We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Business Hotel”
Review of The Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Residency
Ranked #38 of 396 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“The Perfect Business Hotel”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed in this hotel during my business trip to Chennai on 14th of October and stayed for ond night.I have stayed here even before for many occasions. The hotel is centrally located and has the right ambience for a frequent business traveller.The check out time is 24 hrs..this is very convenient.The mind set of the staff is to help the guests right from the lobby to house keeping and room service. The menu suits thd taste of the travellers and the preparation is awesome.The service speed is good and they maintain a smiling face. The rooms are well equipped with will fi connectivity and good lighting system. The breakfast is complimentary and the spread is mind bogling. If you are carrying your family also , they will not feel out of place in this hotel. Compared to all these, the room rates are right and a good value for money. I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 508, 510 are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saugata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest
Greetings!
I am extremely delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay at "The Residency" Chennai and I truly appreciate you taking time and posting your feedback on The Trip Advisor.
We look forward to your return.
Thanking you
With best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    253
    76
    19
    9
See reviews for
141
59
43
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

After staying in few other hotels in Chennai, i felt great when i went back to Residency last week. The hotel General Manager, Charles, had left a nice note for me in my room welcoming me back. He even joined for breakfast next morning which is a clear sign of "customer first" concept. I was surprised to see the changes in the room like a ipod docking station, wooden floors,few changes in the shower area and nice lamp shades. Breakfast was as usual lip smacking. Felt good to be back. Thanks guys. Keep up the good work. Suresh

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sureshdeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Mr. Suresh
Greetings!
At the outset I would like to thank you for returning back to The Residency after a long time and I am glad to hear that your stay was comfortable. I also appreciate you taking time and posting your feedback on the Tripadvisor, the measures we had taken to enhance our facilities in the room.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
With best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

When arrived at this hotel, I had to literally get down out of the car almost outside the hotel as the drive-way is packed with cars..
Looks like there was an event /function going on at the hotel and reception area was quite noisy, when I arrived...

Check-in was prompt and the room is quite nice..
On a Value for money front, this is an excellent hotel.. Ordered few drinks and dinner from room service & quality of food is reasonable..
Breakfast was quite nice and service very warm and friendly..
Charges for airport drop is quite reasonable (about Rs.600.00+)..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naresh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Mr. Naresh
Greetings!
I am extremely happy to learn that you had a comfortable stay at "The Residency" Chennai and I truly appreciate you taking time and posting you valuable feedback on The Tripadvisor.
We look forward to your return.
Thanking you
With best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I spent 5 nights at this Hotel to catch up with my friends in Chennai. Value for money. The food was excellent, especially the Fish Tikka from room service. The staff all were so helpful. The bell boys are very informative and guides you well. Very good WiFi coverage which was very useful to communicate with family.

The morning breakfast was equally good. The area the Hotel was located, is close to many eateries and shopping. If you love South Indian music, do not miss the excellent performance by a talented play back singer on Thursday Night. Make sure you make a reservation at least 2 weeks earlier, it is very packed.

I really enjoyed my stay, I felt I was at Home. Congratulations to the Team. Cheers!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muthu6820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Mr. Muthu
Greetings!
At the outset I would like to thank you for choosing The Residency as a venue to stay during your recent visit to Chennai and I am happy to know that your stay was comfortable. I shall most definitely share you compliments to my team, especially the chef. I also thank you for taking time and posting your feedback on the tripadvisor.
We look forward to your return.
With best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I was in this hotel again in July. Now I can see lot of changes in the overall approach towards managing guest(s) need. Room service was very very quick – Really was pleased to this change. Whole cycle - Right from Check in formalities to check out was very smooth. Great “ Chin Chin ” restaurant - I will say one of the best Chiness food I had ever had . Breakfast as usual was superb. In my opinion this hotel is moving from a good hotel to a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prashant1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Mr. Prashanth
Greetings!
I wish to thank you for your return to our hotel and I truly appreciate you taking time to post your valuable feedback on The tripadvisor. We have taken your earlier feedback in a positive manner and remedial measures have been taken.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
With best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Very good customer service at front desk, laundry, and restaurants. You get a free breakfast buffet with the room - has a good variety of Indian and western dishes. Eggs and dosas made fresh upon order, and served to your table by one of the many well trained wait staff.

I was there for a wedding and needed help wearing my sari - reception sent up a female receptionist to help me out!

Also, if you are traveling within India from Chennai, the hotel is willing to hold your extra luggage for you (internal flights DO charge for excess baggage!). Just remember, the hotel does not assume responsibility for your belongings so don't leave anything too important, and lock your luggage if you are concerned. We left ours unlocked and it was just fine.

The hotel's Chinese restaurant - Chin Chin - is very good.

The only downfall is that the hotel's bar draws a somewhat rowdy bunch on Friday and Saturday nights. If you are a single woman or traveling with only women, I suggest you request an escort to your room.

Room Tip: Housekeeping needs a tip BEFORE they fully clean your room. This is nothing to get upset about - jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings,

We would like to thank you for having chosen The Residency for your stay in Chennai. It was truly encouraging to read your feedback on tripadvisor. It will help us to serve you better.

Looking forward to personally welcoming you again to The Residency.

Warm regards
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

bad experience. the rooms have damp smel and feels very lousy. the smells as if not opned for years.
the tv is 15 inches and so small that actually its iritaring to watch lying at bed.
the ac gives you the temp of its choice. no matter you change it temp of your choice.
the tv channels are taken from local cable poor picture quality.

i woukd never stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jk25x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest
I have made note of your feedback on our product and I am extremely sorry for the all the inconveniences caused during your stay. I assure that remedial measures will be taken on the points highlighted by you. I am sure that you will notice remarkable changes on your next visit.
We look forward to your return.
With best wishes.
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#23 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
848 reviews
Savera Hotel
#42 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
979 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand by GRT Hotels
#16 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
892 reviews
Hotel ibis Chennai Sipcot
#6 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
382 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residency

Property: The Residency
Address: No 49 GN Chetty Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 396 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residency 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing