We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place with worst staff behaviour”
Review of Hotel Grand Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Grand Palace
Ranked #210 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average place with worst staff behaviour”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Friends, this place is very average, but we can live with that, the main trouble is the staff in the reception. They have an attitude problem and are very non cooperative. The rooms and service are ok, but as I had to take an early flight at 2 am in the morning, i didn't get any help from them. They are least worried on the customer satisfaction and I am sure if the management is reading this should hire professional to handle the reception and front office. This is a hotel which is about 10 minutes from Airport, a huge advantage but I can never stay there again.

Room Tip: The charges are not incl of the tax and they are waiting to rip you on that part, so please clarify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank umesh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    14
    22
    13
    9
See reviews for
8
4
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is one place iw ould rather not recommend to my friends / associate or relative. The hotel promises a lot but fails to deliver on every account.
The hotel is a dampner right from the lobby and reception area which is small and cramped, the staff doesnt know how to behave and too abrasive and rustic. The rooms are small, unkempt and lack ventilation. The washing is area is nearly dirty and no peoper upkeep is done to clean it properly.
I stayed there for one night and wish not to go back there even if i do nto have any decent place to stay.
Overall i can say my stay was horrible.

Room Tip: Better Avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TogetherFarzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

First the positives,

Very close to the airport, it hardly takes 15 minutes to reach the hotel from the airport. Hence best hotel for short trips.
Checkin Process was awesome, the porter explained each and everything in detail and almost insisted that i have the complementary breakfast. Which i ended up having and thats where the bad experience started.
Room was clean, and i happened to enter the room later in the day when they were cleaning, boy do they take the cleaning seriously??. The cleaners were actually moving all tables/furniture away and cleaning beneath. good cleaning.
Now the not do good experience.
first off the complementary breakfast and the restaurant, below par .. not clean, tables and table cloth were pathetically dirty and stained, the restaurant manager was too much in to sherlock holmes and was suspicious all the time , that i am there for free food, he ased me my room number thrice, til i showed him my room key. I asked for some fresh stuff, which almost took till i was done with my breakfast. The food too didnt look very clean and neat and it wasnt even too late in to the buffet as it was just 9 o clock. Food wasnt tasty either.

Compared to the size of the hotel the restaurant was awfully small. anyways, i had a quick shower and went off to some office work, which got over in another 2-3 hours and i desperately wanted to catch a nap before i caught my evening flight. Before sleeping i decided to have some juice, which i couldn't order as the telephone was not working. the wires were probably uprooted during the elaborate cleaning.

Somehow i got hold of a cleaning boy in next room and told him it was not working, he told me it wil take 10 minutes for someone to come. not wanting to wait, i told him to chuck it and dropped the idea. after that they kept ringing the bell every 10 minutes despite of me telling them do no disturb till evening. apparently the hotel staff didnt know the meaning of " do Not disturb" so this went on till 5 though the frequency reduced. Finally i woke up @ 5. But i'd give it to them cus they wanted to fix the phone as soon as possible and wanted to make sure that if i needed something to eat i dont have to stay hungry due to no availability of phone.

While checking out , staff got me some books which i had by mistake left in the room. Again that made me happy

The hotel is way too highly priced for its decorum.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor are clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harpreetjagdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuticorin, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

This hotel is located near the airport in chennai. Takes hardly 10 minutes to reach from Chennai airport. One among nicer 3 star hotels in the Tambaram area. We reached during late night and left in early morning as we had to catch a connecting flight. The sleep was comfortable with necessary amenities in the bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saket012000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HYderbad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Grand Palace is the place which i cherish lot more days for its mouth watering buffet dinner at as low as 350rupees. THis place is located in Chrompet which is well connected with the local train network in chennai. good place to stay with families , as i saw a lot of couples there.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HyderabadFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

I liked room of Hotel Grand Palace with 24 hrs hot water facility. Room service was excellent & I got my cloth Ironed in 30 minutes.

Morning breakfast was good ( south Indian ) but for lunch food quality was ok.

Situated 15-20 minutes from Chennai Airport.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chetan_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

It is good and decent hotel for staying on business or on pleasure trip. Good food, nice rooms, very courteous staff members.
Only suggestion would be to consider a complimentary breakfast....this is a facility even small hotels are giving these days, not to talk of the star hotels.
Make a regular airport pick up and drop arrangement, I believe it would attract more customers.
But overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devachakra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Mahalaya Residency
#146 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Mount Residency
#88 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
NK Grand Park Hotel
#68 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#14 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
V7 Hotel
#66 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Nungambakkam
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#96 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Palace

Property: Hotel Grand Palace
Address: 257, G.S.T. Road | Chrompet, Chennai (Madras) 600044, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the NH45 highway, this conservative hotel with a classically styled facade decorated with columns is a 9-minute walk from the Chromepet railway station and 1.5 km from the Kumaran Kundram Hindu temple. The formal rooms with marble floors and traditional wood furnishings feature free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. Room service is available 24/7. A breakfast buffet and parking are complimentary. There's an international restaurant, a sports bar and rooftop dining, as well as an ornate banquet hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Grand Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing