We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
Ranked #10 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice business hotel”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days , good experience , had dinner at Sian chinese speciality rest , can be better , excellent service across all depts of hotel , a taj hotels expertise by now . Good ambience , well connected , staff should be taught to speak english cant talk in tamil with guests (hk/engg)

Over all strongly recommended

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank puneetpratyush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Warm Greetings from the Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We have noted your points and will ensure that we work towards improving them in all earnest. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and truly value your continued patronage.

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    190
    39
    10
    5
See reviews for
45
20
14
524
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Being on Business trips, I have frequently stayed at the hotel for long and really like them. They care about your feedback and are quick to improve as well. Be it their kitchen, room-service staff, travel desk or the help desk, they have never disappointed. Their service and rates are at par with the other 5 star properties nearby. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Can have more menu items for Indian & Continental Cuisine, although they already have a good men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeveshCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your feedback and truly appreciate that you took the time out to give us your experience at the hotel. We will most certainly strive to maintain and exceed the expected standards and assure you of our best efforts at all times. We look forward to your continued patronage and thank you once again for your valuable inputs.

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway, Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We are regular guests at Gateway's Buzz (intl cuisine) restaurant enjoying great food and an excellent level of hospitality and service quality. My wife usually prefers the butter chicken - the mild way done for her but depending on your flavor mid spicy to hot available as well - while my favorite is the paneer lababdar with the Gateway delicious tomato gravy. Sakthi and Deepak with their teams do all to make you feel extremely welcome and comfortable and Ashish, one of the chefs, personally collects feedback and is always happy to create some special meal according to your personal wish. All in all a great dining experience in a very relaxing environment - perfect to spend some time after a long day's work or at weekends. Btw if you're into football, why not start the evening with a cool Kingfisher beer at the Sports bar watching your favorite team - I look forward to spending time there during the World Cup watching the Swiss team go far...
Meinrad and Barbara Keller

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Meinrad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Warm Greetings from the Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai and a big thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is truly appreciated by the entire team. We are most delighted to have you dine with us at our various outlets and assure you of the best in services and hospitality always. We really look forward to enjoying the World Cup with your presence at the Swirl. Have a great week ahead. Thank you very much.

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Actually we planned for a buffet in OMR and come to Gateway hotel on 13th Saturday.

We came into the Hotel, the service from the start from the Manager SAKTHi from inviting and getting into the seat was a great. Seating was great too.
Then they have provided the two veg and two non-veg starters.
As I am vegetarian, I called up the manager and told that I don't need the non-veg starter , then he ordered a good spicy extra veg starter for me. So sweet of him.
Coming to the food each and everything was so good and then I told I have informed manager I dont like Nan and again he has provided me with a roti and even it was again an awesome one from Sakthi. I have been into many buffets but in Gateway, I liked all the food items and more than that I loved the way the service was provided from all and especially from Sakthi from manger part is excellent and brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun Karthick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you so very much for your feedback about your experience at the restaurant. My team is delighted that they were able to give you an enriched experience. We absolutely look forward to your continued patronage and will be thrilled to extend our hospitality at all times.

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great location, fantastic facilities, wonderful food and amazing people. I stayed at The Gateway for 6 months for business reasons and it became a genuine home. The food is excellent with the chefs being able to accommodate any special requests I had. Being from the UK, I wasn’t too keen on the South Indian levels of spice, but the chefs were able to create great dishes for me. The housekeeping team are great at their job and are always working hard to make your room feel special, which they achieved every day. The bar is a nice space to unwind and the staff are responsive, well trained and have a good knowledge of the drinks they have on offer. The front of house staff are particularly great and were able to solve all kinds of requests I made. From taking in Dominos orders to fixing my broken shoes – they were always able to help. One member of staff in particular, Nishoo Bhardwaj, was amazing throughout the entire 6 month stay. Her professionalism, ability to make me feel very much at home and welcoming smile all helped ensure my stay was to the highest level of quality. I would highly recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jam4l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your warm wishes and feedback. It was a pleasure having you with us all these months and we will truly miss you at the hotel. We look forward to your future visits and assure you of the very best in hospitality at all times. This will always be your home away from home.

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels in Chennai.
Especially if you are doing business on OMR/IT Express way.
This 5 star hotel welcomes you with 2 super restaurants Sian(Chinese) and Buzz(Indian & Continental)
Modern rooms flooded with light,
A nice pool area, SPA & Gym.
The staff is one of the most hospital crews I have ever meet.
So if you are a long term staying guest in Chennai OMR ares this is a Great choice.
I am not afraid to call this place my second home!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback. Needless to say, it was indeed a pleasure having you with you with us at the Gateway Hotel, Chennai and we look forward to having you back with us again and again. Assuring you of the very best in hospitality at all times!

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed at the Gateway for ten days last month and from the first was treated like a queen. The staff were attentive, the food was fabulous and the service all round was excellent.

I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Warm Greetings from the Gateway Hotel IT Expressway and thank you so very much for your kind words. We are absolutely delighted that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits to Chennai.

Our best wishes to you

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai (Madras)
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#17 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Nungambakkam
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chen...
#16 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai

Property: The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
Address: 309 Chennai (Madras) Old Mahabalipuram Road | Sholinganallur, Chennai (Madras) 600119, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Supreme comfort and technological convenience highlight our various room categories. We have 200 elegantly appointed rooms including 4 luxurious suites. The rooms are well equipped to cater to the needs of business and leisure travellers alike. Every room is designed for comfort and convenience and comes with a King-size bed or twin beds. These modern rooms are suitably equipped with a 40” LED TV, a DVD player on request and a bathroom with a walk-in glass shower cubicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing