We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
Ranked #21 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty good business hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a pretty good business hotel and the best part is the excellent and quick service. Really great. I have stayed there a couple of times and its always the same.

The executive lounge on the top floor is very good and they offer a good space for business meeting. The snacks and drinks they serve in the evening adds value to our stay.

The rooms are pretty spacious and all rooms supplies are also great. The breakfast spread is also pretty decent and quite elaborate for someone on a business stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good. Only the front facing ones have view. All others are same and you can o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyJosephTrivandrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkashJayadevan, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear TonyJosephTrivandrum,

Thank-you for the uplifting and valuable feedback.We are happy to know that you had a comfotable stay with us. We will make sure the feedback reaches all the team members who were responsible for making your stay a pleasant experience. It is important for us to make sure our guests feel at home while they stay with us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Prakash Jayadevan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    444
    156
    49
    26
See reviews for
202
92
94
710
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I was on business travel to India with Chennai being my first stop before heading over to Pune and then Bengaluru. It took me about 45min to get to the hotel during normal traffic from the airport upon arrival. I was picked up well on time and greeted by the chauffeur from the hotel's own transport service. The city sight just outside is dusty and noisy given that there is a lot of construction going on, but as you enter things become absolutely wonderful and relaxing. I was greeted and checked in by a very friendly, helpful and charming young lady who happened to be a guest relations officer. We were also given a discount voucher for the spa as well as a free 15min foot therapy coupon. The room was good with a massive bed and I must say it was very clean. The spa there is outstanding with highly professional service. The gym is well equipped and equipment there is clean. The food at the main restaurant is brilliant and the complementary breakfast has a good spread, but could use some variety over the days.

Bottom-line: Very friendly staff, high quality accommodation, lovely ambiance, nice escape from the city during a business or leisure visit. The hotel is very close to T-Nagar, which happens to be great if you're into shopping.

Things to improve on: The access cards still use magnetic stripes so they'll deactivate if you keep them with your mobile phone. Also, the TV could use more English channels as the choice is pretty limited.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkashJayadevan, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear misnad,

It was a pleasure have you stay at our chennai business hotel and we thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It is wonderful to receive an appreciation on this forum and we thank you for rating us so. We are glad to note that your stay with us was at par with your expectations and that you were delighted with the services and facilities provided to you. Your kind words will surely be passed on to the team here and I am sure they will be happy to know that their efforts helped in making your stay memorable.

We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your patronage.

Warm Regards,
Prakash Jayadevan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a work trip.
Rooms and property are a bit run down.
Had to call maintenance at midnight for excessive noise coming from the bathroom / air-conditioning which wasn't fixed.
Otherwise rooms are spacious and toilets are clean.
Quality of amenities needs to improve.
Great breakfast spread and service.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 4wdboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankushsharma1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear 4wdboy,

Thankyou for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreicate your fedback as it motivates us to learn where we have gone wrong and provide you with the best experience in your next visit. You indicated in your response that your stay was unsatisfactory.Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused while you stayed with us. Our property would be going under renovation soon and we hope that you have a pleasant and memorable stay in your next visit.

Please do let us know if there is anything else that we can assist you with now or in the near future. Looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I frequently travel to chennai on business. I stayed in many hotels. this is the first time my company booked this hotel. it is a very nice hotel and reasonable for business travellers as well and tourists. Hospitality is at par and food is good. I am coming to next week again and have already booked here. only draw back is No Swimming pool. Else everything is fantastic.

Room Tip: I stayed in a smoking room but didnt feel any discomfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank as31841075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankushsharma1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear as31841075,

Thank-you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor. Your words of appreciation will keep our team motivated and we really value your support. We’re glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed your experience at our restaurants. It is our continued endeavour here to provide you with warm, personalized services so that our guests feel well regarded.

Please do let us know if we could be of any assistance to you. Looking forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here over the weekend and returned feeling that the quality of the property could've been much better. The rooms as well as the restaurant outlets have a tired appearance and come off seeming dull. The service and the staff of the hotel are commendable - they go the extra mile and this made our stay absolutely worth it! The front office team upgraded us to a bigger room and the staff at the coffee shop kept the buffet open longer than operating hours upon our request - these gestures really made our stay worthwhile. A bit of a face lift to the property will do wonders in making this a top choice for travellers to Chennai!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raomedha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankushsharma1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear raomedha,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you faced while staying with us. We take great pride in our guest’s satisfaction and unfortunately we did not meet to your expectation. We would like to inform you that our property would be going under renovation soon and hope that you have a pleasant and memorable stay in your next visit.

Please do let us know if there is anything else that we can assist you with now or in the near future. Looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I never expected a Marriott property so poorly maintained. The rooms were smelling with damp walls and fresh coat of paint applied to hide the damp spots. I had to change two rooms before I was upgraded to a room on the executive floor. I had prepaid for the three days and had no option to move. Staff was courteous and tried their best to help. Food at the resturant was good and service prompt. This property needs to undergo transformation to meet Marriott standards.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prakkash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankushsharma1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Prakkash S,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused while you stayed with us. You indicated in your response that your stay was unsatisfactory. We take great pride in our guest’s satisfaction and unfortunately we did not meet to your expectation. We would like to inform you that our property is going under renovation soon and we hope your impression changes in your next visit and you have a memorable experience.

You are our valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to see you soon at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

In one of the popular area's of chennai "Anna salai" this hotel is great for stay. Hotel lives up to the brand name. Everything was great rooms were good, spacious and well equipped.
Easy check in and ultra fast check out. Friendly staff, good food.

Have an amazing gym with good and latest machines, also to the add on they have a great steam room and jaacuzzi.

The only temporary negative point that I found is the construction of metro, due to which the roads are always crowded, rest everything is amazing.

Would definitely recommend for stay to anyone and would definitely return again whenever will travel to chennai.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prashantyadav5692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankushsharma1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear prashantyadav5692,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.We are extremely happy to know that you had a very comfortable stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality. We really appreciate your kind words; it means so much to us to get such great acknowledgement. It inspires us to offer the best to our guests like you.
Thank you for choosing to stay at our business hotel in chennai. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Courtyard by Marriott Chennai.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#15 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,130 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
836 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#28 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,231 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
867 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#18 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chennai

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
Address: 564 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India (Formerly Courtyard Chennai, India)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#26 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#34 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into your home away from home at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, a 4-star hotel in Chennai that offers a range of thoughtful amenities. We welcome you to stay with us, in the heart of the city's central business district. Our hotel is perfect for business travelers as well as for relaxing getaways. Courtyard by Marriott Chennai's stylish and modern rooms, suites, and apartments include flat-screen TVs, high-speed Internet access, and plush bedding, as well as marble bathrooms with bathtub/shower combinations. Additional hotel perks include a 24-hour fitness center and delicious on-site dining at our fantastic eateries. If you're planning an event in Chennai, you'll be delighted with our flexible meeting venues and state-of-the-art facilities and services, as well as our expert catering. And our unbeatable location, just 20 minutes from Chennai Airport and near the US Consulate as well as the city's IT and manufacturing hubs, makes getting where you need to go easy and stress-free. Courtyard by Marriott Chennai is a top choice among hotels in Chennai, India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Courtyard Marriott Chennai
Marriott Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing