We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deccan Plaza Hotels
Ranked #88 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

PROs:
1. Great location advantage (1-2 km away from EA Mall, Marina Beach, US Consulate and 3-4 km away from T Nagar, the shopping Hub of Chennai)
2. Very spacious rooms with all amenities.
3. Good South Indian Breakfast buffet
4. Value for Money

CONs:
1. Only vegetarian food is served in the restaurant as well as the bar.
2. Service was a little lacklustre
3. No Spa/Pool

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Deccan Plaza Hotels, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services at par with your expectations. We endeavor to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests to make their stay distinct. It is a delight for us to know that you thoroughly enjoyed dining and recreational facilities offered by The Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Your review is a testimony of the discreet services and good facilities on offer at The Deccan Plaza; we thank you once again for the review and await your next visit to Chennai.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Stay well,

John Irudhaya Raj.M
Front Office Manager
fom@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    95
    64
    17
    21
See reviews for
67
16
24
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

First thing you need to know: The hotel goes by its old name Ajanta all over chennai. Very few know the new name.
1. Rooms - Spacious and well equipped. All rooms have a Single seater sofa in addition to the bed. Front rooms have huge bay windows with a good view of the Chennai skyline. Back rooms have views of the Marina side of Chennai.
2. Food - Pure veg food but a huge variety of options. I tried both south indian and chinese cuisine. Both were very tasty.
3. Housekeeping - Very prompt and good standard.
4. Location - At the heart of Chennai. A km away from Marina beach, US embassy, Express avenue mall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gokulnath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Deccan Plaza Hotels, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services at par with your expectations. We endeavor to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests to make their stay distinct. It is a delight for us to know that you thoroughly enjoyed dining and recreational facilities offered by The Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Your review is a testimony of the discreet services and good facilities on offer at The Deccan Plaza; we thank you once again for the review and await your next visit to Chennai.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Stay well,

John Irudhaya Raj.M
Front Office Manager
fom@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ooty
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for almost 3 days continuous on a project with my company. It was a pleasant stay there. Enjoyed the first ever Vegan restaurant. Nice place would like to go there again and refresh the memories. The room as such was spacious, with a good view of the city. The in-room amenities were good with a complimentary coffee maker, refrigerator, bottled water and the works. The bathroom had a shower cubicle which adds a nice touch with the basic toiletries provided. Walkable distance to Beach and shopping malls. However, the ambience of the hotel and its rooms is quite good. The lifts are well maintained and the air-conditioning is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vgokulvasudevan886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Deccan Plaza Hotels, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services at par with your expectations. We endeavor to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests to make their stay distinct. It is a delight for us to know that you thoroughly enjoyed dining and recreational facilities offered by The Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Your review is a testimony of the discreet services and good facilities on offer at The Deccan Plaza; we thank you once again for the review and await your next visit to Chennai.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Stay well,

John Irudhaya Raj.M
Front Office Manager
fom@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

A Cool and brand hotel, impeccable service, great rooms, clean and well appointed, the staff are helpful and very polite, besides that the hotel offers an excellent cost benefit. The breakfast is great, offers many options and the hotel is perfect for a deep sleep, it is extremely quiet and walking distance for Marina Beach and shopping malls..

Room Tip: Higher floors having good beach view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vamsi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Deccan Plaza Hotels, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services at par with your expectations. We endeavor to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests to make their stay distinct. It is a delight for us to know that you thoroughly enjoyed dining and recreational facilities offered by The Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Your review is a testimony of the discreet services and good facilities on offer at The Deccan Plaza; we thank you once again for the review and await your next visit to Chennai.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Stay well,

John Irudhaya Raj.M
Front Office Manager
fom@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located in city centre. The Marina beach is at walkable distance and you can infact view sea at a distance from some of its rooms. If you are visitng for US VISA, then this could be your best choice as both the OFC and consulate are at close proximity.
The hotel has good restaurant which serves good food, but it is expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deshiashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Deccan Plaza Hotels, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services at par with your expectations. We endeavor to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests to make their stay distinct. It is a delight for us to know that you thoroughly enjoyed dining and recreational facilities offered by The Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Your review is a testimony of the discreet services and good facilities on offer at The Deccan Plaza; we thank you once again for the review and await your next visit to Chennai.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Stay well,

John Irudhaya Raj.M
Front Office Manager
fom@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

There were two reasons why I chose this place, firstly it was recommended by someone, secondly it was perhaps the only ALL vegetarian hotel in the city.

The saga started as soon as I tried to check in after a long drive, ridiculous room boys, pathetic front office staff who has no clue of what they are upto !! they are both incompetent and irresponsible a recipe for disaster!!

Having managed to checkin, I realized that the bed was PATHETIC, they were presumably some medicated one but to me it felt like it was some stone bench in a railway platform !!

I call up the same day and inform the front office, repeatedly call the front office the next day to change the room, for which they promptly responded saying that they would change the bed, then they say they would change the room.

I was out all day in the hot sun, having comeback, I ask the same "Clowns" in the front office who promptly told that the bed is ready !! but I was flabbergasted to see the same bed!! on asking at 10:30 in the night going back and forth they say there is no soft bed we are sorry !! thats not all, the pillows were a gunnybag with literally paper in them !!

The next day, the unapologetic GM meets me on my insistance, having made to wait, meets up in his fancy office says, we are sorry we got a lot of complaints in the past and we are working on it and may be we will replace the beds as we have got complains !!!

God save the institute in which he did his BHM from !! and then comes the next schoker, for 3 sleepless nights that you have spend in this dungeon, the so called sales manager bills me almost a thousand rupees more than what was agreed and has the audacity to say, its just a matter of a three hundred more!!!

Its a chatoic mismanagement with a clueless bunch of staff, pathetic rooms, obnoxious bathrooms and worst is across the chain of command, incompetent and irresponsible staff!!

Either pay a little extra and go to a great place or pay a lot lesser and get a place where you have really warm people

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohan-cache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Deccan Plaza Hotels, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Hotel Deccan Plaza!!!

It was both our privilege and pleasure to have you staying with us during your recent visit to Chennai.

Firstly we accept our sincere apologies for being unable to meet up to your expectations during your stay with us. We deeply regret for the inconvenience caused to you in our services pointed like needs improvement of our (complaints). At the same time I am grateful to you for having pointed out the lapse in our services.

Based on the nature of your feedback, we shall rectify the problems soon and we are confident of delivering the service standard that you are accustomed to. Such feedback from discerning guests like you gives us valuable insight in improving our services and facilities.

We at Hotel Deccan Plaza sincerely look forward to your stay with us. We do hope this highly irregular experience will not deprive us at your continuous patronage.

With Warm Regards,

John Irudhaya Raj. M
Front Office Manager
Email: fom@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Restaurant was pathetic, service was also bad, to get the house keeping done I had called 6 times. AMEX Card machine was not working. There are better hotels available in the said price. The worst part is the dinner / lunch buffet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avineet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Deccan Plaza Hotels, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Hotel Deccan Plaza!!!

It was both our privilege and pleasure to have you staying with us during your recent visit to Chennai.

Firstly we accept our sincere apologies for being unable to meet up to your expectations during your stay with us. We deeply regret for the inconvenience caused to you in our services pointed like needs improvement of our (complaints). At the same time I am grateful to you for having pointed out the lapse in our services.

Based on the nature of your feedback, we shall rectify the problems soon and we are confident of delivering the service standard that you are accustomed to. Such feedback from discerning guests like you gives us valuable insight in improving our services and facilities.

We at Hotel Deccan Plaza sincerely look forward to your stay with us. We do hope this highly irregular experience will not deprive us at your continuous patronage.

With Warm Regards,

John Irudhaya Raj. M
Front Office Manager
Email: fom@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Ambica Empire
#126 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Clarion Chennai
#44 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
The Residency
#32 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vestin Park
#249 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Fortel
#172 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Nungambakkam
My Fortune, Chennai
My Fortune, Chennai
#34 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deccan Plaza Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deccan Plaza Hotels

Property: Deccan Plaza Hotels
Address: 36 Royapettah High Road | Royapettah, Chennai (Madras) 600014, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Deccan Plaza Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regenta Central Deccan is a unique, excellently appointed hotel situated in perhaps the most central part of the sprawling city of Chennai. The hotel is very close to US Consulate,The hotel offers an excellent vantage point for holiday, business or professional stay. With 93 well-appointed rooms' spreads on 9 floors, courteous staff with well-known southern hospitality and one restaurant with delicious, fresh food, Deccan will make your stay as comfortable and memorable one. Banquet and convention Banquet and convention halls are Ajanta, Ellora, Royal, Majestic and Designate Board Room magnificently designed banquet halls and a board room with seating capacities ranging from 15 to 1000 pax. Acoustically excellent designs, with lavishly appointed interiors, Deccan has held several noteworthy events in these halls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deccan Plaza Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Deccan Plaza Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chennai Days Inn
Deccan Plaza Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing