We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel ”
Review of Clarion Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Chennai
Ranked #56 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Nicely decorated, with a very good atmosphere
The room was in a good shape
I thank Mr Raj for arranging the transportation for me and my family
Wakeup call was professionally executed
Breakfast was fantastic, I highly recommend staying here when visiting Chennai

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you immensely for your recent stay with us at Clarion Chennai and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We are delighted to go through your excellent feedback, which is very inspiring. As per your feedback for Room, Food, Quality of Services & our staff were all up to the standard you expected. It gives us a enormous pleasure to know that the everything were to your liking. The entire team is eagerly waiting for your next visit to serve with more enthusiasm.

Your positive feedback is very informative for the travellers who are seeking information about Clarion Chennai.

Thanking you once again and wishing you the best in your personal and professional endeavours.

With Best Regards
Vishal Verma
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in clarion for two days along with our family. The stay was amazing, rooms spacious and neat . The staff was very friendly and available on call. The breakfast buffet was great with a wide range of varieties. Overall I would recommend this hotel for a memorable and a pleasant stay. This property is on the main road and very nearby to major tourist destinations.

Choose rooms on the top floor for a beach view.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the top floor for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Deepikaaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Ms. Deepika,

We thank you immensely for your recent stay with us at Clarion Chennai and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We are delighted to go through your excellent feedback, which is very inspiring. As per your feedback for Location, Room, Quality of Services & our staff were all up to the standard you expected. It gives us a enormous pleasure to know that the everything were to your liking. The entire team is eagerly waiting for your next visit to serve with more enthusiasm.

Your positive feedback is very informative for the travellers who are seeking information about Clarion Chennai.

Thanking you once again and wishing you the best in your personal and professional endeavours.

With Best Regards
Vishal Verma
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Good service in the reception, ( Ask the men as the women in the reception often refer to them everytime you need something done) I will add though they are all kind and service minded in their own way.

Cleaning:
Is standard unfortunately they do not vacuum the carpets which I personally think is gross.

Room Service:
Below Standard, both food and the telefon service. The guys delivering the food are very kind.

Clarion stored some luggage for us which we are very grateful for.

Breakfast: Was very good and the staff was very helpful

Sleeping:

Unfortunately the elevators make so much noise, due to the fact a bells sound is made everytime they reach a floor and we even sleeped in one of the cornors away from the elevator. So the result was that I slepped with earbuds for the full duration of the stay at Clarion.

Wash and pressing:

AVOID this service several pieces of clothes was destoyed and it was romba expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jonas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Mr. Jonas,

We thank you immensely for your recent stay with us at Clarion Chennai and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We are delighted to go through your excellent feedback. We had taken the note for your points for Carpet cleaning & Room Service and are pleased to update you that both the points are been rectified with highest priority.

Your positive feedback is very informative for the travellers who are seeking information about Clarion Chennai.

Thanking you once again and wishing you the best in your personal and professional endeavours.

With Best Regards
Vishal Verma
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Clarion, formerly called The President Hotel, is a decent property located on the main road (Dr Radhakrishnan Salai) and close to the Mall, Beach as well as most parts of the city. I had been there only for a night's stay but the room was very compact inspite of having a bed, sofa, desk, etc. Room was quite peaceful, interiors and the linen very clean and the airconditioning was also functioning well. The all purpose dining area "Twenty Fifth Hour" offers a good range of cuisine for all the important meals i.e. breakfast, Lunch as well as Dinner. Toilets are a bit small and the shower space is slightly constricted. This Hotel also had a free WiFi.

To conclude, Clarion is a value for money hotel and I would like to be there again, whenever I have to be in Chennai in future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hkaikini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Sir,

We thank you immensely for your recent stay with us at Clarion Chennai and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We are delighted to go through your excellent feedback, which is very inspiring. As per your feedback for Room, Food, Quality of Services & our staff were all up to the standard you expected. It gives us a enormous pleasure to know that the everything were to your liking. The entire team is eagerly waiting for your next visit to serve with more enthusiasm.

Your positive feedback is very informative for the travellers who are seeking information about Clarion Chennai.

Thanking you once again and wishing you the best in your personal and professional endeavours.

With Best Regards
Vishal Verma
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was reasonably expecting from this hotel but the service was awful, toilets soiled and stained. We were made to wait in the reception for more than an hour around 10 PM, the reason they gave was the 'room was not ready'. Unprofessional service in the reception, will never ever stay in Clarion group hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank goatrip2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Vanakkam & Greetings from Clarion Chennai.

We thank you immensely for your recent stay with us at Clarion Chennai and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We have gone though with your feedback thoroughly & tender our deepest apologies for your discomfort.

We are known for the best personalised services but we failed to deliver the same in this stay. I would be happy to have you back at Clarion to change your perspective towards our service.

I would be happy to be at your assistance further.

With Best Regards
Vishal Verma
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Located in Mylapore, close to the US consulate, City Center Mall, Marina Beach and close enough to the Railway station. Lot of restaurants and eat-outs close by. The hotels seems to be targeted towards business travellers. The reception was efficient. The decor is trendy. The hotel and rooms were clean. The club room was big enough. Service - both house-keeping and dining staff were prompt. Free wifi in the lounge is fast. It has an ironing-board in room which came in handy. The buffet breakfast was decent. We did not sample other meals, so am not sure of the food.
Stayed there for just one night on the first floor. The room was noisy at night due to people moving in the overhead floors till pretty late. The rooms not being carpeted does not muffle any sounds. One complaint is that the bathrooms have almost transluscent doors, and the shower cubicle is half open. Privacy is an issue if staying with children.
The full tariff seems a little overpriced, shop around for good deals.
The taxi guys have a tough time locating this hotel. Mention City Center Mall as a landmark.

Room Tip: Suggest getting a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MulberryBayM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you immensely for your recent stay with us at Clarion Chennai and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We are delighted to go through your excellent feedback, which is very inspiring. As per your feedback for Room, Food, Quality of Services & our staff were all up to the standard you expected. It gives us a enormous pleasure to know that the everything were to your liking. The entire team is eagerly waiting for your next visit to serve with more enthusiasm.

We apologies for your inconvenience due to noise during the night,kindly take it as one odd & exceptional case.

Your positive feedback is very informative for the travellers who are seeking information about Clarion Chennai.

Thanking you once again and wishing you the best in your personal and professional endeavours.

With Best Regards
Vishal Verma
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Clarion between June and July, we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. i would recommend staying there anytime.Food was good, staff were friendly and excellent. Walking distance to City Center Mall. Mr & Mrs L Naidoo- South Africa

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 70nickname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionChennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you immensely for your recent stay with us at Clarion Chennai and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We are delighted to go through your excellent feedback, which is very inspiring. As per your feedback for Room, Food, Quality of Services & our staff were all up to the standard you expected. It gives us a enormous pleasure to know that the everything were to your liking. The entire team is eagerly waiting for your next visit to serve with more enthusiasm.

Your positive feedback is very informative for the travellers who are seeking information about Clarion Chennai.

Thanking you once again and wishing you the best in your personal and professional endeavours.

With Best Regards
Vishal Verma
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Savera Hotel
#43 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,012 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#7 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
909 reviews
The Residency
#31 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Woodlands Hotel
#57 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
355 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,177 reviews
E Hotel
#39 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Chennai

Address: #25 Dr Radha Krishnan Salai | Near U.S Consulate & City Centre, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India (Formerly The President Hotel and Towers)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £33 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion hotel is recently refurbished and upgraded is an ideal boutique hotel, be it for business or for fun. You can check-in to experience the world of hospitality comfort and the ambiance of the modern Indian cultural heritage.Retreat from the action of business and relax in our completely renovated guest rooms, Club rooms & suites with sweeping views of the beach, Dive into the comfort of our pillow-top beds and rest up for a big day ahead or enjoy the night in with a film from the channels available. All the rooms have been aesthetically designed and furnished with ultra-modern facilities like mini bar, 52" LED TV's, electronic safe, and tea/coffee making facility. The en-suite bathrooms come equipped with 24 hour hot/cold water, bathrobes, and luxury bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing