We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious parking place, but should double check to getin here”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Madras Hotel Ashoka
Ranked #160 of 436 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Hi trip advisor visitors, you may wonder if you visit this place, a wide area of parking space, won't get any discounts for rooms even they are not met the least standards, the reception staff is really wonder, old people are there at reception and cash counter, may be they are supporting old people by appointing them at this age to serve hotel visitors and hotel and for their feed. Restaurant is busy always when you drive at lunch periods. Towels, bedsheets, ???, do you have a habit of bringing the towels and bedsheets, then you may visit this place, because most of the towels are seems to be very old and bedsheets are ??.. we are paying money, but we did not get a right and responsible answer from the staff / reception, when you are asking about these things, at the moment they like to down their heads and doing their job work very seriously or they return the reply within Tamil language only. I am very poor in Tamil. How to manage with them. I am not recommending any people to stay here.

Room Tip: what I have to say, If you are visiting this place with 5 vehicles then ask them to book a room othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suresh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

We were booked in this Hotel by a friend's father and we did not bother to cross check about the place considering its association with a reputed group. However, all our expectations and presumptions about the place went in flames the moment we met the hotel reception. It appears that it is being run for some charity purposes (not because of cheaper tariff but to take care of retired citizens by hiring them as its employees). We stayed there for 2 nights and starting from check in until check out we were never given a single chance to say "thanks" for any of the services offered during our stay.

Food is terrible with no taste, rooms and bathroom are small and appears to be century old ones which always reminds of cheapest lodges which one get near railway and bus stands of old Indian cities. Every single staff is there to knock on your door and salute you not because they are very courteous but to ask for some tip as if they have been appointed to take care of you! And it doesnt end here, they would insist for more if the amount is not good enough.

Every room has a sticker with "A.C. Room" written on it (as if its some danger sign) but we did not find a knob in the AC so either it had to be turned on or off but no control over it, just like rampant corruption in our country. Towels were so old and wore a deserted look as if they were miss-used some million times and had not only looked but also gave a feeling of body scratchers.

Well the only not so bad experience was the presence of a couple of old waiters in dining hall who stood there to force feed us the left over food.

Having such a huge property at such a prime location, one would wonder what is happening there and why our India is so poor by not utilising the resources.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I have to stay just for a day here.The building and the rooms are very old. It needs renovation. The bed sheet and towel given was old and has a hole in it. I called up room service and they changed it .Only you get good food. Stay is not worth value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jy0tirmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

i had lunch with my friends last week. the food is very good and tasty. the price is slightly on the higher side but anyway the taste compensates it. i like to add a small thing here. we returned a water bottle without opening but the waiter billed for that also.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natarajan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

It is in a good location. I declare that all the other reviews which state of terrible traffic of mosquitoes and cockroaches are false in my view. The beds are good and clean. But many of the hotel staff are money minded. I liked my stay. The food is excellent. The cleanliness of the hotel should be improved. The only thing i disliked is that they give somewhat wet towels to the residents of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madooris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Located centrally and reasonably priced hotel in Chennai, good for business traveler. We used this hotel as transit and was quiet satisfied with the room it, was 2700 all inclusive for deluxe room including breakfast which is again average and mostly of south Indian dishes. Avoid if you are planning stay with family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikasagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 20th October 2012 to 23rd October 2012. We had taken 3 rooms as we were in group and travelling onwards to Colombo.

This is a very old hotel and the rooms are most ordinary kinds. We choose this hotel just because of location as it is very centrally located.

Rooms are very ordinary and the bed linens and pillows were also not of hi standards. Toilet was very old types and nothing much offered inside. Extra bed was horrible. It was just a soft matress kind thing which they put it on the floor and charge 600/- for that. This is not good.

Bath linens were not good quality and the next day when we asked to clean the room and when we came back towels were wet as if they just folded the same towels and kept it back.

Service was average nothing great and you can't expect very much at this property when you are paying only rs 2400 for a room inculding breakfast and all taxes.

The best part was that Buffet breakfast was excellent. Very nicely laid and a good choice of south Indian food with nice preperation.

Overall an average property but compared to rates a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanchitagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Ambassador Pallava Chennai
#56 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
332 reviews
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#291 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
138 reviews
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#99 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Ramada Chennai Egmore
Ramada Chennai Egmore
#36 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
905 reviews
Egmore
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai City ...
#30 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
798 reviews
Hotel Pandian
#117 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madras Hotel Ashoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madras Hotel Ashoka

Address: 47 Pantheon Road | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 436 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £21 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 109

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing