We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warm welcome back”
Review of MGM Eastwoods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MGM Eastwoods
Ranked #86 of 436 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 21 January 2014

On my last visit I gave a good revue, but on my return visit the welcome was even better, such happy pleasant staff, the restaurant cannot do enough to please you, the rooms are clean and fresh, sheets and towels changed every day, away from the hustle and bustle of the city, nice and relaxing time and lovely refreshing swimming pool

Room Tip: ask for a suite, its a little more expensive but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2560Rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Property is very big, near to ocean and beautiful, maintained well as well. Food was moderately good. Not ideal for conference kind usage, service is not comparable for such usages. If you have spare time, you must visit SPA, very genuine and supprting staff.

Room Tip: Rooms near occean , away from reception building are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ulhasbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

i was visited MGM EAST WOOD RESORT - RESTAURENT- named as VIRUNTHU RESTAURENT.. really its rediculas.... am just went for lunth on 30th nov.2013. and order fried rice. he takes to prepare morethan half an hour for 2 fried rice. even taking that much of time the food is not hot... i think they already prepared and kept in fridge and make it re heat and give it to me... there is no taste in the fried rice exept slighty salty taste... then i ask him for tomato saus for, he bring in a small cup and pour it in my shirt. after i wash my shirt and come back to my table the remaining saus in my table.. i ask them and bring new saus.. very worst service in the restaurent. am very dis-appointed after taste the tomato saus... not even tomato saus is not tasty.. simply am higly dis appointed with the reasaurent... i cant eat half of the fried rice and checken is also smely.. i just kept in the table and get off....

pls friends do go to the restaurent..........

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mohamed474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This property belongs to the same mgm group which owns the property in muttukadu. that led us to beleive that the standard would be the same . but we were utterly disappointed from the word go. This is located on the western side of ecr a little past vgp resorts.The rooms are average , with peeling paints ,minimal furniture. bare minimum toileteries., our toilet in room 103 had a health faucet in place of a hand shower?(yuck). The dinner and the breakfast next morning was very average with very little to choose from or rather we were not given choices, one juice . premade coffee to name a few.Had been to their property on the beach side and we were disappointed that they had not even made 50% of the effort they do to maintain that one. For the tariif they charge , what you get , really not worth spending.One window unit for a room of that size , it cools the room quiet late in night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aravind A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a resort on ECR in the out skirts of Chennai. The staff are very helpful and nice. Good swimming pool. Rooms are bigger, but not sparkling clean. Break fast is good south Indian vegetarian. No eateries nearby, next door Marybrown is not eatable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rangassamy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just a stone's throw away distance from VGP resorts is this quiet place ..compact..nicely done area which is on the right side on ECR ...has a good swimming pool....nice food. ideal for family get togethers, company launch meets and workshops. cleanliness has to be improved upon out door eating places.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dr_ambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This hotel is very good for a short stay It is so far from any where. The surroundings are not good for walking and sight seeing..Big Hollywood attraction across the road but that is all Not for older couple.
Had to hire a car and driver to go to city. One hour drive each day to see the real CHennai.The staff at the reception are not efficient but the restaurant staff are.Partically the head man, He was so helpful and spoke very good English .
The manager was good also.
The pool is lovely but the water was too hot for us to swim in as the temp. was 39c most days.
The suite we had was good and so roomy and efficient air-con. Does need painting though.
Meals to the room were excellent and good value.

Room Tip: suite on first floor was very good Quiet except for the crows at 5.30 each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai (Madras)
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
841 reviews
VGP Golden Beach Resort
#223 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
100 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#55 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TGI Landmark Pallavaa Beach Reso...
#14 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
43 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Chennai Old ...
#62 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
76 reviews
Gokulam Park Sabari - OMR
#40 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Eastwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Eastwoods

Address: 1/240 East Coast Road | Injambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600041, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £38 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MGM Eastwoods 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastwoods Resort- Commune with Nature in this Oasis of Calm... It's hard to imagine the possibility of immersing yourself in natural tranquility, only 30 minutes away from the energetic pulse of Chennai. Eastwoods Resort is almost like an oasis of calm, nestling amidst lush landscaped gardens and swaying palm fronds. Sprawled across 3 acres the quaint, winding pathways lead to 3 luxurious suites and 18 Deluxe cottages. An inviting, azure blue pool beckons and our kiddies pool is a hot favourite with our young guests. Here is a charming, back-to-basics yet urban resort for you to unwind. Eastwoods Resort offers you only the best: warm hospitality, modern amenities, attentive service and professional expertise. Come stay with us to experience a tranquil vacation or a delightful weekend getaway with the family.... We provide you with the ultimate choices in celebrating and entertaining. Plan a family get-together, dinner with friends, a celebration under the stars or even a wedding reception on our lush, undulating and manicured lawns. Just fix the date, and leave the rest to us... Business is our business! Choose Eastwoods Resort as the venue for a conference, a business meet or for hosting a business dinner. Our well-equipped conference hall can accommodate your business clients and needs. We offer you state-of-the-art corporate facilities backed by impeccable service, and we mean business! We invite you to experience the renowned hospitality and impeccable service, which is the cornerstone of any MGM Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your MGM Eastwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Eastwoods Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing