We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in to the land of clouds”
Review of Fairmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #54 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“in to the land of clouds”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed in the hotel for Two nights with my family. We had taken three rooms in the second floor, where the view was good. I will go with the pros and cons.

Pros:
1. The rooms were spacious and neat.
2. The View from the rooms are good
3. All shopping places and markets are in walk able distance
4. Hot water 24/7
5. Travel Desk available
6. All the staff were very pleasant and help full

Cons:
1)Restaurant is not available but they get food from outside for us.

To add further I would appreciate Mr.Jeff who takes good care of the Guests and for his efforts. I would suggest the hotel for all kinds of Travelers and Darjeeling a MUST SEE place in India.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank behind_the_woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    25
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
33
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my 4 nights staying with my family here at Fairmont in the month of April 2013. The view from the window was fascinating and so also the room atmosphere. The owner and the staffs were very cooperative and responsive..they always took real care of our need and requirements with smiling faces..It's precisely located in between the Mall and the Big Bazar area where most of the shops and quality restaurants are around in plenty..I visited many hotels in the Hills so far but very few of those took a space in remembrance along with the place..I strongly recommend Darjeeling as 'A Must Visit' place and Fairmont as 'A Must Stay' once and get addicted for ever.

Room Tip: Try to take the rooms facing the hills and not close to the adjacent roads for a quieter experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayantaKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arunachal Pradesh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights with my family and the stay was pleasant with clean room, washroom and functional geyser. The hotel is best for those travelling on budget. The mall is close by and also all the shopping areas and the Rink Mall.

The only minus problem was the food at the hotel as, they get the food from other restaurant. But on the brighter side, we got to eat dinner and lunch at all the different restaurant everyday.

Special mention for the manager Mr. Jeff. He was helpful and friendly. Hope everyone has as pleasant stay as ours.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshine912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed at the hotel for three days in April 2013. It is located close to the Mall and walking distance to good restaurants and shopping. The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms were big. Good for family and base for touring Darjeeling. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Binaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

The guy in the reception is okey. He speaks good english and provide quick answers to questions. Big local knowledge. Room is nice everything was working. Nice view. I can recomend without doing the wave.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelli8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Rooms are good. Geezer are available here. You can take fresh air from your room. But I had a great problem there. Some of there employees are not good. They behave badly with us. The owner being very rude with us. When I asked him to return my passport early, he said as it is Bangladeshi passport, it is useless. He has some customers who gave him diplomatic passport. He threw my passport as like my passport is useless. So I'll never ever go there again.

Room Tip: Hill view rooms are the best for travelers so that they can view the morning scene and can take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chaiti_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed in this hotel from 9th to 13th March-2013. Overall it was a good experience. Quite pocket friendly yet good. 24 hours hot water is available. Owner & all the staffs were quite helpful and friendly. They guided us for a wonderful Darjeeling tour thro' good restaurants as well as local travel tips. Room and the hotel was kept super clean all the time. Location is very good, very near to Mall and all the famous outlets like Glenary's, Keventers, Nathmull's, Kunga etc.

Only at the last day, I had a bitter experience. During check-in, I negotiated with the Manager at a rate inclusive of tax and almost everyday I reminded him and son of the owner regarding the same. However, at the very last day,they insisted that I have to pay in cash or have to pay extra. This was not professional attitude at all and somehow felt bad after all those good experience.

Room Tip: Room no. 118 - Super Deluxe is a very good room and Kanchenjunga can clearly be seen on sunny days f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soumya76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#66 of 98 in Darjeeling
95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seven Seas Hotel
Seven Seas Hotel
#39 of 98 in Darjeeling
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill Crown Retreat
Hill Crown Retreat
#85 of 98 in Darjeeling
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.4 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#17 of 98 in Darjeeling
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel

Property: Fairmont Hotel
Address: 10 Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairmont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing