We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in chennai”
Review of Harrisons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harrisons Hotel
Ranked #99 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have been to this hotel around 5 times since 2008 . mostly for short stays around 1 or 2 days sometimes with family. it is a good hotel according to the following criteria - clean & dry bathroom , comfortable & clean beds , efficient room service . good food , fast checkin & checkout .

Room Tip: all rooms are good as the rooms are starting from 3 rd floor . no noise of city
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasweth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASEHotel, Director of Sales at Harrisons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Sir

Greetings from Harrisons Hotels, chennai.

We thankyou for your positive feedback and happy to note you had a wonderful stay with your family.

Harrisons will continue to strive to provide value based excellence as a continuous improvement program.

Harrirsons lobby cafe now serves Newzealand Naturals Icecreams,Chocolate shakes,Choctails,Fondues,Frappe,Sundaes,Pastries and desserts,Hot Chocolate, iced tea and more.

We now look forward to the pleasure of serving you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Harrisons Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend. We ha couple of friends who were male obviously. They came to chat up with us in the room. Then we had more friends come to meet us.

The staff at the hotel had a problem with this and asked us to leave the hotel...In case you are just women travelling, do not stay here ever. Period.

Room Tip: Avoid this place.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolateginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed for 2night during a business trip. The room interior is decent equipped with small Mini bar.
The toilet facilities were OK.
There were four restaurants in the hotel which served average value for money meals.
Dynasty serves Good Quality of Indo-Chinese food. The restaurants were nicely maintained. Wireless internet was available but had to be paid. There is also a good range of satellite tv channels if you're stuck in the room. What I did like about Harrisons is that they were very flexible and accommodating with regards to check out time.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on Top floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalsulkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed for 1 night during a business trip. The room was decent if a little bit run-down. The toilet facilities were ok but i found the shower area to be very basic and not properly compartmented off which led to water soaking the rest of the bathroom.

There were several restaurants in the hotel which served average value for money meals. The meals were nothing great but as there were few restaurants nearby, it does help you from having to take a taxi elsewhere to have a meal. The restaurants were also a bit old and could do with refurbishing.

Wireless internet was available but had to be paid. There is also a good range of satellite tv channels if you're stuck in the room.

What I did like about Harrisons is that they were very flexible and accommodating with regards to check out time. They allow you 24 hours from check-in before you have to check out but they were flexible and allowed me a few more hours in the room for late check-out as I had a midnight flight to catch.

Room Tip: If you have a late flight, you can request for late-check out and the management is generally accomm...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dthk_msia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Well my review is with regards to the PUB in the basement. I brother in-law took me to this place, i was just amazed with the kinds lights effects and the music.

It a fine place for refreshment and boos. The pricing is well inline with the other star pubs and the service is also good.

Good place to boos and enjoy...

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJRVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Formerly I used Harrisons Hotel when staying in Chennai because of its location, price and quality. Things have changed in the pst few years. The rooms were faily comfortable, but the level of care and maintenance is lower. The restaurant where the complementary breakfast was served was dirty. Every small request had an additional charge.

My days of staying at Harrisons are over. It too has scrummed to mediocrity.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueCQue_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

we stayed here for a official visit. it was a nice place to stay. a normal hotel which is value for money. but one thing hit out in my mind. we payed the room rent online but the receptionist dint provide us a bill unless we asked for.. after tat we asked for a bill where he provided us with a less value of 300 rs.. then we have to demand with him to get tat 300 RS in the bill. i ask the hotel management to put the same in the receipt without customer demanding them.

Room Tip: hope top floor rooms aare nice
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yavanaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Park Avenue Hotel
#56 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
178 reviews
Nungambakkam
The Belstead
The Belstead
#68 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
29 reviews
Quality Inn Sabari
#64 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
873 reviews
Nungambakkam
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#92 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
307 reviews
The Park Chennai
#49 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrisons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrisons Hotel

Address: 315 Harrisons Valluvar Kottam High Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £41 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harrisons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridging the gap between old and new! Chennai’s famous Harrisons Hotel has undergone renovations and reemerged as the new Harrisons, Century old traditions with the new look and feel of a luxury.Renowned for its legendary service, the historic Harrisons boasts luxurious guest rooms, 3 specialty restaurants, a lounge bar and a trendy theme bar. From the moment you walk into a guestroom at the Harrisons Hotel you experience a sense of comfort and relaxation that is unparalleled by any other Chennai hotel. From the crisp furnishings to the spacious surroundings, this upscale boutique hotel offers you everything you expect and more. Enjoy the simple elegance of The Harrisons Hotel in Chennai, India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harrisons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing