We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business hotel with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
Ranked #23 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good business hotel with great staff”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We booked four rooms at the courtyard from the 20th Aug whilst on a business trip to Chennai. Staff had positive attitude and is really appreciated when special requests are not turned down bluntly. The rooms are larger than expected for a business hotel and comfortable.

The property itself is fairly old, but the team does a good job keeping the appearances high.

Room Tip: Select a room facing away from the main road to avoid noise of all the construction happening in Che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chamaragms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    437
    154
    49
    25
See reviews for
194
90
93
684
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

If you are looking for a comfortable stay in Chennai that is very close to all the attractions of downtown Chennai - be it the temples of Mylapore or Triplicane, beaches of Marina or Santhome, shopping districts of T Nagar or Nungambakkam or business districts of Anna Salai, look no further! The staff is really friendly - from the security guards to the front desk to the housekeeping folks. My biggest happiness factor was the food - best food among various Marriott properties that I have stayed. Especially the local cusine. Excellent! I had the Sunday lunch buffet at Paprika and loved the crowd, ambience and the food. The driver of the hotel car who took me around the city was also very helpful and a good city guide.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyaTRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel because they had an accessible room. About the room it was about 90% accessible. The bathroom had a 36 inch door but was a little small for a wheelchair, it had a roll in shower but no shower seat. Also the bed was about 2 inches higher than a standard wheelchair seat. I was able to manage without any issues. The breakfast buffet was very good at this hotel. The wifi was very fast. The staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naveen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
449 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I always find this hotel exceeds Marriott standards and staff are very professional
Breakfast Buffett is superb and hotel is well kept and spotless
It is great location for me as I walk to work
Look forward to my next visit as I find this hotel best value in Chennai

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DRHIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash J, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in future.

Regards

Prakash Jayadevan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at the Marriott recently for three nights. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Exceptionally well kept rooms, clean bathrooms, & outstanding service. The food at the restaurant is exceptional though a bit on the higher side. Our sincere thanks to chef Sridhar and Peter for some great food. The folks at the restaurant always had a smile and ready to please their customers. Folks at the front were very helpful indeed. Clearly this ranks high among all the Marriott locations.

Krishnan Srinivasan
Houston, Texas

Room Tip: Executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash J, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Mr. Krishnan,

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am happy that the team ensured you had a great stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel during your future visit.

Regards

Prakash Jayadevan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is a little old but meets the Marriott standards. Great staff with pleasing personality. That surely negates all the construction that's happening around that place.

Meal portions are a bit small as compared to the amount charged. Breakfast spread is awesome.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lawyersandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash J, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your feedback on the hotel on tripadvisor. I am happy to note that you enjoyed your stay and the team took care of you.

I look forward to welcome you back to the hotel in future.

Regards

Prakash Jayadevan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard for a day (2 Aug-3 Aug 2014). The hotel was clean and welcoming, security measures were on par with most five-star properties, and the service was excellent. I had booked online, but received an upgrade while checking in. The hotel staff are helpful while discreet, and I was happy with the speed of service and willingness to please a customer. We were impressed that the hotel had tried to meet our preferences indicated at the time of booking. We tried the breakfast buffet and the food was served hot and in reasonable portions. They even had a spread of donuts and muffins for younger patrons :-) We were particularly happy with the efforts of Deepika Sharma to make our kids comfortable. The hotel provided a couple of discount vouchers redeemable at the spa; spa services are reasonably good, although the ambiance could be improved. Didn't try the Sunday brunch as we had a late breakfast, but the spread looked interesting and integrated with local fare, including tender coconut served fresh.
The temperature inside the hotel was cool, somewhere in the low- to mid-20s, and a welcome respite from the sultry Chennai weather. One concern we communicated to the hotel staff was the difficulty in accessing the roads to the hotel at night. With the metro work in progress, access to the hotel becomes rather restricted, and we circled around the hotel a couple of times before going the wrong way through a one-way street to reach the place at night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash J, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. I am happy that you had a pleasant stay and the team took care of you. Thank you for letting us know that you were impressed with Deepika and her service.

I look forward to welcome you back to the hotel during your future visit to the city.

Regards

Prakash J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#11 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#28 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#27 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#29 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#13 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
The Park Chennai
#47 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chennai

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
Address: 564 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India (Formerly Courtyard Chennai, India)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#26 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#34 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into your home away from home at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, a 4-star hotel in Chennai that offers a range of thoughtful amenities. We welcome you to stay with us, in the heart of the city's central business district. Our hotel is perfect for business travelers as well as for relaxing getaways. Courtyard by Marriott Chennai's stylish and modern rooms, suites, and apartments include flat-screen TVs, high-speed Internet access, and plush bedding, as well as marble bathrooms with bathtub/shower combinations. Additional hotel perks include a 24-hour fitness center and delicious on-site dining at our fantastic eateries. If you're planning an event in Chennai, you'll be delighted with our flexible meeting venues and state-of-the-art facilities and services, as well as our expert catering. And our unbeatable location, just 20 minutes from Chennai Airport and near the US Consulate as well as the city's IT and manufacturing hubs, makes getting where you need to go easy and stress-free. Courtyard by Marriott Chennai is a top choice among hotels in Chennai, India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Courtyard Marriott Chennai
Marriott Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing