We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel for food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Harrisons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harrisons Hotel
Ranked #99 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
“Good Hotel for food”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Good food chinese and Indian ,Great warm chocolate pudding with icecream,friendly staff,helpful but lacks clean bedsheets and stained beds.Housekeeping not upto standard.Also facilities like massage ,beauty parlour not present.Standard rooms and polite service.

Room Tip: Let customers choose rooms according to their budget,no allocation from staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASEHotels, General Manager at Harrisons Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We would like to thank you for the valuable time taken to give us your feedback on the services of our Housekeeping and Laundry.
We have briefed the staff and will ensure that corrective measures are taken and implemented, so that our guests are not inconvenienced.
We have also made a note of the facilities of Massage & Beauty parlour not being available. We are in negotiation with Beauty parlour so that we could extend these facilities to our esteemed guest in future.

Regards
Suresh Yadav..R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    27
    22
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
8
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Firstly please ignore the date I have written of my date of travel. This was because I stayed here for a week due to an important family event that I had to travel for.

Impartially I must say that I have a very mixed opinion of this hotel. I mean the reception staff were helpful, the rooms were comfortable and the 3 different restaurants in the hotel were also of good standard.

What let me down was my television would not work, room service was fairly slow and also the front lounge by the reception desk was not very efficient either. This was because me and a few others just ordered some soft drinks which took 15-20 minutes to get served which surprised me.

I would recommend this hotel as a place to stay in passing so long as you don't have the highest of expectations. At least it was quite a tidy and well maintained hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4ThWaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASEHotels, General Manager at Harrisons Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the time taken to share your experience pertaining to your stay at Harrisons.
"The Television in your room was not working" we have 2 remote controls one for the television and one for the settop box, hence there was a confusion while the TV was being operated. We had identified this problem and have upgraded our facility to avoid confusion.

Regarding the services at the lobby lounge and room service, we are constantly monitoring the services to ensure that our guest have a comfortable and memorable stay.

If you could give me the exact dates of your stay, it would help us to brief the concerned staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trichy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I have been a regular to this hotel maybe twice a year since 2006. They have maintained their standards and even their food & room rates have seen only a marginal or no rise . I have 1 suggestions put sliding doors instead of shower curtain in bathroom so that water does not splash allover.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasweth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASEHotel, Front Office Manager at Harrisons Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank You very much for your comments on Trip Advisor for Harrisons Hotel. We have noted your comments and will strive to serve you better to your absolute satisfaction in the future.

We look forward to having you with us again.

Thank You

Front Office Manager
Harrisons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Heritage Hotel (from 1885) with absolutely modern facilities due to total renovation. Ambience is very good. Being located centrally, is a boon for business travel. the food is very good and quantity is quite sumptuous for single person. However, the service tends to be a bit slow with a lot of time taken to deliver anything ordered to Room Service or Housekeeping. Reminders need to be given for speedy delivery of orders. Overall, a good staying experience, which can be further enhanced with prompt service.

Room Tip: Nothing special to be said, all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sarbarana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASEHotel, General Manager at Harrisons Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank You very much for your comments on Trip Advisor for Harrisons Hotel. We have noted your comments and will strive to serve you better to your absolute satisfaction in the future.

We look forward to having you with us again.

Thank You

General Manager
Harrisons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

this stay was better than the other years & it gets better each year. i have been staying in Harrison Hotel since 2009.
It is centrally situated to all avenues.... T Nager, the shopping malls & they have some of the most popular restaurants. the rooms are always upgraded and the staff is always accomodating.

we even had a friendly conversation with the Owner of the Hotel, who i thought was a guest. only after some talk we were led to believe she owned the hotel. Very "down to earth"

Room Tip: we were family of 4. room 517 & 519 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Basil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASEHotel, Director of Sales at Harrisons Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Harrisons Hotels, Chennai.
We are happy to note that you had a comfortable and pleasurable stay with your family.
Harisons lobby cafe now serves Newzealand Naturals Icecreams,Chocolate shakes,Choctails,Fondues,Frappe,Sundaes,Pastries and desserts,Hot Chocolate, iced tea and more.
We now look forward to the pleasure of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

It is quite centrally located, which makes it easy to get around. However, being on a main and busy road, there are no safe walks around. The hotel's fitness centre was not open in the mornings, which was inconvenient.

If you don't want to eat out, the hotel has a number of options. We did not check them out, though, as we preferred to walk around the corner and sample restaurants like Wang's Kitchen (chinese). The place also has bite choices like Pizza Hut, Cafe Coffee Day, AAB etc.

While on food, the hotel's own breakfast buffet could do with some variety though; also be nice if they offered whole (uncut) fruit.

Overall, Harrisons' was a nice stay, the staff was pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: We could not get them to give us a hard mattress, that can be a real problem if you're not used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkaboutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASEHotel, Director of Sales at Harrisons Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Harrisons Hotels Chennai.
Thankyou for your review and we shall certainly look at areas pointed out by you.

Harisons lobby cafe now serves Newzealand Naturals Icecreams,Chocolate shakes,Choctails,Fondues,Frappe,Sundaes,Pastries and desserts,Hot Chocolate, iced tea and more.

We now look forward to the pleasure of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I had gone for the Chennai literature festival and chose this hotel for its location round the corner from the venue of the festival. Its quite pricey, and not quite good value for money - the rooms are a bit run down, and the bathrooms tiny. The staff is nice, but could not provide for a firm mattress or a phone charger when requested. The breakfast included in the room tariff is very rudimentary. The hotel has no outdoor spaces at all - no gardens, no pool, no balconies with the rooms. Stay here only for its location, otherwise there are far better options in the price range of 4-5k a night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lodhiroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASEHotel, Director of Sales at Harrisons Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Sir

Greetings from Harrisons Hotels, Chennai

While we thankyou for your feedback, we have now embarked on providing value-based service excellence to our esteemed guests.

Harrirsons lobby cafe now serves Newzealand Naturals Icecreams,Chocolate shakes,Choctails,Fondues,Frappe,Sundaes,Pastries and desserts,Hot Chocolate, iced tea and more.

We now look forward to the pleasure of serving you to your fullest satisfaction Harrisons is known for over many decades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Park Avenue Hotel
#51 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
169 reviews
Nungambakkam
Pratap Plaza Hotel
Pratap Plaza Hotel
#61 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
92 reviews
Nungambakkam
Crescent Park Hotel
Crescent Park Hotel
#106 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn Sabari
#58 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
273 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#18 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
294 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#64 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrisons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrisons Hotel

Property: Harrisons Hotel
Address: 315 Harrisons Valluvar Kottam High Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harrisons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridging the gap between old and new! Chennai’s famous Harrisons Hotel has undergone renovations and reemerged as the new Harrisons, Century old traditions with the new look and feel of a luxury.Renowned for its legendary service, the historic Harrisons boasts luxurious guest rooms, 3 specialty restaurants, a lounge bar and a trendy theme bar. From the moment you walk into a guestroom at the Harrisons Hotel you experience a sense of comfort and relaxation that is unparalleled by any other Chennai hotel. From the crisp furnishings to the spacious surroundings, this upscale boutique hotel offers you everything you expect and more. Enjoy the simple elegance of The Harrisons Hotel in Chennai, India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrisons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing