We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Chennai
Ranked #44 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was reasonably expecting from this hotel but the service was awful, toilets soiled and stained. We were made to wait in the reception for more than an hour around 10 PM, the reason they gave was the 'room was not ready'. Unprofessional service in the reception, will never ever stay in Clarion group hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank goatrip2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam & Greetings from Clarion Chennai.

We thank you immensely for your recent stay with us at Clarion Chennai and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We have gone though with your feedback thoroughly & tender our deepest apologies for your discomfort.

We are known for the best personalised services but we failed to deliver the same in this stay. I would be happy to have you back at Clarion to change your perspective towards our service.

I would be happy to be at your assistance further.

With Best Regards
Vishal Verma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    230
    86
    37
    41
See reviews for
123
99
49
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mysore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Located in Mylapore, close to the US consulate, City Center Mall, Marina Beach and close enough to the Railway station. Lot of restaurants and eat-outs close by. The hotels seems to be targeted towards business travellers. The reception was efficient. The decor is trendy. The hotel and rooms were clean. The club room was big enough. Service - both house-keeping and dining staff were prompt. Free wifi in the lounge is fast. It has an ironing-board in room which came in handy. The buffet breakfast was decent. We did not sample other meals, so am not sure of the food.
Stayed there for just one night on the first floor. The room was noisy at night due to people moving in the overhead floors till pretty late. The rooms not being carpeted does not muffle any sounds. One complaint is that the bathrooms have almost transluscent doors, and the shower cubicle is half open. Privacy is an issue if staying with children.
The full tariff seems a little overpriced, shop around for good deals.
The taxi guys have a tough time locating this hotel. Mention City Center Mall as a landmark.

Room Tip: Suggest getting a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MulberryBayM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you immensely for your recent stay with us at Clarion Chennai and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We are delighted to go through your excellent feedback, which is very inspiring. As per your feedback for Room, Food, Quality of Services & our staff were all up to the standard you expected. It gives us a enormous pleasure to know that the everything were to your liking. The entire team is eagerly waiting for your next visit to serve with more enthusiasm.

We apologies for your inconvenience due to noise during the night,kindly take it as one odd & exceptional case.

Your positive feedback is very informative for the travellers who are seeking information about Clarion Chennai.

Thanking you once again and wishing you the best in your personal and professional endeavours.

With Best Regards
Vishal Verma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Clarion between June and July, we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. i would recommend staying there anytime.Food was good, staff were friendly and excellent. Walking distance to City Center Mall. Mr & Mrs L Naidoo- South Africa

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70nickname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you immensely for your recent stay with us at Clarion Chennai and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We are delighted to go through your excellent feedback, which is very inspiring. As per your feedback for Room, Food, Quality of Services & our staff were all up to the standard you expected. It gives us a enormous pleasure to know that the everything were to your liking. The entire team is eagerly waiting for your next visit to serve with more enthusiasm.

Your positive feedback is very informative for the travellers who are seeking information about Clarion Chennai.

Thanking you once again and wishing you the best in your personal and professional endeavours.

With Best Regards
Vishal Verma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in Clarion for 5 nights, We chose this place as it was close to the US embassy, And I had a Visa Interview . We had an okay stay there. Let me jot down the Pros and Cons of this place.


PROS:

1. Spacious room, we had 4 of us staying in that room ( 2 Adults, 1 Child and 1 baby)

2. Room servicewas prompt, whenever requested, they came and did whatever was necessary.

3. We went wit our little one and they had a rope inside the bathroom, so we could wash our lil ones clothes and dry them inside itself.

4.Morning Buffet had a good spread. It had cons too, which I will mention below.

5.WIFI was complimentary and speed was good.

6.Swimming pool was clean, but was deep, So if you have kids, take proper care.

7.Good parking space within the hotel if you need parking .

8.There is a good supermarket close by (Whiterose Supermarket)

9.Good hospital next by ( CSI Kalyani Super speciality hospital )


CONS:

1.Expensive


2.Morning buffet , one should ask the server what apart from the regular buffet spread is available to you, we didnot ask and only on the final day we knew that we could order other things like Omlette apart from the regular buffet, the servers were not cordial enough to explain or serve.



1. The AC stopped working on one of the night and we had to call the room service and the technician came midnight 1 am and repaired, it was a disturbance for all of us.

Room Tip: Take rooms on upper levels, Good view from Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hghf4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you immensely for your recent stay with us at Clarion Chennai and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We are delighted to go through your extreme informative feedback, which is very inspiring. As per your feedback for Room, Food, Quality of Services & our staff were all up to the standard you expected. It gives us a enormous pleasure to know that the everything were to your liking. The entire team is eagerly waiting for your next visit to serve with more enthusiasm.

However the points related to Cost & lack of service during the breakfast is been noted, will ensure you to rectify these issues at the earliest to avoid the occurrence for the same.

Your positive feedback is very informative for the travellers who are seeking information about Clarion Chennai.

Thanking you once again and wishing you the best in your personal and professional endeavours.

With Best Regards
Vishal Verma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Rooms were clean and service was good. Had a comfortable stay with my wife. I would recommend staying at this hotel. Hotel is very close to city center mall, dominoes, McD, KFC, Light house railway station and walking distance from the beach. Very good location!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Taher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Mr. Taher,

We thank you immensely for your recent stay with us at Clarion Chennai and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We are delighted to go through your excellent feedback, which is very inspiring. As per your feedback for Room, Food, Quality of Services & our staff were all up to the standard you expected. It gives us a enormous pleasure to know that the everything were to your liking. The entire team is eagerly waiting for your next visit to serve with more enthusiasm.

Your positive feedback is very informative for the travellers who are seeking information about Clarion Chennai.

Thanking you once again and wishing you the best in your personal and professional endeavours.

With Best Regards
Vishal Verma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
640 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Good comfortable hotel in a close to Marina Beach.
Reception very efficient and helpful in organising things.
Breakfast has a good variety of choice and an egg station.
Rooms OK but could do with a bit of modernisation.
Staff all friendly.
I would recommend this hotel for you to stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris101111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Mr. Chris,

We thank you immensely for your recent stay with us at Clarion Chennai and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We are delighted to go through your excellent feedback, which is very inspiring. As per your feedback for Room, Food, Quality of Services & our staff were all up to the standard you expected. It gives us a enormous pleasure to know that the everything were to your liking. The entire team is eagerly waiting for your next visit to serve with more enthusiasm.

Your positive feedback is very informative for the travellers who are seeking information about Clarion Chennai.

Thanking you once again and wishing you the best in your personal and professional endeavours.

With Best Regards
Vishal Verma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Airport pick up was not good. The driver came late and asked us to walk to the taxi while he was parked. The car we hired to move around chennai took us the long route, which we realised the next day when we went to the same place in another taxi. Food is good and rooms are average types. Hotel location is good, provided you find a good driver who takes short routes.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jayantim03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Mr. Jayant,

We thank you immensely for your recent stay with us at Clarion Chennai and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Kindly accept our deepest apologies for your inconvenience due to transport service.

As per your further feedback for Room, Food, Quality of Services & our staff were all up to the standard you expected. It gives us a enormous pleasure to know that the everything were to your liking. The entire team is eagerly waiting for your next visit to serve with more enthusiasm.

Your positive feedback is very informative for the travellers who are seeking information about Clarion Chennai.

Thanking you once again and wishing you the best in your personal and professional endeavours.

With Best Regards
Vishal Verma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
0.7 mi away
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#40 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#51 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#54 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Residency
The Residency
#32 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Woods Hotel
La Woods Hotel
#17 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel ibis Chennai Sipcot
Hotel ibis Chennai Sipcot
#5 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Chennai

Property: Clarion Chennai
Address: #25 Dr Radha Krishnan Salai | Near U.S Consulate & City Centre, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India (Formerly The President Hotel and Towers)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion hotel is recently refurbished and upgraded is an ideal boutique hotel, be it for business or for fun. You can check-in to experience the world of hospitality comfort and the ambiance of the modern Indian cultural heritage.Retreat from the action of business and relax in our completely renovated guest rooms, Club rooms & suites with sweeping views of the beach, Dive into the comfort of our pillow-top beds and rest up for a big day ahead or enjoy the night in with a film from the channels available. All the rooms have been aesthetically designed and furnished with ultra-modern facilities like mini bar, 52" LED TV's, electronic safe, and tea/coffee making facility. The en-suite bathrooms come equipped with 24 hour hot/cold water, bathrobes, and luxury bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing