We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good modern hotel with very bad food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
Ranked #21 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Pune, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good modern hotel with very bad food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Have stayed in this hotel twice, the rooms are very luxurious and big however only and biggest probelem is food auality and taste, its worst than any 3 star hotel. Service is good but the buffet at the price of approx 1000 rs is horribal

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdsk114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash J, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. I am happy to note that you had a good stay in the rooms and the service was good.

I have already spoken to the chef to have a relook at the food quality and ensure that it matches your expectation. We take great pride in ensuring all our customers have a good time at the hotel and hopefully you will find that we have acted on your feedback.

I look forward to welcome you back to the hotel during your future visit to Chennai.

Regards

Prakash J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    431
    152
    49
    24
See reviews for
188
89
93
669
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife Poonam and I visited Chennai in March 2014 and it was our good fortune that we stayed in Courtyard by Marriott. The hotel staff is very hospitable and courteous. They are always ready to help you with a smile!! They made our stay a wonderful one!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sureshverma0052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash J, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am happy to note that the associates made sure you had a perfect stay. I look forward to your return to the hotel

Regards

Prakash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Was really a pleasent stay with marriott. If I will think for hotel will think for marriott. Thanks Balram and Rajesh for keeping my room clean. Overall staff is well trained. And want to thank entire team.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandan Kumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkashJayadevan, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Chandan Kumar S,

Thank you so much for your feedback and thank you for taking the time. Its great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service of the staff to your satisfaction.I will personally let Balram & Rajesh know of your appreciation towards their efforts. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable.
Thankyou for choosing to stay with us. Please do let us know if we could be of any assistance to you. Looking forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Prakash Jayadevan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a pretty good business hotel and the best part is the excellent and quick service. Really great. I have stayed there a couple of times and its always the same.

The executive lounge on the top floor is very good and they offer a good space for business meeting. The snacks and drinks they serve in the evening adds value to our stay.

The rooms are pretty spacious and all rooms supplies are also great. The breakfast spread is also pretty decent and quite elaborate for someone on a business stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good. Only the front facing ones have view. All others are same and you can o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyJosephTrivandrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkashJayadevan, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear TonyJosephTrivandrum,

Thank-you for the uplifting and valuable feedback.We are happy to know that you had a comfotable stay with us. We will make sure the feedback reaches all the team members who were responsible for making your stay a pleasant experience. It is important for us to make sure our guests feel at home while they stay with us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Prakash Jayadevan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I was on business travel to India with Chennai being my first stop before heading over to Pune and then Bengaluru. It took me about 45min to get to the hotel during normal traffic from the airport upon arrival. I was picked up well on time and greeted by the chauffeur from the hotel's own transport service. The city sight just outside is dusty and noisy given that there is a lot of construction going on, but as you enter things become absolutely wonderful and relaxing. I was greeted and checked in by a very friendly, helpful and charming young lady who happened to be a guest relations officer. We were also given a discount voucher for the spa as well as a free 15min foot therapy coupon. The room was good with a massive bed and I must say it was very clean. The spa there is outstanding with highly professional service. The gym is well equipped and equipment there is clean. The food at the main restaurant is brilliant and the complementary breakfast has a good spread, but could use some variety over the days.

Bottom-line: Very friendly staff, high quality accommodation, lovely ambiance, nice escape from the city during a business or leisure visit. The hotel is very close to T-Nagar, which happens to be great if you're into shopping.

Things to improve on: The access cards still use magnetic stripes so they'll deactivate if you keep them with your mobile phone. Also, the TV could use more English channels as the choice is pretty limited.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkashJayadevan, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear misnad,

It was a pleasure have you stay at our chennai business hotel and we thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It is wonderful to receive an appreciation on this forum and we thank you for rating us so. We are glad to note that your stay with us was at par with your expectations and that you were delighted with the services and facilities provided to you. Your kind words will surely be passed on to the team here and I am sure they will be happy to know that their efforts helped in making your stay memorable.

We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your patronage.

Warm Regards,
Prakash Jayadevan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a work trip.
Rooms and property are a bit run down.
Had to call maintenance at midnight for excessive noise coming from the bathroom / air-conditioning which wasn't fixed.
Otherwise rooms are spacious and toilets are clean.
Quality of amenities needs to improve.
Great breakfast spread and service.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 4wdboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankushsharma1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear 4wdboy,

Thankyou for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreicate your fedback as it motivates us to learn where we have gone wrong and provide you with the best experience in your next visit. You indicated in your response that your stay was unsatisfactory.Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused while you stayed with us. Our property would be going under renovation soon and we hope that you have a pleasant and memorable stay in your next visit.

Please do let us know if there is anything else that we can assist you with now or in the near future. Looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I frequently travel to chennai on business. I stayed in many hotels. this is the first time my company booked this hotel. it is a very nice hotel and reasonable for business travellers as well and tourists. Hospitality is at par and food is good. I am coming to next week again and have already booked here. only draw back is No Swimming pool. Else everything is fantastic.

Room Tip: I stayed in a smoking room but didnt feel any discomfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank as31841075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankushsharma1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear as31841075,

Thank-you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor. Your words of appreciation will keep our team motivated and we really value your support. We’re glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed your experience at our restaurants. It is our continued endeavour here to provide you with warm, personalized services so that our guests feel well regarded.

Please do let us know if we could be of any assistance to you. Looking forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#12 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#25 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#31 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#13 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
The Park Chennai
#52 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chennai

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
Address: 564 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India (Formerly Courtyard Chennai, India)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#26 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#34 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into your home away from home at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, a 4-star hotel in Chennai that offers a range of thoughtful amenities. We welcome you to stay with us, in the heart of the city's central business district. Our hotel is perfect for business travelers as well as for relaxing getaways. Courtyard by Marriott Chennai's stylish and modern rooms, suites, and apartments include flat-screen TVs, high-speed Internet access, and plush bedding, as well as marble bathrooms with bathtub/shower combinations. Additional hotel perks include a 24-hour fitness center and delicious on-site dining at our fantastic eateries. If you're planning an event in Chennai, you'll be delighted with our flexible meeting venues and state-of-the-art facilities and services, as well as our expert catering. And our unbeatable location, just 20 minutes from Chennai Airport and near the US Consulate as well as the city's IT and manufacturing hubs, makes getting where you need to go easy and stress-free. Courtyard by Marriott Chennai is a top choice among hotels in Chennai, India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Courtyard Marriott Chennai
Marriott Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing