We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just about makes it! Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortune Select Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fortune Select Palms
Ranked #56 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
230 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Just about makes it! Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel is located on the OMR (Rajiv Gandhi Salai) after the toll gate. The rooms are average, not all toiletries are available, There is no health faucet and no soaps provided, you need to make do with the shampoo dispenser.. The food provided in the restaurant is below average and highly priced for the quality. The hotel is below average when you compare other Fortune Brand of hotels from ITC and also far from the city center. If you have your work in city center, it is better to avoid it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramachandran V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selectpalms, Manager at Fortune Select Palms, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Mr. Ramachandran

Thank you for sharing feedback about your stay with us.
We have noted your concerns on the toiletries and food. We had been trying to get in touch with you to further understand address your concerns. However, please allow me to assure you that we have attended to your feedback and you will definitely see a marked change the next time you visit us. Please do not let this experience mar your impression about Fortune Select Palms, Chennai.
We do appreciate hearing from you, as comments from esteemed Guests like you are vital for us to continue in improving our services At Fortune Select Palms, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.
We look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune Select Palms and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    111
    65
    11
    6
See reviews for
22
8
20
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Hmmm, wonder how to put it.
Really far from the city and about 17 km from the airport on the old mahabalipuram road. Stayed there for the first time and hope never to repeat the stay. Absolutely not worth it.
Appearance of the hotel is actually quite good.
Reception was also ok, no problems there.
Rooms are adequate. Nothing much to talk about.
This hotel does not have any smoking rooms too, which is rather a problem for smokers as you will have to step out of the hotel or go to the pool area for a smoke.
But the real problem is the food. Absolutely poor. They have no idea about good food.
Breakfast was just about average. Quite a small spread, not much choice.
But the lunch and dinner served at the buffet was absolutely pathetic.
Even the banquet room where the food was served is shabby. With really poor and unhelpful staff. Most of them cannot speak hindi or even english.
And being on the old highway , far from the city, there are no restaurants or eateries nearby that you can go to. So you are quite stuck with the food the hotel serves you.
The swimming pool was quite dirty. Plenty of leaves floating in the water and desperately needed cleaning. Further the location of the pool is also bad. It is in sort of a passageway leading from the lobby to the banquet and conference rooms so you have scores of people walking along the pool side to the conference rooms and hanging around the pool smoking.
Absolutely no privacy and you feel stared at by all the people passing by all the time.
The rate charged was Rs 5000/- (corporate rate), which is rather high for this property.
Much better is to go to the Taj Gateway which is about 3 km from this hotel, at about Rs 4000/-
So hopefully, never again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctorneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selectpalms, Manager at Fortune Select Palms, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Dr. Neel,
Thank you very much for taking out time to give your feedback. We would like to also thank you for giving us the opportunity to accommodate and serve you and your colleagues during the residential conference that was arranged at the Fortune Select Palms.
Your feedback on our food and services has been taken constructively and based on our consequent tele-conversation, we would like to take this opportunity to bring to your notice that the room rate and food package inclusions were actually based on our agreement with your company at the time of booking. The Menus for the meal sessions were shared prior to your arrival and were actually upgraded with live counters, etc which was not part of the agreement. Considering the size of the group, our inability to accommodate your group at our main Restaurant was also intimated prior, to the coordinators.
We have also looked in to your comments regarding the Swimming pool and Banquet hall facilities and are in the process of getting to the bottom of the feedback.
At Fortune Select Palms, Chennai it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable guests like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune Select Palms when we can prove to you how your feedback has lead to immediate correction and would be delighted to assist you with any future requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is the four time I am staying in this hotel.
Cons: Front Office,
Room service,
Restaurant
Overall Service.All the staff are good and service Minded.
Pros: Swimming Pool can be improved
Toiletries which they provide.Usually they provide biotueques. brand but now changed.
Room Interiors .Very old.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selectpalms, General Manager at Fortune Select Palms, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Sir

Greetings from Fortune Select Palms, Chennai!!!

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Chennai.

I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.

At Fortune Select Palms, Chennai it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable guests like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.


I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune Select Palms and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel is far from the city center. The WC does not come with a faucet or a bidet. So your only option is paper, Not an ideal situation for Indians. Otherwise a plesant stay nice quiet hotel. Restaurants are average expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriviCatoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selectpalms, General Manager at Fortune Select Palms, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Sir

Greetings from Fortune Select Palms, Chennai!!!

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Chennai.

I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.

At Fortune Select Palms, Chennai it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable guests like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.


I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune Select Palms and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Excellent Stay at Fortune Select Palm few Days Back. its very Near to My Office and Reasonable Price Dealing,
Room are good, Well Cleaning and Maintained, the Room Service staff Kismat is Very Good
Excellent Buffet Breakfast and the Dinner Buffet Spread Was Supper Appreciate to Chef Satyavan very Good Service and Ready to offer what ever i need out of Menu or Buffet Very Suggestive. i will Suggest to all Friends about this Hotel

Prasenjit Roy

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank royprasinjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selectpalms, General Manager at Fortune Select Palms, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Mr. Roy

Greetings from Fortune Select Palms, Chennai!!!

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Chennai.

I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.

At Fortune Select Palms, Chennai it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable guests like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.


I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune Select Palms and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Very nice, clean place to stay while we waited on furniture to arrive to our flat. Breakfast buffet was a great hit with the family. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for something in the area. Staff was very hospitable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghlwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selectpalms, General Manager at Fortune Select Palms, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Mr. Wells

Greetings from Fortune Select Palms, Chennai!!!

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Chennai.

I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.

At Fortune Select Palms, Chennai it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable guests like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.


I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune Select Palms and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

stayed for one day on 30th dec 2013 , very nice stay , the staff was very friendly and courtesous,
neat and clean toilets though small.
it is value for money and very resonable priced hotel
the food was good

Room Tip: good place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank narender1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selectpalms, General Manager at Fortune Select Palms, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Mr. Narenderi

Greetings from Fortune Select Palms, Chennai!!!

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Chennai.

I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.

At Fortune Select Palms, Chennai it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable guests like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.


I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune Select Palms and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Fortune Select Grand
#43 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Nungambakkam
My Fortune, Chennai
My Fortune, Chennai
#39 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Kohinoor Asiana Hotel
#62 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The CentrePoint
#61 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway ...
#10 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Chennai Old ...
#65 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Select Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Select Palms

Property: Fortune Select Palms
Address: 142 Rajiv Gandhi Salai | Thoraipakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600096, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune Select Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortune Select Palms, Chennai Situated at Thoraipakkam Rajiv Gandhi Salai (Old Mahabalipuram Road), ideally located on the IT Highway Close to major InfoTech Companies. Fortune Select Palms is 14 Kms from the International Airport and domestic airport offers an excellent range of guest facilities tailored to give the best of services to the discerning traveller.The hotel offers an excellent range of guest facilities tailored to give the best of services to the discerning business traveler. The hotel has 129 well appointed rooms with multiple Food and Beverage outlets, which includes 24 hours Astral Coffee shop known as ‘Zodiac’, ‘Nostradamus Lounge Bar’ well designed & contemporary in style, and an Oriental Fine Dining Restaurant known as ‘The Oriental Pavilion’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Fortune Select Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Select Palms Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing