We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #51 of 382 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel in April 2014 for a night. This hotel was the biggest disappointment ever. Rooms are badly furbished. staff is unhelpful and rude. there was some drilling work going on and that wouldn't stop till 10PM in spite of requests and reminders to stop work.

The buffet breakfast was so disappointing too.... few choices and in a shady dingy room with no sunlight.

There were so many hotel boys and waiters meandering that you felt you were staying in a residential colony that was busy and not in a hotel.

we had booked regular rooms, which were so bad and like a shady hotel's that we upgraded to the new deluxe rooms. these rooms were just about ok.

all in all, avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: avoid booking a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    156
    78
    21
    22
See reviews for
121
47
46
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Reading good reviews about this hotel made it an obvious choice for me to stay here in second week of May 2014! But i was in for a major disappointment.

I was given room 1302 which was on the ground floor. I could hear all sorts of noises from the room and the parking is just in the front. The parking staff keep blowing their whistles which continued till late night. The room was clean but had a swarm of mosquitoes with no mortein or all out machines. I had to ask housekeeping to supply me one! Everything is the room smelled of naphthalene balls. Bed sheet, towels and even glass of water. There was only 1 packet of coffee and no spoon to stir the ready to make tea/coffee.There was no study table so I had to work on the bed or sofa. The AC and fan made terrible noises. The TV had only 7-8 non tamil channels. The hotel did not give me bottled water, as it is chargeable. And they call themselves, a 3 star hotel? I mean seriously???

Food was good. Staff was non courteous. Only positive point is its proximity to various premium locations in Chennai. Otherwise please avoid. Try its neighbour savera instead!

Room Tip: Do not take the ground floor ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecokats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have stayed at Woodlands many times and it is now my first choice when I visit Chennai. The location is great - right on Cathedral Raod, not far from Gemini and Anna Salai, close to Music Academy and other concert halls. The rooms are reasonably clean, breakfast is complimentary, room service is quick, restaurants serve good South Indian vegetarian food. Rates are reasonable, but keep going up every year.

it is the ideal place to stay, if you come for the Chennai December Music Season. But you must book well in advance.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the Savera Hotel side. They can be very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProfRajagopalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satara, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This is a bit old style hotel located on prime location of Radhakrishnan road. But they do have rooms for all budgets. This was our 2nd visit to this hotel & this is located very close to US & British embassies. We stayed in Executive AC room which costed about Rs. 3200 net inclusive of breakfasts & complementary wifi. Room was spacious & clean. While booking ask for rooms in the new wing as these are rooms with all modern amenities & better. The buffet breakfast was good & they have a la carte restaurant as well. The authentic South Indian food is very good and a must try & there is also an option of plenty of good restaurants in this area to choose from. So over all a good centrally located hotel for short trips.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nikits84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

i stayed for a night in this hotel as part of a business trip. in a nutshell, 'this is a very basic hotel, with minimum amenities but worth the money you spend'.
Scaling it on the usual criteria,
Location- Excellent
Food- Excellent ( veg food. But really yummy. The breakfast buffet is limited but what is available is of the best quality and taste)
Parking- Really huge parking space (considering the location, having such a huge parking is just remarkable)
Cleanliness- very good.
In room amenities- Bare minimum
The rooms are old, but maintained decently. You can't expect high rise beds and mattress for INR 2k with AC especially in the center of the city.
Staff are generally courteous. Don't expect high end hospitality!!
As a whole the hotel is a budget friendly one!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsuresh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Happened stt at this old hotel to attend to my US visa intview.

Located on RK Salai, the tariff was less than 2K and has fine dining options (South Indian and North Indian). Accessible to 10 restaurants located in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramna50690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

For our visa interview at the US Embassy, I with my mum stayed at this old property. There were no issues with respect to the security as the hotel is a very reputed one in Chennai. The restaurant offering south Indian cuisine seems to be very famous as it was packed with customers during lunch and dinner. There is a north Indian restaurant as well. There is a swimming pool available at the property and this seems to be available for guests and outside visitors at an extra cost.

No frills hotel for a comfortable family stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuProd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
0.1 mi away
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#37 of 382 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Woods Hotel
La Woods Hotel
#23 of 382 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#65 of 382 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#41 of 382 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#48 of 382 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Pandian
Hotel Pandian
#68 of 382 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Woodlands Hotel

Property: New Woodlands Hotel
Address: 72-75,Dr.Radhakrishnan Road, | Mylapore, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your New Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel
Hotel New Woodlands
New Woodlands Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing