We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review”
Review of Fairmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Darjeeling
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

its very good.i leave this hotel yesterday.the hotel staff is so good so polite.when i come to darjeeling i visit in this hotel again and again.its rooms are good and fit to bugged.in my point of view come and stay here its given to u pice of mind..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank pushpak m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Good place to be. Very satisfied with the behaviour of the Manager and his communication skills. He is a HM graduate. Only drawback is that there's no restaurant. Otherwise a very good place to stay. I would surely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nibirpurna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Nicely Embellished friendly surrounding for Refreshment. A great place to stay and enjoy nature with all the warmth. The hills surrounding this place is awesome.. I liked it personally n its worth giving a try....

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank durlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

First of all I would like to say that we booked this hotel at least before 15 days from the date of our arrival in Darjeeling but we received the confirmation mail only before 1 day from our departure from Kolkata even after repeatedly calling the Hotel Manager and begging for the confirmation mail.. Now when we reached the place,they immediately handed over the keys and the room was clean enough... Bathroom was also sufficiently clean with clean towels, bedsheets and blankets... The hotel does not have its own restaurant and there was no room service.. Even after we handed over the keys to the hotel manager for cleaning the room when we were busy in local sightseeing, the room was as it is with overflowing dustbin and dust on floor and bed... The TV inside the room was only for show, with only few channels and very bad quality picture and sound... We chose a view room with a view of kanchanjunga which was on 3rd floor.. The hotel manager was well behaved... In all I can say that the room was overpriced ( Rs2000/day) as compared to service and other issues...

Room Tip: choose rooms which have a view of kanchanjunga
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MADHULIMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 days.The room service is pathetic with no kitchen and restaurant in the hotel.Stinking smell from room all the time.Charged
additional for room heater.Not accepting credit card but they have mentioned the they accept all credit cards.After final payment when my family members requested to open one room for washing they didnt allow us to do so whereas all hotels in india and abroad also allow their guests to do so by giving some time to be fresh befor leaving hotel.Overall the experience is very very bad.A BIG NO FOR ALL WHO TRAVEL TO DARJEELING.Dont stay in this HOTEL.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dibbendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The positives:
1) blankets - A grade
2) bathroom - neat & clean
3) view from the super deluxe room is just ok- not as publicised
4) Room Heater - effective

The Negatives:
1) only person available most of the time on the counter was a small boy who was ready with "NO" for almost any query! Did see the manager (cum owner?) Only once during check-in!
2) all that the management was more bothered about was how to charge the guests with any given query! No attempt was made to build a rapport with the guest ( at least that is the impression I got)
3) Very strict adherence to use of heater- they charged Rs.250 for the heater to be used between 8 to 6! The guy would be knocking at your door at dot 6 am! Literally! Guys, I thought I am on a holiday! ( must be a guy from military background haan!)

Bottom line: definitely no value for money paid!

Room Tip: The super deluxe rooms are a bit livable, other rooms smell of mediocrity! Make sure that you barg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveljin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Found no issues. They offer room heaters upon request.

Used the transport provided by Hotel for sight seeing and it was good.

Its located on the main Gandhi street and is accessible to local restaurants as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArunMauraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#73 of 100 in Darjeeling
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snow Lion HomeStay
Snow Lion HomeStay
#16 of 100 in Darjeeling
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 100 in Darjeeling
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Everest
Hotel Villa Everest
#9 of 100 in Darjeeling
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel White Yak
Hotel White Yak
#24 of 100 in Darjeeling
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
#26 of 100 in Darjeeling
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel

Address: 10 Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: £15 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairmont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing