We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, best for upper middle class”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Madras Hotel Ashoka
Ranked #181 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Karimnagar, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location, best for upper middle class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

It is in a good location. I declare that all the other reviews which state of terrible traffic of mosquitoes and cockroaches are false in my view. The beds are good and clean. But many of the hotel staff are money minded. I liked my stay. The food is excellent. The cleanliness of the hotel should be improved. The only thing i disliked is that they give somewhat wet towels to the residents of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madooris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    20
    25
    6
    15
See reviews for
28
11
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Located centrally and reasonably priced hotel in Chennai, good for business traveler. We used this hotel as transit and was quiet satisfied with the room it, was 2700 all inclusive for deluxe room including breakfast which is again average and mostly of south Indian dishes. Avoid if you are planning stay with family.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikasagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
154 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 20th October 2012 to 23rd October 2012. We had taken 3 rooms as we were in group and travelling onwards to Colombo.

This is a very old hotel and the rooms are most ordinary kinds. We choose this hotel just because of location as it is very centrally located.

Rooms are very ordinary and the bed linens and pillows were also not of hi standards. Toilet was very old types and nothing much offered inside. Extra bed was horrible. It was just a soft matress kind thing which they put it on the floor and charge 600/- for that. This is not good.

Bath linens were not good quality and the next day when we asked to clean the room and when we came back towels were wet as if they just folded the same towels and kept it back.

Service was average nothing great and you can't expect very much at this property when you are paying only rs 2400 for a room inculding breakfast and all taxes.

The best part was that Buffet breakfast was excellent. Very nicely laid and a good choice of south Indian food with nice preperation.

Overall an average property but compared to rates a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanchitagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Very average place, but good value for money. The location is its best attribute. I had lunch, once - it was a typical South Indian spread. The breakfast too is similar. This was be ideal if one has work in the heart of Chennai & those looking for an economical option.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vithupar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Never stay in this hotel even if you are offered a free stay. The bathrooms are HORRIBLY maintained. The staff treat you with grim faces and are extremely rude.

Save your money and the horror, and please find another hotel!!

Room Tip: Any room with a good mattress, clean floors and at least a decent bathroom would be a blessing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RRangs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

I had earlier reviewed my second worst stay in hotel EVP Capitol promising to write about my worst.Well here it is.

This hotel tops the chart when it comes to hiring the most rude and crazy old men.Think a lineage is created since we find a similarity in the behavior starting with his highness, the Manager himself.One expects atleast the manager to be a tad courteous assuming that he of all would have had some educational background but sigh. So its like the blind leading the blind and there you have the staff of this hotel perfectly handpicked to spoil everyones moods and holidays.

Dont wanna bore you with my experiences since there are too many to begin with.So lets leave it at that.I completely agree with the previous reviewer in saying that the bunch is rude and definitely not of the same league as the staff of other hotels.

Dont think they even know how the world and other hotels have progressed and how the staff everywhere is courteous.They are still happily living in their own well.In addition to the rude behaviour,the staff is also lazy as the rooms are old and smelly and you have to make a minimum of 3-4 calls to the housekeeping and then a call to the reception (since housekeeping never arrives) to get a small thing done.

I am surprised that such a disastrous hotel has sustained itself in a metropolitan like Chennai.

Taking a room here was the biggest mistake i made.

My two cents:Go somewhere else unless you have an impulse to fight with someone as the staff here will definitely give you an opportunity for that.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

The hotel has run down. The building and the rooms are very old. It needs renovation. The rooms doesn't look like how it is presented in their website. The bathroom were very dirty and stink. The bedspread has stains and the rooms is quite smelly as well. The equipment in the room is very old as well.

The staff are very rude. We arrived late nite and the booking has been made prior to my arrival. To my surprise ,the front desk person informed that he was unaware about my reservation even after showing email confirmation from the front desk manager. It took an hour for me to settle the booking .by the time my family checked in it was nearly 2am. To add on, luggage attendees were very rude as well. They were demanding for high tips and was rude when we gave them Rs300 each.The next day those boys offered to help us to carry our luggage again when we checked out. Upon completing the task they demanded for tips and when we gave them tips they returned to us the money and asked us to keep it just because the amount was not big as they expected.


The location of the hotel was right in the heart of the city.Hence, we could not sleep to whole night as it was noisy. We could hear the auto's honking in the middle of the night.

In a nutshell, this is not the best choice of hotel in Egmore, Chennai.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1Choosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Hotel Pandian
#73 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Udipi Home
#109 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Nungambakkam
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#279 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Woodlands Hotel
#54 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#86 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Ashok Residency
#192 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madras Hotel Ashoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madras Hotel Ashoka

Property: Madras Hotel Ashoka
Address: 47 Pantheon Road | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 109

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing