We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #58 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
delhi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Property”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

In a first look this hotel doesn't give a feel of an Hotel. Rooms are designed like an apartment building. Located at an ideal place. Standard rooms are not upto the mark but next category rooms are good and specious. Offers only Veg food which is very hygienic and tasty.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Placed at Good Location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prakash112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    159
    81
    21
    22
See reviews for
131
48
47
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

the location is good. rooms are average and needs renovation.
the banquet hall and marriage hall is a boon as well as bane as rooms are not soundproof and a great cause for inconvenience. doesn't have 24x7 cofee shop. restaurant timings are not very convenient, they close by 9:30pm

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravikumar65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel in April 2014 for a night. This hotel was the biggest disappointment ever. Rooms are badly furbished. staff is unhelpful and rude. there was some drilling work going on and that wouldn't stop till 10PM in spite of requests and reminders to stop work.

The buffet breakfast was so disappointing too.... few choices and in a shady dingy room with no sunlight.

There were so many hotel boys and waiters meandering that you felt you were staying in a residential colony that was busy and not in a hotel.

we had booked regular rooms, which were so bad and like a shady hotel's that we upgraded to the new deluxe rooms. these rooms were just about ok.

all in all, avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: avoid booking a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Ahmedabad
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Reading good reviews about this hotel made it an obvious choice for me to stay here in second week of May 2014! But i was in for a major disappointment.

I was given room 1302 which was on the ground floor. I could hear all sorts of noises from the room and the parking is just in the front. The parking staff keep blowing their whistles which continued till late night. The room was clean but had a swarm of mosquitoes with no mortein or all out machines. I had to ask housekeeping to supply me one! Everything is the room smelled of naphthalene balls. Bed sheet, towels and even glass of water. There was only 1 packet of coffee and no spoon to stir the ready to make tea/coffee.There was no study table so I had to work on the bed or sofa. The AC and fan made terrible noises. The TV had only 7-8 non tamil channels. The hotel did not give me bottled water, as it is chargeable. And they call themselves, a 3 star hotel? I mean seriously???

Food was good. Staff was non courteous. Only positive point is its proximity to various premium locations in Chennai. Otherwise please avoid. Try its neighbour savera instead!

Room Tip: Do not take the ground floor ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecokats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have stayed at Woodlands many times and it is now my first choice when I visit Chennai. The location is great - right on Cathedral Raod, not far from Gemini and Anna Salai, close to Music Academy and other concert halls. The rooms are reasonably clean, breakfast is complimentary, room service is quick, restaurants serve good South Indian vegetarian food. Rates are reasonable, but keep going up every year.

it is the ideal place to stay, if you come for the Chennai December Music Season. But you must book well in advance.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the Savera Hotel side. They can be very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProfRajagopalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satara, India
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This is a bit old style hotel located on prime location of Radhakrishnan road. But they do have rooms for all budgets. This was our 2nd visit to this hotel & this is located very close to US & British embassies. We stayed in Executive AC room which costed about Rs. 3200 net inclusive of breakfasts & complementary wifi. Room was spacious & clean. While booking ask for rooms in the new wing as these are rooms with all modern amenities & better. The buffet breakfast was good & they have a la carte restaurant as well. The authentic South Indian food is very good and a must try & there is also an option of plenty of good restaurants in this area to choose from. So over all a good centrally located hotel for short trips.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nikits84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

i stayed for a night in this hotel as part of a business trip. in a nutshell, 'this is a very basic hotel, with minimum amenities but worth the money you spend'.
Scaling it on the usual criteria,
Location- Excellent
Food- Excellent ( veg food. But really yummy. The breakfast buffet is limited but what is available is of the best quality and taste)
Parking- Really huge parking space (considering the location, having such a huge parking is just remarkable)
Cleanliness- very good.
In room amenities- Bare minimum
The rooms are old, but maintained decently. You can't expect high rise beds and mattress for INR 2k with AC especially in the center of the city.
Staff are generally courteous. Don't expect high end hospitality!!
As a whole the hotel is a budget friendly one!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsuresh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
2.5 mi away
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#66 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#42 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
991 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#53 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Woods Hotel
La Woods Hotel
#12 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
335 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Residency
The Residency
#35 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
563 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai
#26 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Woodlands Hotel

Property: New Woodlands Hotel
Address: 72-75,Dr.Radhakrishnan Road, | Mylapore, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your New Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel
Hotel New Woodlands
New Woodlands Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing