We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

Sea Shell Residency
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Shell Residency
Ranked #208 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 10 April 2014

1. Little far to Consulate - 15 minutes walk
2. Western style breakfast - Milk, Bread. we never eat in India
3.Price little more. Nice people. Cared a lot
AC was good and hotel was good. Good for Visa going folks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Ananthayyasetty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Sea Shell Residency
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

eerie place..
soiled sheets with all sorts of stains .. argh ..
toilet not clean and had pubic hair in the toilet bowl . yuck..
all in all a nightmare .. checked in at midnight and the only reason didnt check out right away, so waited till morning and then ran for the exit first thing in the morning !!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
5  Thank Viju T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

One of the worst places I've ever had to experience ! I had booked the room for 2 days on my visit to US embassy and had booked there to check in at midnight due to late flight. The check-in was easy, but the good news ended there .. the place had a creepy look and when I entered the room, the first thing that struck me was the soiled sheets sheets with whatever stains were in there.. arrgh.. and then the toilet was worse .. it had like pubic of hair in the toilet bowl .. yuck ...
all in all it was a nightmare and still sends a chill down my spine .. the only reason I stayed that night was 'coz it was past midnight .. and had to spent the night there.. checked out right at break of dawn and luckily I got a deal on Cleartrip and so headed straight to Raintree ..

If you are thinking of saving money, think twice before booking at this place ... you will be better off if you can shell out a few thousand $s more and book some place else !..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
4  Thank vijay609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed here with my parents and children for 2 nights in this business hotel from 23rd to 25th Feb.2014 when I came to Madras for our US Visa interview. It is very conveniently located for the US visa job. Staff is very friendly and do take good care of your needs without any delay. Rooms are clean and spacious enough. It is surely a good value for money. They do not have any restaurant within the premises but runs their own restaurant a few meters away where they serve excellent dishes and my children just loved the treat . They must improve on the breakfast rather than serving just sandwiches.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anitamani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Very near to the American Consulate (walkable distance) , Compared to many hotels around the American Consulate the demand is quite high and this hotel is quite a value for money , not too fancy , simple stay for a 2 nights . We paid close to 7k for 2 days including food when compared to hotels like Palm Grove charging 13k for 2 night . If your visit to Chennai is purely for Visa purpose then staying at Sea Shell makes a lot of sense and Value for money .
Feedback to the hotel : Please paint your walls and do some work on the roof of the rooms , improve your parking space and do some more publicity . Overall quite pleasant and good service . Keep it up !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandeep_Kuppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Although the breakfast was complimentary we could only choose between veg and egg sandwich. There was no buffet. The place was good and arguably neat. Good rooms for the money. The location of the hotel is very convenient as it is close to the beach and the bus stand.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Shruthi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed there from Dec 8-Dec 9. It is an average hotel. The location is good. Walkable distance from the US consulate.

Pros: 24 hour checkin/checkout. Good staff. Good location
Cons: Need maintenance. Rooms are pretty small. The health faucet was leaking and there were no toilet rolls. Was provided one after requesting. Breakfast is just an eyewash. It included either sandwiches or bread toast and tea/coffee.
Sleep was disturbed by the loudspeakers of nearby religious establishments from 4 AM in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajeesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#92 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
307 reviews
Mount Residency
#91 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
44 reviews
GLM Meridian
#120 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Park Chennai
#48 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,603 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#13 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
343 reviews
KTDC Rain Drops Hotel Chennai
#112 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shell Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shell Residency

Address: 65 Sea Shell Residency Greams Road | Thousand Lights, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £18 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Shell Residency 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Shell Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Residency Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing