We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard Class & Quality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Meghma

Hotel Meghma
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Meghma
Ranked #74 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Serampore, West Bengal, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Standard Class & Quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

So, Hotel Meghma was our first in list when we booked our lodging in Darjeeling. Best in quality accommodation, hospitality can be rated nine out of ten and can be rated with a 9/10 for the restaurant too. It feels more like home for their hospitality. Views from most of the rooms are awesome and the true essence of the hills can be felt. I personally give this Hotel a TEN OUT OF TEN.

Room Tip: Ask the managers, they are the best guides out there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zzojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We booked this hotel and on arrival to darjeeling we had to walk to reach this hotel with our luggage.. ufff. and as you go in, the hotel Manager in reception said no rooms are available in the main hotel.. WTH???? he directed us two building away for another lodge like building stating it is also a part of Meghma, OMG the so called lodge was under construction and as i enter the room i find a stinking restroom, a dirty stained bed and stagnated water. Hey, had a new guest in room, a stray dog. Pl stay away from this hotel.

Room Tip: search another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AishwaryaOnAStroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darjeeling hotels

New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

This hotel service is terrible. Food is also not good.(poor quality). The whole staff is very lazy and careless . Even the manager was not interested towards the guests. If we try to give them any order they don't follow them even after telling them after so many time And sometime they also argue with us.They had never give us anything on time even for a tea and coffee. Sometimes I experience that the hotel staff was mostly drunk and this gives us an insecurity .
The whole family experience was ruined because of them. I recommend you that please never go to this hotel at any cost.
To be honest all the the staff were mostly teenagers and they show a bad attitude towards the guests.i am very sorry say but they should know the meaning of "ATITHI DEVO BHAVA"

Contracted by Mr Chandrabhan & Dawa.(beware of them)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yash_sagar66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

if you are looking for pocket friendly and clean rooms this place is the right choice.i was there in december last year.service was good food are ok.location is also good and within inr 1500 you will get the best double roomm.

Room Tip: third floor room number 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deepaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

I was on a vacation with my family and booked two rooms in advance. On arrival the guy at the counter did not know that we were supposed to arrive and made us wait for good one hour. When asked about the delay, we were told that "register with someone else, who is not available in the hotel at the moment". To add on the discomfort:
1) The rooms are stuffy and smelly
2) The staff is rude and unhelpful.
3) Food and milk was unavailable
4) There is no hot water in the room. Which is necessary given the temperature.
5) The beds are so small that only one person can fit comfortably
6) In the night you will find visitors drinking alcohol with room open and making noises. So a big NO NO for a family stay.

The second day i complaint and objected on very bad service that they were providing. Despite being apologetic the guy on the reception talked rudely and told to leave the hotel if you don't like the service. The hotel staff on listening to the argument formed a union and threatened to beat us.
Mr Puroshatam who is the manager is never at the reception, but he has some ill-mannered and rowdy staff who attends to the customers in most disgraceful and unacceptable way you can ever imagine.
NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL

The very next moment i checked out of the hotel and shifted to "Hotel Fairmont" which is better located, has good rooms and the best staff with a amazing owner.

Room Tip: go for "hotel fairmount"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank aks3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JABALPUR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

Date: 06 JULY 2010
From the first instance the impression was down.Mr.Purushottam arranged a separate vehicle for us for pickup form Bagdogra Airport but the person there at Bagdogra forced us to share vehicle with one more family.

There was a strike for 2 days before we reached Darjeeling.When we order for dinner it was told by the waiter that because unavailability of things b'coz of strike we cant serve u all these (food),But the fact is that all such things were available in the market,we saw that.

in the hotel b'coz in most of the time he denied for lot of things without asking to anybody else.

The sight seeing arranged by Mr.Purushottam was good.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MANU_BHOPALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

Meghma is decent hotel to stay in Darjeeling. I stayed there with my parents (senior citizens). Mr. Purushottam is the person to be contacted. He and his colleagues were quite professional. He gave us correct information about taxi facilities and esp. the charges. Food is ok, however the service is slightly slow. Overall a good experience. The place is hardly 5-10 minutes walk from the Mall.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssuruchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
2.0 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#51 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel The Rink Heritage
Hotel The Rink Heritage
#37 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hill Crown Retreat
Hill Crown Retreat
#52 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
2.3 mi away
North Star Hotel
North Star Hotel
#38 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meghma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meghma

Property: Hotel Meghma
Address: 15 Gandhi Road,, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meghma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing