We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay.....”
Review of Savera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savera Hotel
Ranked #44 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for my Business trip to Chennai. It is at center of Chennai so far from airport. It took about 45 minuts in evening from Airport to hotel due to huge traffic. The rooms are very clean and spacious. food quality was very good. We enjoyed the swimming pool of this hotel. The service of the staff was very good. The Cost of food was little expensive.

Room Tip: Swimming Pool Facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAJESH V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had booked in a executive room in the month of march 2014.we found the hotel staff very helpful.We had little problems with the AC which they tried to rectify to a certain extent.Their food and service was good.The hotel staff were all good always ready with a smile.The room was very clean.We would not mind going again to this hotel.The hotel location is very good and central to everything.Is very near to the beach,us embassy too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Checked in from airport.Hotel was in central area.The Reception area was grand.i was well received and as the room was booked , directly alloted a room on fourth floor.The room was very good and spacious.Bath room was excellent. Had dinner in the Malgudi restaurant .Had a south indian Thali which consisted of dishes from 4 southern states.Food was superb.Hotel had a shopping area in the ground floor.Hotel has ample parking space.Hotel has avery big swimming pool.Overall a memorable experience and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the Savera Hotel.

The hotel is centrally located, with fairly large rooms and good parking space. A flat screen TV, tea coffee maker, a mini bar are standard fitments in the room. The rooms are comfortable. However, room service requires some improvement. The hotel also has a large pool and a a gym for fitness freaks.

My package included breakfast and dinner and the spread of both veg and non-veg dishes was quite awesome.

To conclude...great rooms, good food and a comfortable stay makes it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alvaressunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were excited to enter the iconic Savera Hotel- Chennai, for a 46 year old hotel it is very well maintained. The lobby was unpretentious, the double room was spacious, clean and the linen spotless. The bathroom was also very neat and tidy.
We had to reach the US embassy by 2pm so decided to have lunch at the Malgudi and to save time we ordered the thali meal and that was a huge mistake. Watery rasam with a single 2inch piece of drumstick was the soup. The much anticipated thali was an anti-climax as the dishes were not worth mentioning, the least the chef could have done was to skin the garlic, as it was really irritating when I had to chew the garlic with the skin.
The pros- the décor and ambiance, with soft South Indian music, at Malgudi was excellent .
The cons- The service was slow, at Rs 600+taxes for thali- it was far too expensive. I had expected something exotic for the price but what was served was run of the mill stuff that is available for much less price.
After the disappointed lunch I was not too enthusiastic about the breakfast, (that night, we had dinner across the road at Copper Chimney) but was in for a pleasant surprise. The buffet breakfast was sumptuous with choice of South Indian and Continental spread. The filter coffee served hot was excellent and we enjoyed a relaxed breakfast.
Overall, but for the experience at Malgudi, we enjoyed the stay, the hospitality was good, the check in- check out was fast and efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triptalk_msk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I really enjoyed my time at Savera hotel. It is one of the most memorable trip specially cos of the staff, they were warm and welcoming and were always on hand to ensure I had everything, or anything I required. I had a very spacious, clean room on the sixth floor with table and chairs which enabled you to overlook the pool.The service was very good . we enjoyed the complementary buffet breakfast specially . The breakfast consist off all varieties of foods from north to south and east to west with a wide selection of food always available. The hotel is also very much suitable for conference and business meeting as well parties related to wedding and birthday etc.In brief, the hotel is one of the best considering the amenities and luxuries etc. I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank risha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I had a horrible time as i was allotted a room where nearby renovations were on, the icing on the cake was that the renovations were happening on the floor above me. It just beats logic why would the hotel allot such a room in the first place. The carpet in the corridors was wet and the walls damp. After many calls and complaint the room was changed to a much higher floor where wifi connectivity was poor. Restaurant was ok but a 4 star tag, definitely not.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spacevertex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Mylapore
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#58 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
360 reviews
Mylapore
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#56 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
671 reviews
The Park Chennai
#48 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alwarpet
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
946 reviews
T. Nagar
Grand by GRT Hotels
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
999 reviews
T. Nagar
The Residency
The Residency
#30 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savera Hotel

Address: 146 Savera Dr Radha Krishnan Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Mylapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £43 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savera Hotel - Chennai's first ever star hotel is an iconic landmark with a fusion of modernity and tradition, cherished by guests for decades now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Savera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing