We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with excellent food and good service ”
Review of Savera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savera Hotel
Ranked #45 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is very nice with nice rooms.. Large swimming pool, spa and free WiFi for guests. The room service menu is limited but the restaurant menu has variety to choose from and the breakfast spread is huge.

The conference rooms are well maintained with all the modern facilities.. Location is also ideal for hosting meetings and functions..

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank AYAN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed for two days with my family in this property. Very clean, neat hotel rooms and service was really prompt.buffet breakfast was ok but could have more spread. My sons enjoyed the pool very much. Overall very pleasant stay with centrally located stay. Would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Higher floors view is very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indusekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Heart warming stay at this hotel which has been in business for a long time.Located centrally in the area of relevance ensures everything at the right distance around.
Spacious rooms which are adequately equipped to ensure a good nights sleep and early morning preparations.Complimentary breakfast of choice served with a warm attitude starts the day positively.Transport desk know their job well and provides affordable transport to your place of action.Reasonably well provided options for the lunch and dinner though bit high priced.There are enough options to dine around if one wishes so.Swimming pool and spa facility with a dim-lit bar provided all i would want.

Room Tip: upper floors get you a better view around particularly on southeastern side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddevasthali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We arrived early in the morning after a long "day" of flying. The check-in process wasn't the quickest, but not bad considering our arrival time and having to have someone interpret. The staff was relatively friendly, but maybe could have smiled a bit more. haha

The room we had was nice. It seemed a bit small-ish. Everything looked clean, but we were exhausted so I didn't give everything a thorough inspection. We were basically just trying to get some sleep before we had to catch a train to Nellore. So, the beds were adequate and served that purpose very well. Of course, they had the non-complimentary snacks and beverages set out. When did hotels start doing that? I've seen it in others as well.

The bathroom was simple. The drain in the shower drained very slowly, so that was rather annoying. Actually, I was beginning to think that it was going to get deep enough to overflow.

We (well four out of six travellers) woke up early enough to have breakfast in the Piano. It was good. It was my first morning in India, so I did some sampling. Nothing made me want to phone home and go on-and-on about the awesome dish I just had. However, there was enough variety that I could sample and then go back for what was good. They had cooks there ready to fix items upon request as well. So, I was well pleased with the Piano's breakfast buffet.

Overall, it was good but not great. I would stay there again, but I wouldn't be against checking out another hotel on my next visit to Chennai.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Band_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Nice lay out. Situated in the posh area of the city. Conveniently walkable distance to US consulate. Miraculous breakfast. (May sounds the word "miraculous" as exaggerated. But one will definitely accept the sprawl of aprx. 65 items excl. of hot and cold beverages like coffee, tea, milk, corn flakes and juices.) I got my favourite juice of Water melon. Nice interior and very quick, polished behaviour service. No language issues arise since all staff (almost) are well familiar with English.
Tariff seems to be little expensive comparing with the amenities they provided. For $ 65 USD per night (I PAID rS 4000/- IN INR) , welcome drink, fruit basket etc can be provided. More over now a day's tourists basic amenity is bathtub where the hotel still to be equipped. may be with certain rooms but not with the one which I have stayed.
S REDDY MORA

Room Tip: Select road view rooms where road movements, pool zosh and greenery can be viewed comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank INDIAROYALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for a day. The food and common area was fine but the rooms were in very bad situation - old furniture and old fixtures and fittings. Even the electrical wiring was exposed and in bad shape. They must renew the rooms immidiatly if they want to keep up with the competition. (Room 318)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ajeet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The pros:

English speakningen staff
Huge pool
Complete gym
Superior rooms are Nice and comes with beutiful bathrooms.
Food is good.
Location is good

The Cons:

It expensive we plaid around 420-450 DKK (80-85,Dollars)Per Night including Their tax, I Can recommend makemytrip.com

The fod is good but cost 5-10 as much as woodlands and all vegetarian restaurant which serves even better food.

The Superior rooms are quite noisy as the are situated to the road. So remember ear plugs.

Conclusion:

If you Anna stay at a 4 Star hotel in chennai Stay at Savera it is worth the exstra 150DKK (25-30 dollars). You Mighty consider going give Stars as the Price is FairPlay close.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jonas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Mylapore
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#59 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
368 reviews
Mylapore
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#60 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
684 reviews
The Park Chennai
#48 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
T. Nagar
The Residency
The Residency
#26 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
622 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#55 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
192 reviews
T. Nagar
Grand by GRT Hotels
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savera Hotel

Address: 146 Savera Dr Radha Krishnan Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Mylapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £42 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savera Hotel - Chennai's first ever star hotel is an iconic landmark with a fusion of modernity and tradition, cherished by guests for decades now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Savera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing