We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One of the best in Chennai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of E Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
E Hotel
Ranked #26 of 382 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best in Chennai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on 3 occasions over the past year and the staff especially Sanjiev and Fruitilda has always been very pleasant and helpful. All my stays has been comfortable and i've been made to feel like being home .Location is great and having the mall connected makes it very convenient.Rooms are spacious and clean .Having stayed in many other hotels in Chennai for the past 10years , i would rank this among the best and i hope they keep improving :)

The only downside of the hotel for me would be that the only restaurant at the hotel is "pure vegetarian"

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shatesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GauravGuptaGM, General Manager at E Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are grateful to you for your continuous patronage & ranking E Hotel the best. Your appreciation has been conveyed to Frutilda & Sanjiv. Great to note that you are happy with the service and the proximity as a mall hotel in the central business district.
Thank you for your time and your feedback enables us to better serve our guests’ up to their satisfaction. We look forward to your stay very soon and in the mean time please join our social network for E Hotel updates.

Regards,

Gaurav Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    115
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
102
65
29
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Reaching for satisfaction exposes the idea of trying different hotels during a stay in one place. At the beginning of our visit to Chennai we were in one of the 5 star hotels in which we somehow liked. Then we moved to the E hotel and decided not to move out till the day we left and that was due the following reasons:

1. Their fantastic customer services provided in all means (transportation, room keeping, greetings, caring, tour, etc). They always go beyond their duties and responsibilities just to please their customers.
2. The hotel is attached to the Express Avenue Mall which is considered a huge advantage for the hotel and its customers. The mall has everything that could come to your head (Huge supper market, pharmacy, cinema “movies”, big food court, international branded shops, cafés, etc)
3. The location of the hotel is very close to many of the good health institution “hospitals”
4. The prices in the hotel were quite reasonable compared to other hotels. Also the prices in the EA Mall were not bad at all.
5. The hotel is a 4 star hotel but can be easily compared with a 5 star hotel for its given customer services and location.

I personally would defiantly come back to this hotel in my next visit to Chennai.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlLamki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GauravGuptaGM, General Manager at E Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your choice to stay at E Hotel & thereafter the time taken to review. We are glad that you appreciated the staff and service, rated E Hotel as value for money. I have conveyed your feedback to the team, this would motivate everyone to reach their potential..
Thank you again and the team at E Hotel is looking forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Gaurav Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

What I liked:
This hotel is pretty new - started 26-Apr-2013. Clean and sparkling with well designed interiors and rooms (bit of IKEA feel) with innovative LED lighting. They provide complimentary bottled water in room and various pillow options to suit your needs. Room has partitioned shower and water closet (toilet) with water saving dual mode flush (so happy to see that in a hotel!). The hotel is attached to Express Mall (currently the biggest mall in Chennai) for your shopping needs. Staff is courteous and helpful.

Did not like:
* Complicated /non functional internet access via WiFi
* Muddy water in taps
* (Relatively) Expensive bar with limited choice of Indian beers
* Restaurant staff seemed slow and forgetful
* Menu items seemed overpriced for a 3-star hotel (also remember that in Chennai food is relatively cheap compared to other metros)
* No non-vegetarian option in Menu (the restaurant is pure veg). Don't expect non-veg items at bar as well
* Too many light switches in room that are not marked and confusing to use (particularly the toggle types).
* Shallow sink with high faucet placement causes splashing all around.
* Shower water finds its way outside the shower - slipping hazard
* House keeping seemed slow to respond even in off-season period when occupancy was low (they maybe purposely low on staff count)
* Hotel provided taxi service seemed over-priced (better book from Fast Track taxi service)

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly before booking online as they maybe running seasonal specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seuvenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GauravGuptaGM, General Manager at E Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are grateful to you for staying at hotel E and the time spent to write such an elaborate review about your experience at our hotel. We are glad that you liked the Mall Hotel “E” at Express Avenue. We apologize for the inconvenience you were caused with regard to the Wi-Fi and Water. We fully understand your concern for the discomfort & I have instructed the respective department to take corrective measures.
It is feedback such as yours that enables us to reinforce the quality of our service and we really appreciate your constructive comments. Once again, many thanks for patronizing and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Gaurav Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

E Hotel is modern and has great room designs and is attached to one of Chennai's largest shopping malls so is centrally located ion the city.
The food is all vegetarian and they don't serve alcohol which is popular with many guests, the staff are friendly and courteous but the free wifi is rubbish.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GauravGuptaGM, General Manager at E Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read your review about E Hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay at E. We are pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay; however I am sorry to read that you had problem with the Wi-Fi. Please let me know the specific error or problem you came across, so that we will ensure that you do not have any problem during your next visit. You may contact me at gm@emallhotel.com

We thank you for your patronage and hope to welcome you very soon. In the mean time please join our social network.

Regards,

Gaurav Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed at E Hotel for 2 days during my visit to Chennai for US Visa. The Hotel is in close proximity to main markets and the VISA OFC and Interview centres.

The Express Avenue Mall is awesome add-on to the amazing services the Hotel provides. The rooms are beautiful and spacious while the service is top-notch.

Room Tip: Enjoy a Skyline view from 3rd floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdrth0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GauravGuptaGM, General Manager at E Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.

It has been a great pleasure taking care of you. We are glad that you benefited from E Hotel’s location for your visa visit. We Thank you once again and look forward to your stay very soon and in the mean time we would like to connect with you through our social networking sites

Regards,

Gaurav Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Was in Chennai to apply for a US visa, stayed at this hotel for a night - it is very close to the US Embassy as well as the VFS center for Ten printing / photo etc.
BIG Tip for people visiting for a US visa- Trust the auto guys outside the VFS center if you need to make any changes to your application.
Rooms are big. Only negative was - one restaurant with a limited selection for buffet breakfast - and serves only vegetarian food.
Very helpful staff - special mention for Murugan Head of housekeeping - who retrieved a bad situation from escalating and we walked out with a positive impression, despite the a/c in our room not being effective (for Chennai heat)
Located in a mall - useful for killing time - window shopping.
Close to the Old Chennai charm - VTI is walking distance as is Taj Connemara.
Two very good eating joints Amethyst Cafe for Continental food and general browsing (books, curio's, garden etc). Never come across a better florist in Chennai. Restaurant is within walking distance from the hotel
Annalakshmi (walking distance ONLY if you do not mind a long walk - 2 km) for an authentic south Indian home cooked style cuisine.

Room Tip: We liked the room facing the city, the only one we saw - once on a higher floor (after 3rd floor) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianTraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GauravGuptaGM, General Manager at E Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Appreciate your valuable comments on Trip Advisor site. E Hotel is a great proximity advantage for visa visitors, surrounded by consulates located in the central business district. We are glad that you were happy with the accommodation and services.
We appreciate the time taken to let us know about your experience. We will do our very best to continue to meet your expectation. Thanks again! We look forward to your next stay. Please join us through our social network.


Regards,

Gaurav Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed at the E Hotel with my mom during a trip to India last winter and it was a great place to stay. The hotel itself is modern and clean, the rooms are spacious and well-distributed, and the reception staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. They gave us some really great tips for getting around the city and suggested great restaurant options to try out. The hotel is adjacent to a large and equally modern mall, which makes for fun people-watching, shopping, and late evening strolls if you don't want to venture farther from the hotel. The hotel breakfast at the hotel, which is the only food we tried there, wasn't particularly great and the service at the restaurant lacked- even for the buffet it was- but the outstanding hotel customer service and excellent location made this hotel a perfect choice, and one I would happily repeat! Great overall experience, great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GauravGuptaGM, General Manager at E Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are grateful to you for your patronage and time. It is through your feedback that helps us to improve and serve you better. Thank you for the appreciation about the rooms, service and staff. Your concern regarding restaurant breakfast and service is noted. Your comments have certainly raised the need to be addressed and we will strive harder in servicing better.
We look forward to your next stay with your mother. For E Hotel updates please join us through our social network.


Regards,

Gaurav Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
La Woods Hotel
#23 of 382 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#16 of 382 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
The Residency
#30 of 382 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#15 of 382 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#25 of 382 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#11 of 382 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E Hotel

Property: E Hotel
Address: Patullos Road | Express Avenue Mall, Chennai (Madras) 600002, India (Formerly Emall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 382 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — E Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finally, at the crossroad of so much of what is best in the vibrant heart of Chennai, rises a unique business boutique hotel. Hotel E which is the small, luxurious hotel within southern India's largest mall. Only hotel E makes the word THERE irrelevant because everything is HERE. We are the only hotel in Chennai that can offer you such diverse amenities, extraordinary location, wide ranging services, luxurious around-the-clock conveniences, and that too at affordable prices. Because we are human-sized we are nimble. This allows us to better serve you. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, alone or in a group, our commitment is to ensure your complete success at your chosen goals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your E Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing