We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Star Hotel
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Surat, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel in first week of may for 2 days along with my family. Rooms were good in size with basic amenities.manager Mr Hari arranged a nice local tour with good vehicle.Next day we checked out early morning and to our surprise he arranged packed veg sandwiches for our journey towards Airport.Food was quite good with north Indian taste.They even arrange buffet dinner for guests with affordable cost.worth a look in Darjeeling as its location is also near famous chowrasta.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ErShashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
33
20
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Satisfied with Overall hotel experience. Hotel rooms are good and got a kanchenjunga facing view(303,304) as expected.

Service of the staff is really nice and rooms are pretty clean. Washrooms are not that big to get the feel of high class hotel.

Two Cons - Food quality is not upto the mark and location of the hotel is very poor. It is way below the mall road in a ultra congested HD lama road.

Better options - Hotel sonar Bangla(Robertson Road), Central Heritage

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelReview86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The rooms are average sized with a small tv and very basic, they are not cleaned properly, nor is the bathroom which began to smell pretty badly before I left as there was no ventilation and the stagnant water probably didn't help, the towels too were disgusting but were replaced with new ones by the end of my stay, and despite paying such a huge amount for the room -2500rs - they DO NOT INCLUDE A HEATER in the price for the odd days it is really cold. The location is 10 minutes walk from the main Mall Rd uphill so you better be fit as you will be going up and down all day. There are plenty of other hotels that are the same but for far less money and closer to the main tourist area - for example Pineridge is actually right in the Chowrastha (main square)and is only 1200 per night, and if you walk only a few minutes up from the Mall road immediately you get lots of new and old hotels with rooms from 100 - 1500 rs. If you want a spectacular view of the mountains Birds Eye Lodge is 15 mins walk uphill and has the most breathtaking views of the mountains for only 600-1000rs and though the room is smaller it is newly decorated and perfectly comfortable with its own small bathroom - no heater here either though but at these prices I wouldn't complain.
PLUS POINTS ARE FEW: The hotel cook is good and very helpful about making food the way you like it and quite tasty too. The boys are smiley and helpful too and help out with minor things if you ask them too.
Biggest reason I would not go again though is the very rude and frankly nasty manager who spends all his time sucking up to the tour operators who bring lots of Bengali & Bangladeshi families to the hotel and most likely line his pockets too. Other than these people he doesn't care about the hotel or the residents - just one example was when I had asked the receptionist to book me a taxi the following morning and despite reminding her she forgot which I kind of expected so I politely asked the manager to get me a taxi in the morning and he rudely told me that was not their job and that he wasn't interested in helping me. The taxis stood right outside their front door, and I had seen him doing it for the tour families. He was a horrible man, but more importantly just didn't care about the people staying in the hotel or what they thought as the hotel gets filled by the tour operators..

Room Tip: If you still choose this hotel then the rooms at the back are quieter as they overlook the town belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank farahdiba76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darjeeling hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

pros:
1. really good and big room.
2. excellent view from the bed, of the mighty himalayas.
3. on time and dedicated room service.
4. hot water available always, be it the geyser(24 hrs available, except in cases of loadshedding) and almost always hot water available for drinking( since the normal temp mineral water is quite cold).
5. airy rooms with proper amenities.
6. very very helpful and cooperative staff, from the managers to the attendents.
7. regular cleaning of rooms and not so costly laundry service.

cons.....
1. narrow, congested and wornout approach road which can make a very bad 1st impression.
2. worn out carpets at places with torn matress cover, well hidden though, with laundry cleaned bed sheets.
3. not so good food, just average with very very little variation.

USP::::::::::::always smiling staff and always ready to help.
also, the entire travel was planned and arranged by mr.hari prasad yadav and the cars provided were not only well maintained and in perfect conditions, the drivers were excellent. not to forget, the total trip transport cost is quite cheap and reasonable.

Room Tip: have a talk with Mr. Hari or Mr.Navin. not only will they help you but they would also guide you pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spandan030506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chittagong
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our room was spacious. good enough for two. the bathroom was EXTREMELY COLD due to the marble flooring and walls. the view from the room was spectacular. Got a glimpse of Mt. K during our second day only ;(
overall i would rate this hotel a decent 3 stars. would return again.

Room Tip: Facing Mt. Kanchenjunga. higher rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masum k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

When we entered the room it was not a pleasant feeling. Washrooms were not clean, we had to call the attendant and get it cleaned again. Flush tubs were leaking, bed linens were not clean. We asked for fresh linens again but that was also not clean. The rooms are mutli cornered as if the there was no space for a good room to construct.
But when we came to dining hall the picture was different, nice music, fresh food nice ambiance. I would rate this as just an average hotel with minimum facilities. But the food is good.

Room Tip: We had booked it through travel agent. Please make sure that while booking the hotel selected with g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravinn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had a horrible exp in Pelling for Hotel. But this is one is exceptional. We had sigh of relief once we entered in the room.

Big is Size. Neat and Clean. Perfect Bed. Window is large of Mirror with eye catching view of Darjeeling.

Food at its par. Service absolutely Good.

I can bet again on it.

Room Tip: Go for 4th Floor Rooms for excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVDarji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Hill Crown Retreat
Hill Crown Retreat
#83 of 97 in Darjeeling
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#17 of 97 in Darjeeling
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
CHAS Sanderling Hotel
CHAS Sanderling Hotel
#35 of 97 in Darjeeling
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.9 mi away
Seven Seas Hotel
Seven Seas Hotel
#40 of 97 in Darjeeling
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Property: North Star Hotel
Address: 11, H. D. Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — North Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing