We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big rooms ...”
Review of Hotel Pradhan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pradhan
Ranked #55 of 125 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Darjeeling is quite crowded place.... roads are small .. Cars and stylish bikes ..zip across this road...
Hotel is pleasant place to stay. Woke up to valley view, which is splendid..Had water shortage issues when were staying there ...We had taken 4 rooms ( 4 families .. in all 8 adults and 5 kids). Food was not to our taste so ended up in neighboring hotel for breakfast and dinner. A day later moved to Domino & CCD's & Hasty Tasty for meals.

Room Tip: not facing the road... Valley view is splendid..
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VasishtC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pradhan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

I had an extended stay at the Pradhan Hotel. I've stayed at several hotels in Darjeeling, as I have been writing a book about the place, and I can say that this hotel is among the best in terms of value for money. Some of the good things:

Views--- If you have clear weather, the views from the mountain facing rooms are simply breathtaking - few hotels in Darj can boast such unobstructed views of Kanchenjunga.
Service--- Jit, the owner, is a very friendly, sociable and helpful person. He really makes every effort to make his guests feel comfortable. Some of the junior staff might not be so professional in their approach, but they, too, are very friendly and try their best.
Rooms--- Very spacious and clean, comfortable beds with warm blankets, though the rooms themselves get a little cold in the extremes of winter.
Location--- Walking distance to Chowrasta on the one side and Peace Pagoda on the other.

You can have a great stay here without blowing your budget - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trent_Brown87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Me and my friend booked 2 rooms on top floor of Pradhan hotel, which will give you excellent view of Darjiling mountain range and town.
Hotel rooms/bathrooms are enough spacious and also very clean with a table and chairs, tv, wardrobe and warm blankets.
Also I was impressed by the interior and décor looks of the hotel because from out side it will give you the feel of modern hotel but once you go inside it will prove you wrong.

The staff and management in particular are always helpful and are there to answer your enquiries about what to do and where to go in the local area and will be more than happy to help organise any trekking, taxis or to suggest day trip itineraries.

Need to mention that, its value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor rooms..
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keds86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My two days' staying with mother and wife in Hotel Pradhan was pleasant. Well furnished warm ans specious wooden rooms, well maintained decoration and cleanliness, ready to help and co-operative staffs. Thanks to Cleartrip

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prabash Ranjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Hotel Pradhan is a classically vertical Darjeeling building located a bit out of the center of town (which is a good thing -- it's a quick walk to restaurants and shops but far enough out of it all so as to be a bit more peaceful). The room are quite large and have (or would have, depending on weather) amazing views. We stayed twice: the top floor rooms are a bit older but the windows that took up two entire walls and face Kanchendzonga were amazing. Also, these rooms are wood paneled and feel very "Darjeeling". The second time we were on a lower floor and the rooms were more modern but the windows only covered one wall (still, can't complain about a wall full of windows). The owners and staff were amazing and looked after our every need. During the season it's a bit costly, but I guess everything in Darjeeling is expensive at that time of year. Bathrooms are spotless, towels are fresh, and water from the geyser is piping hot.

Room Tip: top floor rooms are more picturesque with wood walls. Lower rooms are more modern.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pys11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jit68, Owner at Hotel Pradhan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Sir ,
We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us , Thank you for your kind words about our Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Had put up in Hotel Pradhan, Darjeeling when I went to meet my son studying in St. Paul's Darjeeling - in April, 2013. The Room’s & Bathroom’s are big and spacious and the price at which offered is attractive. Of course they offer special discount for Parents of children studying in Darjeeling. The other advantage / disadvantage is that it is on the main road although at a bit of distance from the main Mall road - which means a little more of walking. The interiors of the hotel at places has the heritage look - which gives it an attractive feel. On the whole enjoyed my stay in Hotel Pradhan.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlokChandak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jit68, Owner at Hotel Pradhan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Mr. Chandak ,
Thank you for your review and we look foward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I booked the hotel in a hurry just before reaching Darjeeling basis some of the reviews I read. I was a little skeptical having read some reviews which painted a gloomy picture. However, I am thankful that I chose this hotel. Dont go by the exterior look of this Hotel, the rooms are fabulous and very tastefully built including the decor, bathroom fittings, furniture etc. The Hotel stuff was very cordial and helpful and the owner was an absolute delight to chat with. I have travelled to far off places and as a traveller I have expereinced various type of accomodation and people and this has been absolutely amazing. Life in Darjeeling is tough and running a hotel is still tougher with scarcity of water and very limited power supply. Despite these conditions, the Pradhan's have done a good job. The Hotel is 10 mins walk from Mall and you need to inform in advance about your food requirement for the night since they dont have a running kitchen.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors offer a splendid view
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pulak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jit68, Manager at Hotel Pradhan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Mr. Pulak ,
We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us , and thank you for such an honest review.
Jit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
1.9 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pahari Soul
Pahari Soul
#9 of 125 in Darjeeling
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#78 of 98 in Darjeeling
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.6 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pradhan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pradhan

Address: 57 Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range: £19 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Pradhan 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an old an established hotel centrally located yet far from the crowd with spectacular views of the mountains and surrounding hills. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing