We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean,Comfortable and excellent meals in Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kurseong Tourist Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kurseong Tourist Lodge
Ranked #30 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Clean,Comfortable and excellent meals in Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Still not sure why we stayed in Kurseong as there is not a lot to see !!
The Lodge is a Government owned enterprise.
Rooms look over the valley below and are very light and airy...bedding is comfortable and hot water works fine.
Is close to the main shops area of Town and in fact the same Road.
Had lunch at Cochranes Hotel while here but it is some distance from the Town.
Meals in the Restaurant were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    44
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
16
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
376 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stopped here on the way up to and on the way down from Darjeeling to use the toilets (reasonable) and to get a cup of tea (which was good). A cup seemed to cost the same as a pot (for two). It was about half way to Darjeeling from Bagdogra – it is barely disability friendly. Advertised prices seemed to be cheap.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
194 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

On our way from Bagdogra Airport to Darjeeling, we stopped here for lunch and a beer. Food we had - Rice, chicken momo and chicken curry was delicious. So was the Dansberg beer. Very reasonable and smiling staff. Great views if you choose the tables near the cliff. Highly recommend the place for a quick bite. Never stayed here so dunno about the rooms...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinn_2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Nicely located on the main road. Rooms are clean and cozy. Geysers proved in rooms. Room heaters provided in superior rooms(with balcony). It was extremely comfortable in the room even during the last week of December 2012. Restaurant is attached but quality of food is average. Food is a bit costly. It is better to stay at Kurseong than at Darjeeling which is heavily crowded during tourist season.

Room Tip: Go for rooms with balcony (costlier ones)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arindam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Been to Kurseong for work but once you are in a hill station it is always a pleasure after work. Stayed in Kurseong Tourist Lodge for the first time. Your stay in Kurseong totally changes if you stay here compared to other hotels in the market place. The location is fantastic, just away from the hustle bustle of the marketplace. The staff is quiet friendly and helpful. Majority of the interior work is done by wood/equivalent feel. The rooms are nice with a balcony overlooking the majestic Himalayas. The food is good though there was not much variety but its acceptable.
Bed was clean and comfortable and it wasn't stinking in the damp cold weather. There was room heater and hot water available all the time.
A nice experience and in Kurseong it is the best.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nathuspeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We had lunch in the restaurant both during our onward journey and return journey. Excellent food - Momos were very well prepared also the fried rohu fish was very good. Very good eating place for any traveler. At the same time, it is very moderately priced restaurant.

Room Tip: Momos are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SPMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stopped for late lunch en route to Darjeeling. There is a restaurant and cafe here. There is also a nice nursery. We ordered a plate of veggie momos. They were served steaming hot and and it was so delicious that we ordered one more plate! The tea here was great too! Would recommend this place for food.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2pence_worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darjeeling
5.2 mi away
Cochrane Place
Cochrane Place
#1 of 1 in Kurseong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
14.0 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hill Crown Retreat
Hill Crown Retreat
#50 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#12 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
14.3 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#52 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
14.1 mi away
Snow Lion HomeStay
Snow Lion HomeStay
#20 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurseong Tourist Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurseong Tourist Lodge

Property: Kurseong Tourist Lodge
Address: P.O.: Kurseong, Darjeeling 734203, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Also Known As:
Kurseong Tourist Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing