We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My family loved the place”
Review of Benjarong

Benjarong
Ranked #20 of 6,625 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Bangalore
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“My family loved the place”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We started with the chicken in pandan leaves. It was absolutely fantastic and just melted in our mouths. The portions was small and we mistook two plates for one. The prawns were superb as well. We followed this with the steamed fish with Thai sauce and the basil flavour just enhanced the taste of the fish. Excellent stuff. The phat thai chicken noodles were good as well but we were disappointed with the red curry with roast duck which is usually a signature dish in any Thai restaurant. Very friendly service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Coffeetrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    147
    31
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in chennai!”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

From the welcome platter to their lemon grass tea to their desserts there is simply no other place in Chennai that even comes close (except perhaps Cornucopia/Crimson Chakra).

The fantastic stuff
=============

Really everything about the restaurant is fantastic. Just to pick a few:

1. Lemon grass tea. You empty the cup, they fill it in. The only way to serve such great tea.
2. Spring rolls: Fabulous stuff. Can't stop eating them.
3. All dishes with aubergine: So much flavour, its hard to write about these.
4. Water chestnut rubies: Yum!
5. Service is friendly and quick.

The somewhat bad
==============

1. The seating arrangement can get too close on crowded days.
2. I found the service and food quality to be lower during weekends when the place is packed.

Dont miss it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lakshmivyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Awesome Thai food......”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Its one of the fine restaurants in Chennai i have been to i am quite a frequent visitor to this place for the last 2 years .The food is pretty good .. the portions are quite good and service is good .... The fish with Thai chilly sauce and basil is absolutely yum......surely would recommend this place ...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank faizi37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food but not VFM”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Benjarong for a long time used to be the only place where you could get good thai food. Have been going to the restaurant for over 6 years now, Food is still good but quality is not what it used to be. Seems to be a tad bit over priced and like all oriental cuisine group of restaurants-i do not like the service charge that has forced upon me.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HerrNinjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sikkim, India
Level Contributor
415 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Best Thai Restaurant”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Chennai's Benjarong on Alwarpet rivals the Bangalore branch on all aspects: food, variety, service, ambiance, attention, quality of food............................................................................................

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PavalikaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benjarong also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Benjarong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing