We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little shabby”
Review of Savera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savera Hotel
Ranked #42 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A little shabby”
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We moved to the Savera after staying a single night in a place in Chennai called the Drexel Inn (a long stay apartment setup that lacked basic ameneties including screens on the windows, shower curtains, and toilet paper). It was a good step up from the poor B&B, but not perfect.

The rooms and hallways were a bit musty, and you could see the remains of mold in various places in the two rooms we stayed in. Two rooms? Yes. In our first room, there was some construction work going on in an upper storey that resulted in sparks and smoke billowing into our room via the ducts in the bathroom. To their credit, the hotel quickly moved us to a new room. But it was a bit disconcerting! We really thought there was a fire in the wall, with the sparks and smoke we saw coming through.

The location was ideal for our purposes. We were in town for the music festival, and the primary venues (the Music Academy itself, and the hall down the road) were both within walking distance. Perfect! However, for the price, I'd pay about $40 more per night next time and stay in the Chola Sheraton, which is just down the road and appeared to be in much better shape, when we stopped in there to check it out.

  • Liked — Close to music academy.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nathan_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    420
    258
    68
    41
See reviews for
226
94
117
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2008

I went with my husband and my 5 month old daugther to attend a family event. We stayed for 2 days and it was a decent place.. Rooms are quite large and spacious with the basic amenities. The bath tub cud hv been a lil more clean...
Wud not consider for a longer stay though..
Staff is a lil slow but vey curteous..
Overall it's a decent place to stay for a day

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing really exceptional
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pretttyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

My wife and I stayed here for three nights at the end of August 2008. Most of the other guests at this bustling hotel were Indian business people. Our executive double was bog standard within its category - i.e. comfortable and clean, absolutely fine - and afforded wonderful views of the city from its 9th floor window. Breakfast (including bacon & eggs!) was excellent and we can commend the buffet supper in the ground floor restaurant. The staff were most friendly. There's a tuktuk rank just outside the hotel's entrance who's drivers will economically whizz you to wherever you want to go for peanuts, irrespective of traffic conditions. We shall glady return to the Savera.

  • Liked — The view from its window
  • Disliked — The towels were a little 'tired'
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jtduerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2007

This hotel has central air conditioning against tempure change and windows cannot be opened.
It is a problem when air comes out from rusty duct and room has been sprayed for bugs. Since you cannot open windows, there is no way let air out. In India, non-smoking rooms are few.
The sickly-sweet smell of pesticides permeated the room.
Over-priced for a 2 star hotel. Yah, 2 star only.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JH_Wellshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 February 2006

Customer service - I wish they knew what it means!
Price - Unreasonable, since you are paying only for the building and and not for service!

If you are not looking for any star hotel and still have some thousands to spend, then you can go here.

The resturant (particularly 'The Malgudi') is a like a 'waiting-lounge' where they take atleast 1-2 hrs to serve you tea/coffee, even if they is no other customer present.

When checing out, make sure that you leave your room atleast 1 hr earlier, because the 'implied' policy is that the room boys will check the room only after you vacate and the front desk will prepare your bill only after the report given by the room boys!!

  • Stayed September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2005

Savera is not really geared toward western travelers. The rooms are all marble so there is no carpet to get moldy (which happens everywhere in India), but there is an odor of curry throughout the halls pretty much all of the time.

I caught the clerk at the money changing desk short-changing me once, so be aware of the need to check and re-check. (The only time this happened in 2 weeks of travel) People in India are generally excellent at math and don't make mistakes like this.

Also, the travel desk there provided an airport transfer that took us to the wrong terminal despite clear instructions and left us there. We missed a flight but were saved by the superb service at Jet Airways.

The main restaurant isn't good, but on the second floor there is a restaurant called "Spice" or something like that. It's very good pan-Asian food.

On the first floor is a bar that has good snacks and a good DJ.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank eastcoast_adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
New Woodlands Hotel
#57 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
344 reviews
Clarion Chennai
#48 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
634 reviews
The Residency
#38 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Park Chennai
#49 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,525 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#15 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,127 reviews
GreenPark Chennai
#19 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savera Hotel

Property: Savera Hotel
Address: 146 Savera Dr Radha Krishnan Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Savera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savera Hotel - Chennai's first ever star hotel is an iconic landmark with a fusion of modernity and tradition, cherished by guests for decades now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Savera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing