We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool & luxurious”
Review of Hotel Ratnagiri

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Ratnagiri
Ranked #62 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cool & luxurious”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The hotel situated at Mirik, is a real experience in itself. Since Mirik is only two hrs from Darjeeling, it is seen has stopover, in travel from & to the Bagdogara Airport.
But the place deserves at least two days and one night halt to enjoy its beauty. To complete the experience the stay should be at Hotel Ratnagairi. Tibetian family managed, it offers pleasant & comfortable stay. Although it does not provide food, the same is available all around

Room Tip: Top floor rooms designated has honeymoon rooms. From this rooms with huge windows, the whole Mirik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lewisfelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
7
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darjeeling, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

nice cozy wooden log rooms. very clean and warm. mr bomzon the owner a very warm person. and from rooms wonderful view of the lake. the hotel is also very reasonably priced its full value of money. guys if in mirik stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: guys take the cottage room ie an attic room with a living room in the ground floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abhimanyu a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneswar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Located at the heart of the tourist sector of Mirik,it is easy to find out.The rooms are nicely done up in a typical vibrant Gorkhaland theme with huge Picture Windows which let you soak in the beautiful vistas.The property being family run feels very very homely.The owner & his family members are very very warm & hospitable always ready to help you out with all the info you seek.
I will definitely revisit this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZaZaBoRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Ratnagiri Hotel is quite a beautiful hotel, with homey touches. The place is spotless and the owners are very friendly. Not the best place to stay in the winter, as the heaters and fireplaces were not functioning, but probably beautiful in the summer time.

Room Tip: They honeymoon suite are quite comfortable and have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arfischman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I"ve stayed at Ratnagiri Hotel several times recently and I've always been warmly welcomed by Palmu and Milan. The rooms are clear, spacious, well-kept, very nicely furnished and some of them have got a wonderful view on the small river. The owners are friendly, offering a farewell gift like a tea bag or some other "souvenirs". Tea is brought in rooms, free of charge, early in the morning to the buddhist practitionners during the retreats, a very appreciated kindness!

Room Tip: rooms at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miromiromi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I’d vouch for Hotel Ratnagiri as one of the best hotels to stay in Mirik. Its a cute little hotel tucked away in the heart of Mirik, the kind of - blink and you miss ones – but stay there and you’ll always remember it! I had visited Mirik along with my family in May 2012 and we had booked a family suite overlooking the lake & the garden. During our stay at the hotel, both Mr. Milan Bomzon & his wife had shown us great hospitality and were very kind to us. The family suite as well as the hotel is beautiful cosy, neat, clean and well maintained. Infact, Mr. Bomzon was strict about cleanliness and hence took great care to send the maid over to our room to clean it without us even having to remind him. The bathroom in the suite was fitted with a geyser and we enjoyed warm water throughout our stay. I’d call it a perfect family hotel- where you are treated like family! Coming to the best part of the hotel - was the view from the room.. its a sight to remember. I would also like to add that Mr. Bomzon is a man of his word. True to his word he gave us the room he promised me on the phone- the suite overlooking the lake and the garden. And yes there was complimentary morning tea served! So thank you Mr. Bomzon & we will be coming back to your hotel during our next visit to Mirik!!

Room Tip: Speak to the owner & be clear and precise about the kind of room you want. You'll get it, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Diana_H2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I have stayed at Ratnagiri Hotel many times over the past decade. Milan and Palmu, the hotel owners, are very kind and accommodating. They always have a warm smile and patiently attend to any requests by guests promptly. The hotel is immaculately clean, spacious and well cared for. The rooms are the best in Mirik and the prices very reasonable. I would highly recommend staying at this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CMN137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darjeeling
11.9 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
4.7 mi away
Cochrane Place
Cochrane Place
#1 of 2 in Kurseong
254 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Payal
Hotel Payal
#2 of 4 in Mirik
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sourenee Tea Estate
Sourenee Tea Estate
#1 of 9 in Mirik
76 reviews
11.5 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#66 of 98 in Darjeeling
96 reviews
11.9 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ratnagiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ratnagiri

Property: Hotel Ratnagiri
Address: Krishnanagar | P.O. Mirik, Darjeeling 734214, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ratnagiri is a family-run hotel located in the beautiful town of Mirik, West Bengal, India.At an altitude of 1,767 meters (5,800 feet) it provides a cool respite from the summer heat. Mirik is easily accessible to domestic and international travelers arriving via rail or air. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing