh Barat
Director – Food and Beverage
Animesh.Barat@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is located at the main lobby where people get their buffet. Simple and clean setup. Nothing fanciful. The staff are generally helpful. Some find the selection fantastic, i find them average. While no major complains, nothing to shout about as well.

Instead, I thought their ala carte menu was slightly better. I tried the roasted salmon, it was not bad.

Thank alfredteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnimeshBarat, Manager at Seasonal Tastes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Welcome to Renewal!

Many thanks for sharing your review regarding your dining experience at Seasonal Tastes on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to know that your dining experience with us was at par with your expectations and that you were glad with the services and facilities provided. It is good to know that the food offerings were to your liking. We have taken your feedback into consideration and will inform the team in the kitchen as well. Our associates will be delighted to know that they were able to add value to your experience.

Once again we thank you for dining with us and will look forward to welcoming you back.

Stay well,

Animesh Barat
Director – Food and Beverage
Animesh.Barat@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We had our dinner in seasonal tastes our favourite restaurant in Westin chennai
Today the flavour is chettinadu
We enjoyed the dinner with authentic chettinadu dishes
We enjoyed the Poondu kozhambu
Idiappam. Appam in particular since the taste was real good and emitted chettinadu essence
Recommend everyone to enjoy the same

Please keep it up

Viswa k

Thank vallivish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnimeshBarat, Manager at Seasonal Tastes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Welcome to Renewal!

Many thanks for sharing your feedback regarding your dining experience at Seasonal Tastes on TripAdvisor.

Many guests have written about the magnificent flavors that assail the palate at Seasonal Tastes and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your dining experience. We shall inform our team in the kitchen regarding your great review which will certainly motivate them to perform to the best of their abilities.

We thank you for recommending us to other travelers and look forward to welcoming you back.

Stay well,

Animesh Barat
Director – Food and Beverage
Animesh.Barat@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We went during the chettinad food festival in the month of April. We didn't go specifically for that, but decided on this buffet restaurant ahead of the other speciality restaurant, Eest, as we were a group of five and hence assumed it would cater to the needs of all of our tastes. Also, it was one of our birthdays, so we wanted it to be sort of special and memorable.

We went in and sat down, and only after that, came to know that it was the chettinad food festival. We were vegetarians, so we were slightly apprehensive, since there was this preconceived notion that chettinad cuisine generally involves predominantly non - vegetarian dishes only, so our options could be limited. But we went on in any case.

The food turned out to be fantastic. They had certain dishes that none of us had heard about. Like veg 'meen kuzhambu' made with vazhai poo (raw banana flower) and vetrilai poondu sadam (betel leaf and garlic rice). There was the live appam, idiyappam and kuzhi paniyaaram stations, which basically defined chettinad. The buffet utensils were earthen pots and the waiteras were dressed in white shirt and dhotis which brought about a traditional feel to the entire setup.

In addition to all these, they had wood fired pizza and pasta counters, the salad bar, made to order Tandoori bread varieties covering other cuisines also in general. Last but not the least, the desert section, which looked like a patisserie in itself. Uncountable cakes, mousse, Indian desserts, fruits and cold stone ice cream.

The service was good. Chef Suresh from Trichy, who setup the whole festival came up to us personally and spoke in detail about the dishes and in what all ways they were special.

The ambience was nice. It's better than what you normally expect from a five star hotel's 24 hour coffee shop. They also relocated us closer to the counters when we told them it was uncomfortable sitting too far out.

I rate a restaurant mainly on the quality of food. Everything else is secondary. And I was not let down here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AahirGiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnimeshBarat, Manager at Seasonal Tastes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Welcome to Renewal!

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your dining experience at our restaurant on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to know that your dining experience with us matched with your expectations and that you were delighted with the service provided to you. It is great to know that you could experience and take part in our Chettinad Food Festival while indulging in the many varied dishes served. Your special mention of the services provided by our associates is deeply appreciated and we thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We will surely convey your kind words to our team which will motivate them to continue performing with excellence.

It was a pleasure hosting you at Seasonal Tastes and we will surely look forward to your next visit.

Stay well,

Animesh Barat
Director – Food and Beverage
Animesh.Barat@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seasonal Tastes also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Seasonal Tastes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing