We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Serviced Apartment Ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Ranked #110 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Serviced Apartment Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

This has got to be by far the worst experience that I have had, from check-in to amenities, to cleaning to checkout, absolutely pathetic.

Had gone on a business trip with 3 colleagues for 3 nights, and here are "some" of the problems that we faced:

1. Check-in: While checking in, no one knew the details of our bookings, rates or whether advance had been received or not. Further on being showed to our rooms, they weren't really Twin Room DELUX APARTMENTS at all.

2. The Set-top box (TV) in one of the rooms was not working . There was no card in the set-top box. As soon as we entered, we informed the same to the front desk/ reception. Every time, we were told that its being done, and it will get rectified in the next few hours, but full 3 days it wasn't fixed.

3. Amenities: When you book an "apartment", you expect some amount of kitchen facilities. In fact, all that they had was a refrigerator and a sink. There was no microwave, gas, tea/coffee maker, no crockery/utensils - it was absolutely bare.
On asking the reception, we were told that they don't provide microwave/stove, and everything else you had to ask for (plates, etc.). We asked for basic crockery, and that was also delivered only after we asked for it like 5 times.

4. House-keeping: The second day, after a full-day of work, when we returned to our apartment, we found that our rooms had not been cleaned. Before leaving, we had put the "clean my room" switch on in both the rooms. On inquiring about it, we were told that we needed to leave the keys at the reception, and inform then that we wanted our rooms cleaned. Apparently, they don't keep a master set of keys for the rooms. We were not informed of this either during check-in or when we had asked the reception to call us a taxi in the morning, when leaving for work.
Also, their housekeeping is on duty till only 7pm, and since it was after 7pm, there was nothing that could be done, so we had to sleep in the messy apartment.

5. "Deluxe Apartment": In a So called Deluxe apartment , only three chairs were available in a Drawing/ sitting room round table with four person accommodations. Additionally, there was no chair in one of the rooms near the writing table. On asking for a chair, we were told that all rooms are booked, so they can't help us.
What was even weird was that one day when we returned from work, we found that one of the round tables from one of the rooms (including the chairs) had disappeared, and my colleagues laptop (that he had left on the table) was found atop the refrigerator.

6. Cockroaches/cleanliness: Every room - drawing room, both toilets, kitchen area, was full of cockroaches. We complained about the same the first night itself, but nothing was done during our three night stay.
In addition, there was a lot of dust accumulated on things like the table, telephone, etc. so much so, that one of our colleagues used to keep coughing and sneezing whenever we were in the room. As soon as we would leave the premises, his allergies would be fine, so it obviously had something to do with the lack of cleanliness in our rooms.

7. Stingy: At check-in, we were provided 2 bottles of mineral water, and the next day we were told that only first day water is complimentary. Additionally, every time you requested a towel, they would charge us Rs. 25 (In fact, they only had big towels, and no hand towels at all). It was not a question of money - it was just surprising that a serviced apartment, would be so penny-foolish.

So overall, we had the worst experience ever especially for the price that we paid (equivalent to a 4-star hotel rate). A 1-2 star hotel can provide a much better quality of stay that we experienced.

Please please please - do not stay here ever!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your review. Many of the complaints you have indicated are certainly an exaggeration as they could have been solved immediately if you had bought it to the attention of either the Guest relations Manager or the Front Office Manager on the duration of your stay. We also have a feedback page on our website where you could have contacted us.

Anyway, since almost a year has elapsed, we dont wish to dispute your complaints and offer our apologies. We also invite you to stay with us one more time and see for your self the many improvements and renovations which we have brought into our property. We will be happy to welcome you again and promise you a better and quality experience this time.

room keys We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and would love you to have aboard with us once more. We have made many new improvements to our entire property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    33
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
42
1
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

it was my 1st visit to Chennai, and normally as a single traveller I look for a budget hotel. I found this serviced apartment a real value for money. To be honest I was expecting a low-end palce just to spend my nights in, but I found it so well furnished, clean and organized, that I will recommend to my couple friends in Prague as well. Thanks to the friendly staff who make this offer even better by making me feel like at home!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marum2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Had a fair to attend in Chennai for a week so brought along my family and my kids. This was my 10th trip in the last 2 years and I regret not having stayed here. In fact, I booked this as a last resort as I wanted to be around T Nagar and other hotels were either booked or were expensive. Having read the scary reviews here, I had also warned my family not to have great expectations.

How wrong was I ! This was superb. For the comparatively low price we paid, we were not only offered a 10% discount but also upgraded to a large 2 bedroom apartment that had all the amenities that we would need. It was cozy, very spacious, comfortable beds and the AC just worked fine. The bathroom was clean with no leaks or drips and we had a separate living room too. There were add-ons like a fridge, microwave, etc but we hardly used them as we were mostly out during the day. The restaurant in the lobby is large, I think its called the Laughing Buddha and we loved the South Indian breakfast there (we skipped it on the last 2 days as we were at Mamallapuram). The staff are all very pleasant and friendly.

Yes, this is not exactly a 5 star hotel but a 3 star luxury Serviced Apartment so don't expect 5 star service (especially when you are paying such cheap rates). Nonetheless, you need to appreciate the fact that you are getting all this for a price of hotel room (thats actually cheaper than whats on offer in a 3 star hotel down the same road where I had stayed 4 months ago)

If you can ignore small glitches and a little slow service, go for Star City. Its truly in the heart of the city and is unbeatable value.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tempusasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review. If you are in Chennai again, we would be happy to welcome again and offer a even better service than your last visit as our serviced apartments are fully renovated now besides a new lobby and India's leading Chinese restaurant chain - right inside the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

I stayed in Star City Hotel Bazzula Street for almost 3 Months.......I was on a project in chennai from my company....their were few of my friends living in Star City Santome some in Star City Creasent park......but I thing we were better off as my company said that they are providing me the best appartment being a top notched employee......But if this is what they called is best then some one need to correct there defination of hospitality....I would say this is not a hotel or a apparments...it more then a hostel.....where you have policy....have you heared a hotel have policy for their customer.....something like you cannot come back late in the hotel.....no one can visit you after 20:00.....and the worst part was I was suppose to stay there for nearly 3 months...when you stay for such a long time in any hotel you expect somethng extra...but forget the extra they had crap.....they gave us complimentary breakfast.....which was just constant southindia....and that southindia was not even authentic southindia it use to suck...........now a hotel always know that who ever would stay in their hotel would be a outsider not from the local area....so they cannot expect us to eat their food every morning.....their policy use to change every morning....i wish i would have meet their MD and would have advice him to give us a copy of policy everymorning so that we knew what we need to do everymorning...........they made my life hell..........A/C in the room is on one corner which is no way in line with ur beds......they call is as service appartment...but their is no kitchen which make a hotel room different from an service appartment.........infact few of my friends staying in Santome reported it was haunted....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarunkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starcitychennai, Public Relations Manager at Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
We apologize for any inconveniences you have had during your stay with us. Being a serviced apartment, we offer the luxury of your own apartment compared to a conventional hotel room at very economical costs. Our price for the vantage location in T.Nagar and comforts we provide in our serviced apartments cannot be matched by any hotel in our vicinity. Having this in mind, expecting full-fledged hotel and five star facilities for the price we bill (especially long stay and corporate customers) is not feasible. Nonetheless, we have still improved all our services and brought in efficiencies to ensure all our guests have a delightful stay. Therefore, we request you to stay with us once again. We would be very happy to welcome you again and assure you of a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandra, Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

We (two colleagues on a business) stayed at the "service" apartment for 4 nights on a business. I think the hotel used to be good – the management is slaging and therefore also the hotel. The service is terrible!: starting from the room service, the extremely slow serving breakfast, bad coffee, lack of internet (even though they said they could be provide internet for three days in a row), slow check-out (½ hour), ect. Ect.
To sum up; the place has a fancy internet page and a shiny lobby, but are very bad when you check in.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esbenthorup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starcitychennai, Public Relations Manager at Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Please accept our apologies for not being up to mark during your stay. Our services and our guest facilities have all been vastly improved now to better serve you. As pioneers of the Serviced Apartment concept in Chennai, we request you to visit us once again and enjoy a new standard of our starvantage hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2008

We were looking for an "Apartment" type hotel due to the fact that we were travelling with an infant and needed access to a microwave and the likes. They had advertised "furnished Suites", which in reality were truly appalling. Money had to be paid upfront - wired to their bank in India. After three days of hell we moved out, had a VERY HARD time getting any reimbursement from them.
I have lived in India before, but was taken back by the lack of upkeep in this establishment. The plumbing in the washroom offered a trickle of water for the shower and only hot water for the sink.
The small dinette table reeked of urine in the corner. The beds were hard and the linen smelled.
And this was supposed to be their best suite!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Fr0mOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starcitychennai, Public Relations Manager at Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
In the outset, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have had at our serviced apartment. However, with regard to the Website - all the photos that you see are all 100% genuine and the payment terms are standard as in any other serviced apartment or hotel. We invite you to try us out again and we guarantee a pleasant experience this time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Velachery
Velacity - Luxury Serviced Apartments
Velacity - Luxury Serviced Apart...
#83 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
FabHotel Blossoms T Nagar
#127 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Red Sun Serviced Apartments
#222 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malles Manotaa
#119 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
The Residency
#32 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Alwarpet South
Kings Serviced Apartments
Kings Serviced Apartments
#163 of 615 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments

Property: Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Address: 39 Bazullah Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India (Formerly Star City Bazullah Road)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star City Chennai Serviced Apartments & Villas, the first and finest Serviced Apartments in Chennai is the first choice for both business and leisure travellers and just 30 minutes away from the airport and from the Central Railway station.Combining prime locations across Chennai with modern facilities we ensure that our guests experience the maximum in comfort and convenience during their stay at any of our 5 Luxury serviced apartments and villas in T.Nagar (now managed by the internationally acclaimed hotel and resort chain - Aitken Spence Hotels) and Nungambakkam. Our superb air conditioned serviced apartments, studios, suites and independent guest house villas across Chennai offer you a choice of large one bedroom, two bedroom or three bedroom accommodations featuring spacious living and dining areas, full kitchenette facilities besides room service, restaurant, house keeping and business center facilities. All assured with a personal level of service that you won't find in any other serviced apartment hotel in Chennai. Enjoy a free breakfast everyday (depending on your stay plan), meet informally with clients or friends, conduct a board meeting, dine at our specialty Mainland China restaurant and at close of the day, relax in the comfort and space of your fully furnished service apartment in Chennai.When you stay at any of our 5 StarCity Apartment hotel & villa properties across Chennai, we're confident that you will have a comfortable and enjoyable stay and most importantly, be surprised at the great value that we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing