We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Southern Crest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Crest
Ranked #284 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had booked hotel for 3 Nights on Check Inn we were informed hotel is sold out & we shall transfer your reservation nearby hotels. After furious arguement they alotted our rooms. Please double check with hotel for reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Chintan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southerncrest, Manager at Southern Crest, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Mr. Chintan, All online Portals are not maintained by the hotels. They are the 3rd party website promoting our hotel. In case of sold out dates in our Hotel. We used to send a mail to close the online inventory for stop selling of our hotel rooms. We have done the same. But you have booked the hotel which has been sold out already. In this case you have to contact your online portals for selling the closed inventory. But anyhow we managed and allotted the rooms on the arrival. We give more response for online bookings which meets our hotel policies and agreement between the hotel and the portals..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

On landing with a confirmed Voucher with family of four, the inhospitable and rude staff , had the audacity to decline a firm booking citing they were full.

If you land in this hotel be sure that If they have a higher paying customer from Abroad, your booking will be cancelled and the room will be automatically allotted to the person who has paid more!!!

Book your stay at your own risk!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SrinivasG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Room Service was poor,even after repeated calls no body to pick up the phone,then i had to go to the reception to call for room service.OK for a days stay,Transportation assistance not provided on request.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Naveen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel is located at a convenient location and is in close vicinity of market, good restaurants. Rooms are quite spacious. Service was average and house cleaning was average.

It's an OK hotel for someone who comes for a short visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RinkuBbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Very nice location in the heart of the city and a comfortable Stay with cordial service. Spacious well-kept Rooms. Soft King-sized bed. Delicious Breakfast with variety of dishes to choose. (complementary).


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Raman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located in close vicinity of markets,good restaurants at walk able distance.Rooms are quite spacious,neat and clean.Service is also quiet good.Best part is you do not feel you are not staying in a hotel,but in a spacious house.Breakfast is ok,could have been still better.I have stayed there 2 times and it was by a stroke of luck I found this hotel 1st time and I stayed again on my 2nd visit to Chennai.Will recommend to all types of travelers either on holiday or business trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arunhs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Reception staff - Very friendly
Waiters - helpful
Wifi - very poor service
Restaurant - not good service
Room service - average
Location - good
Room size - good for a double room, not for 3 or 4 people in a room

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamuna99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
T. Nagar
Urvashi Residency
Urvashi Residency
#140 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
6 reviews
T. Nagar
Taz Kamar Inn
Taz Kamar Inn
#43 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
275 reviews
T. Nagar
The Iris Hotel
The Iris Hotel
#68 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
T. Nagar
The Residency
The Residency
#30 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
623 reviews
T. Nagar
BKR Grand Hotel
BKR Grand Hotel
#308 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
132 reviews
Royapettah
La Woods Hotel
La Woods Hotel
#18 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Crest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Crest

Address: #2 Old | T. Nagar, Chennai- 17, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > T. Nagar , Thyagaraya Nagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £26 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Crest 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Southern Crest located in the area called T. Nagar ( Entire Shopping World) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Crest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing