We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel”

The Orchid Dining Room
Ranked #23 of 111 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Price range: US$9 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Elgin is the oldest heritage hotel in Darjeeling, built in 1887, the hotel has an afternoon tea lounge and an outdoor garden gazebo serving a selection of fresh leaf Darjeeling teas & an entire afternoon tea menu, while drinks and cocktails are also served in the cozy Timber Bar. The Hotel also does set breakfast ,lunch and dinner buffets and table service at the Orchid Dining Room of the hotel . There is also live music in the evening at dinner time in the Orchid Dining Room.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

my tour group stayed here for 2 nights.
Beautiful settings.
very classic, British style. nice nice.
Lovely garden.
Clean room.
Good food.
Good staff. always smiling and helpful.
WIFI spot a bit odd though.
We need a twin room but when twin room was not available, the staff were willing to arrange an extra bed for me. quick action. heater was mild but my friend still got respiration problem. dry air can easily makes her cough. I got a very dry throat too though i had already put a cup of water on the ground at night. We are not used to dry air made by heater.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cchiuching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

We arrived there just after getting married. We reached to Bagdogra airport and the remaining things Elgin did for us. Pick up and a warm welcome at hotel. Sight viewing and all..beautiful hotel and all polite and professional staffs.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashutosh11jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
525 reviews
464 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
“Good Food, Better Service, Best Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed at the Elgin for 3 nights, Since our package was MAP I had my breakfast & dinners here. The Dining room and bar lounge were classy & the buffet dinner was an excellent experience and the food was excellent in taste.The buffet dinner included a choice of best tea's to be had. The tomato soup was the best I have ever had in my lifetime, The Chinese food was not as good as Indian. The service was excellent. The relatively less items in the buffet was compensated by giving flexibility to recommend additional dishes which they made to order, In all an excellent experience

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ShreyasMalkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“High tea fun time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We visited the Elgin for high tea (unfortunately the rooms were a tad out of our price range!). Whilst the high tea was nothing like the high tea you would expect in the UK, for a mere £3.50 or so one cannot complain. The surroundings were lovely and we felt really welcome, perfect if you feel like an afternoon of luxury!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattbor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed for 4 days in 2010. We got the attic room which was stunningly beautiful. It felt like a tree house. Room had great views of the mountains. Food was average and so was service. The hotel lacks a spa which would be an excellent facility to have. Bar is a nice place to sit around and read during the day and have a drink in the evening - very English design! There is a certain old English Charm about the Elgin which we fell in love with.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwaystrue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Orchid Dining Room also viewed

Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 
Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 

Been to The Orchid Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing