We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel at a reasonable price”
Review of The Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Iris Hotel
Ranked #60 of 402 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was a good hotel for the price we got it. Its location is nice, opposite to the GRT Grand, and just on the side of the main road. The room we got was on the 2nd floor and it was clean, with a really comfortable bed, though one could argue that it was bit compact but nevertheless it was good. Bathrooms also were bigger and very clean. The room didn't have any minibar but the room service provided chilled water if required. Breakfast buffet although good was not a vast in terms of its spread.

The only problem we had was the noise at night, which we found in the morning was from the Restaurant that was right on top of our room.

All in all, I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good hotel at a reasonable price in T.Nagar.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the second floor, since the noise from the restaurant at night is annoying
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amrusul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheIrishotel, Front Office Manager at The Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Sir / Madam

Greetings from Hotel Iris!!!

It was our privilege and pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. We do hope that your stay with us was a pleasant and comfortable one.

We would be obliged if you could kindly let us know of any of our shortcomings that you may have noticed during the course of your sojourn with us. May we assure you of our willingness to act upon any suggestions you may wish to make and that you feel will improve services to our Guest.

We at Hotel Iris, look forward to the pleasure of warmly welcoming you back to Chennai on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,


Imtiaz Ahamed. G
Asst. Front Office Manager
Email: reservation@theirischennai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Newer hotel.

Nice room with cable tv good A/C clean comfortable etc. For price of $50/night can't be beat! Room looks good as any western new hotel.

Nice breakfast buffet. Staff nice & attentive. Cheap laundry service. Bathroom not air conditioned but this common in India.


No complaints & price is right!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank JKK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheIrishotel, Front Office Manager at The Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Sir / Madam

Greetings from Hotel Iris!!!

It was our privilege and pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. We do hope that your stay with us was a pleasant and comfortable one.

We would be obliged if you could kindly let us know of any of our shortcomings that you may have noticed during the course of your sojourn with us. May we assure you of our willingness to act upon any suggestions you may wish to make and that you feel will improve services to our Guest.

We at Hotel Iris, look forward to the pleasure of warmly welcoming you back to Chennai on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,


Imtiaz Ahamed. G
Asst. Front Office Manager
Email: reservation@theirischennai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My in-laws stayed in this hotel for a day before travelling to US.
They were elder people and wanted good rest before their long flight journey.

I had mentioned about this to Hakkim (Business Development) who took the booking.

Hakkim and the staff had taken good care of them and ensured that they had a comfortable stay and got good rest. Room was clean, complementary breakfast was good. They made specific mention about the good coffee served for breakfast.

Accessibility to shops in pondy bazar was helpful to buy last few things and sweets to take to USA.

Overall, I rate this hotel very high.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheIrishotel, Front Office Manager at The Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Sir / Madam

Greetings from Hotel Iris!!!

It was our privilege and pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. We do hope that your stay with us was a pleasant and comfortable one.

We would be obliged if you could kindly let us know of any of our shortcomings that you may have noticed during the course of your sojourn with us. May we assure you of our willingness to act upon any suggestions you may wish to make and that you feel will improve services to our Guest.

We at Hotel Iris, look forward to the pleasure of warmly welcoming you back to Chennai on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,


Imtiaz Ahamed. G
Asst. Front Office Manager
Email: reservation@theirischennai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here for couple of nights on my business trip to Chennai. I found this hotel on the web and made a direct booking and I was concerned of how he quality of this property would be as images on the web are always compelling. When I got here after a tiring flight I was greeted by the property so well that I knew iv made an excellent choice. Food, Service, Accommodation everything was good as a whole. My room was very comfortable. Rooms service was always efficient and had a great mind for the word hospitality. This hotel was said to be only 6 months old during the time of my visit. And I'm sure this property is surely going to be one of the sought after if they keep up the good work. I would surely recommend this hotel for a decent stay in Chennai.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyrone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheIrishotel, Front Office Manager at The Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Sir / Madam

Greetings from Hotel Iris!!!

It was our privilege and pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. We do hope that your stay with us was a pleasant and comfortable one.

We would be obliged if you could kindly let us know of any of our shortcomings that you may have noticed during the course of your sojourn with us. May we assure you of our willingness to act upon any suggestions you may wish to make and that you feel will improve services to our Guest.

We at Hotel Iris, look forward to the pleasure of warmly welcoming you back to Chennai on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,


Imtiaz Ahamed. G
Asst. Front Office Manager
Email: reservation@theirischennai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

On my business trip to chennai, i found this place decent enough for a decent price but I REGRET SOO BADLY for choosing this place.
PATHETIC staff behavior,PATHETIC Service, PATHETIC menu in breakfast,No value of the word called "Advance reservation confirmation"..
First they do not receive calls in the reception, second they are RUDE to the core, third the manager has an unapologetic tone and has the ZERO willingness to problem solving, they just made two single ladies wait at the lobby for an hour at midnight despite having reservation confirmed by them...
I would rate this hotel at "MINUS"..
The IRIS HOTEL needs a change in management...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank SOURAVISARKAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We made a booking based on previous reviews. We arrived in Chennai at 10:30pm and tried contacting the hotel multiple times in order to get directions, however no one answered the phone due to which we were significantly delayed. After arriving at 11:00pm we were told that our room was not ready. We had specifically asked for two separate beds and then they told us that they could provide us with only a master bed.
To make this worse, the staff was arrogant and the least bit bothered about the inconvenience caused to us. He even went so far as to tell me that I could talk to the manager but it would be of no use. This was followed by constant sniggering and no help what so ever.
I spoke to the manager who was as unapologetic as the staff. He said that he could provide me with a foldable cot, but in the even what he brought was a mattress and essentially expected me to sleep on the floor?
We ended up staying the night as it was too late to find anything else, but checked out the next morning. It's one thing to be sloppy but the attitude of the staff was a real turn off. Would definitely never try this one again or suggest it for that matter.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannahkurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

A decent business hotel with basic amenities. The rooms were okay but did have mosquitoes, However, they did have mosquito repellents. The food was just above average. The breakast was not a great spread.The staff were good and very helpful. I would still recommend this hotel for their service and clean rooms. Especially on short business trips.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayacool2k14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheIrishotel, Front Office Manager at The Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Sir / Madam

Greetings from Hotel Iris!!!

It was our privilege and pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. We do hope that your stay with us was a pleasant and comfortable one.

We would be obliged if you could kindly let us know of any of our shortcomings that you may have noticed during the course of your sojourn with us. May we assure you of our willingness to act upon any suggestions you may wish to make and that you feel will improve services to our Guest.

We at Hotel Iris, look forward to the pleasure of warmly welcoming you back to Chennai on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,


Imtiaz Ahamed. G
Asst. Front Office Manager
Email: reservation@theirischennai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Park Avenue Hotel
#56 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
184 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#13 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
357 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Residency
#31 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
578 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
Taz Kamar Inn
Taz Kamar Inn
#36 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
269 reviews
Quality Inn Sabari
#63 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iris Hotel

Address: 2,Dr Thomas St,Thyagaraya Rd,T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 402 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £31 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Iris Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iris hotel is a boutique hotel located on bustling Pondy Bazaar Thyagaraya Road, in the heart of Chennai's commercial, shopping, jewelry and entertainment haven.The hotel offers 40 spacious, elegantly appointed guest rooms inspired by both our leisure and business travelers needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing