We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“least preffered hotel”
Review of Valentino Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Valentino Hotel
Ranked #52 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Lucknow
1 review
“least preffered hotel”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

i don't know how indian star rating of hotels is done, seems no verification of facilities at hotel valentino,hotel is posting 3 star rating, but according to me it is a lodge, very poor amenities,smelling rooms,tea after 0730, reception advising better to take food outside, hotel is at top where no vehicle is allowed, you have to carry your bag or hire coolie to shell more 150-200 rs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Satyendra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Our family had planned a beautiful holiday trip to the hills and were taken aghast when we landed in Darjeeling at rock ville road. we were told by hotel manager that the hotel does not have an access for vehicles and that we need to climb up by ourselves with our luggage or take porters help to reach the hotel. when we contacted the porters they demanded 250- 300 rupees.

We had to climb approx 150 steps. Very narrow ,dangerous and extremely dirty approach. It was a terrible experience and spolied the mood of all of us.

My sincere advise do not book this hotel even if it is the last option. Go to some other destination if you need to do so..

Room Tip: top floor has some view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank portblair130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darjeeling hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Hotel's located about 10 storey's height from the main road & they'd send a guy to show you the way but when asked to help us carry our bags he said "you can arrange a coolie for that". So we had to climb stairs for about 10 minutes to reach the hotel carrying our luggage by ourselves. Room's normal, the blanket stinks, huge window but view blocked by a hotel in front. Toilet seat broken, geyser doesnt function, no cable connection for the TV. A total waste of money. Only good thing is the food. Oh, & there is no LAN or Wi-fi..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank tartush130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Room correct but a bit humid.
You can have plenty of hot water. Hard bed. Located in a street above the main street, which is good because you have less noise.
Staff friendly.
Only one towel for 2 people.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Aude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tezpur, Assam, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed in a Four Bed Room and the view from the room was just awesome. The room was big and very clean, just gave me the feeling of my bed room. Hotel staffs were very good but cold water disappointed me as the geezer was not working. Over all it was a Good Stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iambagri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalyan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

This was one of the best hotels i ever saw in darjeeling.
A great place to stay if you have a big family.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fonzie1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2009

good hotel... very good food ... nice view of kanchenjungha on a clear day

Stayed January 2006, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank musafir_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
1.5 mi away
Hill Crown Retreat
Hill Crown Retreat
#85 of 98 in Darjeeling
77 reviews
2.2 mi away
Seven Seas Hotel
Seven Seas Hotel
#39 of 98 in Darjeeling
36 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#67 of 98 in Darjeeling
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ivanhoe House
The Ivanhoe House
#44 of 98 in Darjeeling
31 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
1.6 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#16 of 98 in Darjeeling
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentino Hotel

Property: Valentino Hotel
Address: 6, Rock Ville Road, Darjeeling, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing