We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view of Kanchanjunga from the Retreat”
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Retreat
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We had planned a trip to Kolkata and Andaman. I and my wife went to Kolkata from Pune on 26th. At the last minute we had to change our plan due to bad weather in Andaman and instead opted for Darjeeling. We went to this hotel un-booked, without any knowledge and fell in love with the balcony in the executive room. This balcony offers almost the same view you get from the tiger hills. The property is new, in good maintenance, the rooms are large and comfortable, service is good. And with the view on offer, this turns out to be a good choice in Darjeeling for a medium range customer like me. The hotel is neither expensive, nor cheap, but you don't get the feeling of being robbed. So i would heartily recommend this to any new traveler to Darjeeling.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hemant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

It was a sort of a homecoming for me at The Retreat as I had stayed there before.but post the entire overhauling and refurbishments,it is now equipped to provide a most comfortbale for the Travleller and The Travleed.The Forever keen to provide warmth and goood service,selected and trained by The Manger Mr.D.P Sarkar make this place really live it up to its name. A True Retreat indeed with the most breathtaking view of the Kanchenjanga from your bed and comfort and cuisine to match anyother good hotel,stay at The Retreat is a must if you are visiting Darjeeling in the near future. Regards. Jayabrata Banerjee

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyban72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This month had a trip to Darjeeling with my family. Asked a driver regarding a decent hotel from where I can see KANCHANJUNGA, got reply The Retreat & Dolphin. After seeing I selected The Retreat. Reasons behind that a warm welcome with full Kanchanjunga from Lobby. The hotel is very closed to Chowrasta, cum&quite, no noise only the guest voice & the staff. It was a very very wonderfull stay at Retreat. Food was excelent, comfort stay & over all from every corner we had seen Kanchanjunga, from room, from restruarent while having breakfast. Staff were always with laughing faces. Cook Karma is very nice.

Room Tip: If pocket permits then please stay at Executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kolkata_avijit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Last July, I had been to Darjeeling for one day. I read about this property in this forum and so went to the place. The hotel was closed for about 7-8 months for extensive repairs and have just reopened. It is a wonderful place. You can see the entire snow clad mountain range from your room itself. I stayed in room No. 421 - you can see Mount K from the bed. after renovation, every thing was spik and span in the room, the glass front balcony and the toilet. The warm behavior of Mr. D.P. Sarkar,, their Manager, is out of the world. You would fell as if you are at home away from home. I took continental food only - it was quite yummy.

One advantage of the location of this hotel is that it is in a absolute quiet locality, yet only 5 minutes walking distance away from Mall.

Though slighly costly, I would unhesitatingly recommend the hotel to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anirban1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel is actually undergoing major renovation. According to the manager the telephone cables had got burnt in a fire in an adjacent hotel.
Rooms - small
Bathrooms - new tiling, but poor water flow from the taps .. just a trickle. Very frustrating
Because of the renovation all the floors have a lot of plaster dust. I think they should have kept the hotel closed for renovation and should have resumed only after the work got completed.
Breakfast - OK. Very limited, only toast, tea, mango juice,

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drsuniljain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

we had a worst experience in life with the kind of welcome we got from the hotel manager DP sarkar. We reached hotel by our private luxury car on 9th june 2013 at around 12 noon and we have informed Mr DP SARKAR at 9 am that we will be reaching hotel from new jalpaiguri with in 2 hrs and asked him to get the 4 rooms cleaned which were booked in month of feb2013 but when we reached there he told us to wait for half an hour and it took them 1 more hour to make the rooms ready and as soon as the room were ready the hotel persons didn't respond to take out the luggage from our cars and they don't have parking at there hotel and a police person came and challaned our vehicles for parking outside the hotel and Mr. sarkar blamed us for parking the cars there as parking car on that road was not allowed it was Mr. Sarkar duty to tell us that don't park car as soon as we reached hotel but he blamed us and talked to us in a rude manner. As soon as we checked in rooms to our surprise the hotel was not at all look like a hotel it was like dharmshala. The bathrooms dont have towels and we have to wait for towels for two hours the room service is the worst and when we used the bathroom the taps were not working properly and to our horror if we have to take a warm bath first we have to hold tap to fill warm water and fill the bucket and then hold tap to fill normal water. the bathroom dont have any proper anemities to take bath and we have four rooms booked one executive deluxe and three royal delux and all rooms have same problems. we booked room 421, 418, 419 and 434 all room were too filthy. room number 419 don't have intercom to connect to reception or room service the manager told us that we can call them by calling them by coming out of room and then scream to call the room boy as our room is just above the reception. there is no room service people all the labour who do room service. its was getting horrible minute after minute.Bathroom lock was not working for room number 419. In Night there was too much humidity there was not fan facility in hotel there are only 12 rooms in this resort and all are filthy. We asked for mosquito coil or good night the people said we don't have one but when we insisted they gave us after few minutes as we have to sleep opening the windows. The manager himself insisted us to change the hotel and told us in rude tone that please leave the hotel. We even were not satisfied by the hotel people and the next morning we left the hotel. In breakfast they don't have good food. even after promising for free complimentary breakfast of paranthas a day before by Mr. sarkar they charged us. I will ask all Tourist person visiting Darjeeling to keep away from The RETREAT. because it is an exclusive worst resort or hotel in the world even dharmshala is better to stay. I am from delhi Mr. Hemant Chaudhary.

Room Tip: don't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hemantchaudhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I have stayed there for 2 nights (6&7th June, 2013) and I had terrible experience. No power back-up in hotel, no room service after 10PM to 8AM, water blocking in washroom, no telephone in room. Overall it is a terrible hotel and I would like to request you to think twice before booking such kind of rubbish hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank parveen1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.1 mi away
Little Tibet Resort
Little Tibet Resort
#13 of 97 in Darjeeling
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 97 in Darjeeling
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#12 of 97 in Darjeeling
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krishna Service Apartment
Krishna Service Apartment
#27 of 97 in Darjeeling
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: 15 Hermitage Road | Raj Bhaban, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: £43 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laced by horizon-kissing green tea-estates and foggy hills, Darjeeling is the 'Queen of the Hills' in all its own splendour. For the world tourists, trekkers and globetrotters, Darjeeling is the gate to a tranquil world that is filled with enchanting and breath-taking picturesque beauty. The sunrise from atop the Tiger Hill is mysticism beyond compare. And who ever misses a walk to the Mall Road for some woollens shopping, or a ride on the famous toy-train that whistles its way through the greenery? Darjeeling will wrap you in its beauty, and your stay at The Retreat will make your trip more memorable. Here at The Retreat, you can see the Kanchenjunga peak from every room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing