We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay”
Review of Beverly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beverly Hotel
Ranked #96 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had three rooms booked at this hotel for the night - transit - from Pondicherry on the way to Kolkata. Reached quite late and left early in the morning for the airport.

The hotel itself is located centrally but surrounded by residential buildings and is thus quiet. The staff was very courteous right from the point of check-in to check-out.

Rooms - Spacious, aesthetic, clean, well illuminated and well maintained. Beds were comfortable thus the sleep quality was good. (Rooms # 511, 517, 518). (Upon check-in we were provided with #520 which had a loud generator noise - promptly changed to #511)

Food - The dinner at the restaurant was very good and light on the stomach. We all enjoyed it. The breakfast next morning was typically south Indian and could have some more variety.

Two small put - offs - - -

1. At the time of paying my bills on 2nd Jan, I asked the cashier if I could have a newspaper. He handed me a copy of The Hindu. Upon sighting The Times of India, I asked if I could have a copy of that instead- his reply - " No Sir, we have to keep a copy for our MD, I can't give this." While leaving I went up to to him and said " I'm from the hotel industry and I understand the working of a hotel. You cannot refuse a guest point blank on his face. You should take precautions of not displaying things which are meant for your MD. If I have asked you for the paper you should have given it to me and purchased another one for your MD - as simple as that."

2. The driver of the Toyota Innova we hired for the airport drop was very loud and blank with his question at the Porch - to the point of being rude - " Aap airport ka parking fee pay kar diye hai, kyunki boht guest nahin dete aur woh mere pocket se jaata hai"
I told him if we exceed the 5 minutes allowed, I shall pay. We hurriedly unloaded the luggage in under three minutes from the time he collected the parking ticket ( I made it a point to time the same ), but he refused to budge without the parking fee. Ultimately I paid upon being goaded by my family members.

Would request the MD to look into the same.

Overall a very good budget hotel. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Khurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph C, General Manager at Beverly Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Beverly!!

Many thanks for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor. I have shared your comments with my team and we are happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us, nevertheless we regrett for the lapses in our service delivery during your stay and we have taken up the matter with the concerned department and assure you that remedial action has been taken.
Looking forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards

Randolph Clark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    53
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
12
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a day... The staff were very polite and courteous... The rooms were spacious clean and well maintained..Having aesthetic look all interior.. Comfort level was very good. Break fast was good ..All varieties in South Indian were available..Another major advantage is that this hotel is , this hotel is sandwiched between two arterial roads of chennai city, poonamalle High Road and Purasaiwalkam High Road... and is located in the heart of the city.. very near to both train terminus es and away just by a straight drive from city airport...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph C, General Manager at Beverly Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Beverly!!

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor. I have shared your comments with my team and we are indeed happy that you found our services and products to your satisfaction.
All at Beverly join me in thanking you for giving us an opportunity to serve you.

Best Regards

Randolph Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Hotel is averagely good. Morning breakfast South Indian is very good. Rooms are clean, good & specious. Easily approachable to the centre of city. Reception & staff welcomes warmly. Health club is ok.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivvrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph C, General Manager at Beverly Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Beverly!!

Thank you very much for reviewing us on tripadvisor, we ar indeed happy that you found our services and products to your satisfaction.
I have shared your comments with my team and look forward to welcome you on your next visit.

Best Wishes

Randolph Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Went to Chennai for the 1st time to go and visit Pondacherry to visit the temples. First do not go to Chennai via the train as the train station is dreadful and there is many crooks waiting to rip you off, firstly the porters, then Fasttrack taxis who are wanting to charge 4 times the amount, it was a good job my husband paid the pre-paid fare, but then even then the drivers was telling us good luck on finding a driver. We arrived at the hotel about 0600 hrs and it was a great relief when I saw the hotel, it looked better than on the internet, we checked in and was grateful for breakfast, but we did not realise that we were going to be rained in due to the cyclone coming from the Phillipines, so that is why we were unable to visit Pondercherry. Then my husband got sick and the hotel staff asked whether I needed a doctor, they were very helpful and kind. They eventually arranged for us to visit a temple closer to Chennai, we were a little disappointed, but anything was better than nothing. The restaurant was good, but the service was a little slow and the understanding of English I found was a problem. The hotel let us stay 1 night free and gave us a complimentary breakfast on the last day, so I would definitely stay again. Thank you to the manager.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Executive double, it was big enough for 3 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guru314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph C, General Manager at Beverly Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Beverly!!

Many thanks for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor, and am indeed motivated by your comments as we at Beverly would go out of the way to ensure that our guests feel at home.
I have shared your feedback with my team and am happy that you found our staff very supportive and our services to your satisfaction.

Best Regards

Randolph Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, India
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stay here regularly. The rooms are spacious. Locationwise it is strategically located to commute to any location in Chennai. The rooms are being spruned up recently to give a new look. The food here is good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEEGEEYES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph C, General Manager at Beverly Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Beverly!!

Thank you very much for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on tripadvisor, and thank you for patronising us. I have shared your feedback with my team and am extremely happy that you found our services and products to your satisfaction.
Looking forward to your continued patronage.

Best Regards

Randolph Clark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed at the Beverly during a business visit to Chennai. It does not differ greatly from the usual hotels in this price range. One always desires greater value for each penny spent but then it seemed like value for money.
The location is the best aspect of the hotel - its tucked away off the main street yet you can easily walk to the main road to get access to public transport. I like such places. The staff are courteous - happy to help and eager to serve. Another thing that I liked is that they had satellite TV which is something I always suffer for when I travel to South India (especially the smaller towns).
If you choose the Beverly ask for room with a LCD/LED, some of the rooms still have old fashioned box TVs.
There is a small issue at breakfast - the hotel has a large clientele of Marwadis (or atleast had when I went). So the breakfast will be strictly vegetarian - the serving staff assumes you will NOT want any non vegetarian stuff for breakfast like cold cuts or eggs. This could be changed.
All in all slightly overpriced but worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph C, General Manager at Beverly Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear guest,

Greetings from Beverly!!

Many thanks for your feedback shared with us on tripadvisor, it is only with feedbacks from discerning guests like you that we strive to improve our services and facilities to give our customer the best.

Beverly located in the heart of the city, close to the railway stations, shopping malls and business centres and is the most prefered choice for the business traveller.

I have shared your feed back with my team members and am happy to note that we were able to meet up to yor expectation and we look forward to welcoming you always at Beverly.

Best Wishes

Randolph Clark
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam
The Belstead
The Belstead
#73 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
23 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#57 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
178 reviews
The Lotus Hotel Sameera
#86 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
No photo provided
Treebo Nestlay Casa
#188 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
9 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#67 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
140 reviews
Abu Sarovar Portico
#70 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hotel

Property: Beverly Hotel
Address: 17 Rajarathinam Road | Kilpauk, Chennai (Madras) 600010, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beverly Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beverly Hotel has 52 elegant and well appointed rooms and suites. The rooms are equipped with direct dial telephone having voicemail and call forwarding, colour TV with satellite transmission, running hot and cold water, free wifi,and electronic safe,and a mini refrigerator.The hotel is centrally air-conditioned and each room is installed with a climate control panel.Pacifica: A multi- cuisine restaurant serving authentic Indian, Chinese and Continental cuisine.Sunset Place: The Bar serving Indian and Foriegn liquor.Los Angeles ans San Francisco: The Banquet Halls with a capacity to cater from 25 to 350 guests be it formal or informal.Other Services include the Business centre, Foreign Exchange,Doctor on call, In-house laundry and 24 hours Room Service.Beverly is a Govt.categorized 3 star hotel in the heart of Chennai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beverly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing