We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds!”
Review of Hotel Ratnagiri

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Ratnagiri
Ranked #62 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfy beds!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The beds at Ratnagiri were the best we experienced in India in terms of both comfort and cleanliness! The rooms were very spacious, clean and had hot water. The owner was very helpful and friendly. As there is no restaurant at the hotel the complimentary tea is a nice touch. There is a nice place for breakfast a couple of doors down from the hotel - turn right as you leave.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite on the top floor is a nice treat for just a few additional INR.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrNJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
7
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is family maintained and is maintained very clean . Reasonable hotel with value for money and peaceful atmosphere. There is no restaurant in the hotel, we need to go out for some other hotel for eating etc activities, otherwise good value hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for just one night to see Mirik before heading onward to Darjiling. Mirik is definitely worth the stop as it is very different from other Indian towns, even Darjeeling. We stayed on the top floor and our wooden-paneled room had great views of both the lake and the garden. One of the nicest rooms we have had during our time in India (though we have been staying budget rather than luxury options), can't fault cleanliness or friendly owners.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The hotel situated at Mirik, is a real experience in itself. Since Mirik is only two hrs from Darjeeling, it is seen has stopover, in travel from & to the Bagdogara Airport.
But the place deserves at least two days and one night halt to enjoy its beauty. To complete the experience the stay should be at Hotel Ratnagairi. Tibetian family managed, it offers pleasant & comfortable stay. Although it does not provide food, the same is available all around

Room Tip: Top floor rooms designated has honeymoon rooms. From this rooms with huge windows, the whole Mirik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lewisfelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darjeeling, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

nice cozy wooden log rooms. very clean and warm. mr bomzon the owner a very warm person. and from rooms wonderful view of the lake. the hotel is also very reasonably priced its full value of money. guys if in mirik stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: guys take the cottage room ie an attic room with a living room in the ground floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abhimanyu a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneswar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Located at the heart of the tourist sector of Mirik,it is easy to find out.The rooms are nicely done up in a typical vibrant Gorkhaland theme with huge Picture Windows which let you soak in the beautiful vistas.The property being family run feels very very homely.The owner & his family members are very very warm & hospitable always ready to help you out with all the info you seek.
I will definitely revisit this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZaZaBoRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Ratnagiri Hotel is quite a beautiful hotel, with homey touches. The place is spotless and the owners are very friendly. Not the best place to stay in the winter, as the heaters and fireplaces were not functioning, but probably beautiful in the summer time.

Room Tip: They honeymoon suite are quite comfortable and have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arfischman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darjeeling
4.7 mi away
Cochrane Place
Cochrane Place
#1 of 2 in Kurseong
250 reviews
9.2 mi away
Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort
11.9 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hill Crown Retreat
Hill Crown Retreat
#83 of 97 in Darjeeling
77 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Payal
Hotel Payal
#2 of 4 in Mirik
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 9 in Mirik
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ratnagiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ratnagiri

Property: Hotel Ratnagiri
Address: Krishnanagar | P.O. Mirik, Darjeeling 734214, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ratnagiri is a family-run hotel located in the beautiful town of Mirik, West Bengal, India.At an altitude of 1,767 meters (5,800 feet) it provides a cool respite from the summer heat. Mirik is easily accessible to domestic and international travelers arriving via rail or air. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing