We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pride Hotel Chennai
Ranked #108 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
New Delhi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

The hotel is nice and clean. It has a North Indian cusine resturant on the roof, which serves an excellent buffet. However the same can not be said about the coffee shop at ground level. Brekfast buffet is very limited.

The coffee shop takes an inordinately long time to serve south indian items off the menu. A masala dosa took close to twenty five minutes to arrive.

While I was staying the pool was not operational. Hopefull that would have changed by now.

Tip: Do not take a room on the top floor of the hotel (I think 8th or 9th). On the top floor, there is a business area which is used by various companies for their intial interview process. This creates disturbance throughout the day.

Over all its a great hotel to stay in. The staff takes really good care of you. Price wise it is much better than some of the five star properties in chennai.

It takes an easy one hour from the airport to reach the hotel. Budget more time during evenings [traffic police block of a cut on the road after four o clock].

  • Liked — Great Indian Resturant, Value for Money
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chakshu_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    148
    114
    35
    29
See reviews for
54
55
48
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

I have been here for two or three times. The stay was for a night or two mainly coz of business trip. It is well designed and structured hotel. The interiors in the room and within the hotel is cool! Service and amanities are good. Food was also nice with lots of options. This hotel has NO BAR or NO Permit of alcohol drinks.. so take a note of that. It was nice to have your dinner on 11th floor roof top restaurent!!

This location is TOO Far from the airport.. and if you don't know the Chennai traffic then you'll surely miss the flight ! It takes about an hour and half just to reach at airport from here. So, if you have a business trip in Chennai only this area of the city, the Pride is a good option on slightly higher price !

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank puravsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

On the whole, the hotel was pretty small but very homely i would say.The staffs at the receptions were pleasent and extremely helpful.The duty managers like Parthasarathy and Sivasubramanian were excellent with their customer service.The in-house drivers were satisfactory but Mr Mani the senior driver was the most outstanding! He was splendid and superb with timekeeping without whom we would have missed our flight. All these wouldn't have been possible if not for my friendly indian correspondent Meshelle Ann.So in short my first visit to India and my birthday were a memorable one thanks to everyone in Pride!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fathemah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

Located in the Central Business District of Chennai. It has very clean rooms, and is relatively new. No musty smell of carpets and drapes that really put me off. The air-conditioning always works fine, which is critical in Hot Hot Chennai. Decor is nice and modern, and bathrooms are good. Buffet Breakfast is the only meal I have had here, and it is ok, just that the menus are a tad repititive.
The room is not very expensive, and is located less than a kilometer from my office. I stay here once every month for a couple of days, and I have so far had nothing to complain about at all.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Check-in
  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kar2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

The hotel is not bad for the price. It is conveniently located, rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is nice. The staff is a bit rookie though.

  • Disliked — Inexperienced Staff
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhiren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

I stayed here for the first time last week, with a colleage. The hotel staff was courteous and efficient, yet the food and service were just average. One would expect more from a famous chain of 4-star hotels. I was a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarshwardhanGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

I chose The Pride for its location and after reading many reports of other Chennai hotels on Trip Advisor. I arranged for the hotel car to collect me at the airport and it was there ontime. The journey, on a Sunday afternoon, took 40 minutes and cost Rs. 750 which was worth it as the car was fairly new, clean and with AC. I booked a room for 5 nights and was upgraded to a superior room which was just like those shown on their website. The room was spotless with no bad odours (as mentioned in reviews of other hotels) and all the facilities worked well including the AC and a a flat screen TV with 100 channels. There was also internet access but I didn't need this. The king size bed was very comfortable and street noise was minimal. The bathroom in marble was elegant and had good water pressure for the shower. The bedroom was also serviced in the evening with towels replaced if necessary. All the staff were extremely polite as well as being attentive and friendly even though they had over 100 delegates at a seminar for 3 days. I tried all 3 restaurants and whilst the Casablanca offered more refined cuisine including European dishes, I prefered the Puran Da Dhaba on the 9th floor. This is open air restaurant with a good view of the surrounding area and serves a variety of local cuisine in buffet style. Chat, salads, different biryanis, tandoori meats/vegetables and a good choice of curries and desserts made this my favourite. The swimming pool and small gym with jacuzzi and steam room are now open. I made many trips and used the auto-rickshaws found on the main road outside the hotel. It surprised me that drivers were willing to wait for hours whilst I did my shopping or sight seeing and yet the prices were very reasonable. On checking out, the items on the bill were explained and there were no errors. The front desk staff were keen to receive feedback on my stay and I felt that they were genuinely customer focused and working hard to continually raise standards. In conclusion, I have travelled extensively for business in Europe, Africa, Middle East and USA over 18 years and stayed in many hotels in different categories. I have no hesitation in placing The Pride in my top 10.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerA47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Abu Sarovar Portico
#64 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Nungambakkam
Ramada Chennai Egmore
Ramada Chennai Egmore
#35 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Clarion Chennai
#44 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#65 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Ambassador Pallava Chennai
#53 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Savera Hotel
#40 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pride Hotel Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pride Hotel Chennai

Property: Pride Hotel Chennai
Address: E V R Periyar Salai 216, Poonamallee High Road | Kilpauk, Chennai (Madras) 600010, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pride Hotel Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pride Hotel Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pride Hotels Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing