We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, but poor service”
Review of Travellers' Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers' Inn
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
275 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice view, but poor service”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We travelled around Christmas and at that time it was very cold. We were provided with a mini electric heater since there is nowhere a heating to find. The service is ok, good view to the Kanchenjunga

Room Tip: Get away from the Indian tourist, who are always loud and noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zwillingsseele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    14
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
21
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel is situated away from the touristy part of Darjeeling, though can be reached fast and easily by foot.You pass interesting bars and shops, which you would miss otherwise. It is also situated in a calm road less traffic on the upper part of Darjeeling.

The terrace will give you stunning view to the himalayas especialliay to the Kanchendzonga. Take time to have a cup of darjeeling tea, and enjoy the overview to Darjeeling city and the Himalaya at once.

The sanitary facilies was a catastrophy. Its so tiny, that you don't feel taking a shower, you need to stand almost on the toilet. The wash bassin was leaking. Food was awfull, better you eat outside after having a delicous cup of darjeeling tea.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoschiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darjeeling hotels

Geraardsbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed 5 nights in november 2013...and enjoyed it!
A warm welcome with darjeeling tea,
We recieved a nice and clean 'wooden room' with view on the mountains. We had hot water all the time. Breakfast was different every morning and on requests were no problem at all.
As in november the nights get cold, extra blankets were foreseen (nice!).
The location of the hotel is in a quiet area (where most international travellers stay). Only little remark is that the entrance does not look very inviting (ordinary door saying 'open').
Price/value (midrange) was absolutely ok for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the mountains at the end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokata,West Bengal,India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Its a basic hotel. I like its 'away from crowd and noise' location in particular. The staff is friendly. Service is poor. Breakfast and meals are served on request, but again do not expect great quality or variety. The view from the terrace and their restaurant value enough for me and probably that is why I keep going back. Walk down to the chowrasta (mall) is less than 10 minutes. Advice would be to eat out as there are plenty of restaurants available downtown.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms facing the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandakphu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

i stayed here on 14th june 2013 with 7 families. we were 14 adults and 13 children. first of all they could not provide us hot water with in their time period.on every request staff said that one phase is not available and we are on genset. on second day i suffered with the same problem.
we arrived from mirik and our cloths was wet due to rainy so we put them for dry condition. we gave room key on counter and said them to clean it. but when we came back from sight seen then owner was aggressive for us due to cloths and do misbehave with us. we told them that we did not use their water for washing our cloths only put our cloths for dry. but he was not agree and use poor langauge with us. the owner said that they buy every drop of water with money. its not good for a good hotel. i heartly request the travellers that please do not stay in this type of poor hotel u can also trape in the owner's bad behave.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkbhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellersInn2012, Manager at Travellers' Inn, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
The above mentioned review is not at all correct. The actual is nothing but something else as noted below.

It is needless to mention that how we run & manage our hotel by purchasing water everyday due to the acuteness of water in Darjeelling.

It was just due to we removed all clothes (about 5 buckets) they washed and kept for drying on the sofas, lamp-sheds, curtain-rod/pelmets & few by hanging rope inside the room, inspite of our several repeated request, from the time of their check-in, not to misuse water by washing clothes which they wanted for. It was also noticed that the tap kept opened in one of their room.
And the matter was brought to their notice (without arguing) when they came back from sight-seeing and enquired about their clothes.

In fact, we did no wrong rather took out all the clothes and kept on the roof-top for drying and handed-over the same as dried-up & folded and asked for a token amount as a service charge.

And, as far as our owner concerned, he hardly comes and get involves himself in this kind of petty issues.

Kindly collect our other reviews so far given by all other guests which would not only speak for itself but also justify this. Also the same would help us for ranking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel Dec 2012, for 2 nights. They provided a heater on request, which did make the room a little warmer. However, I still needed to wear my thermal top, longjohns and even beanie to bed the first night! As it was up the hill from town, and so cold, we elected to eat in - no heating in the dining room made for extremely uncomfortable dinner and breakfast times, although the dinner food was fine - not so much the set breakfast, which consisted of a sandwich one morning.
The staff were friendly and obliging however, and the views from the hotel stunning.
Only 10 mins walk down to the town, anad 20min back up.

Room Tip: A room further down the corridor, so that it does not adjoin the dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keep_positive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Very very bad experience. We went in group of 13 peoples. What ever they have written on their web page, all are wrong. We have booked 6 rooms (double) they have provided us only four and no refnd for rest of two rooms. They all doing DADAGIRI in their hotel. Poor servises. Housing keeping is once per week that to only for room. No housing keeping for washrooms till your stay. Every time they doing dada giri. Inspite of Delux hotel this is below teh standard level hotel. I strongly recommend not to stay in this hotel. Even no security is their for you as well as for your luggage. Some items are stolen from our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajay2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.8 mi away
Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#67 of 97 in Darjeeling
95 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ivanhoe House
The Ivanhoe House
#44 of 97 in Darjeeling
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Rink Heritage
Hotel The Rink Heritage
#64 of 97 in Darjeeling
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nirvana
Hotel Nirvana
#23 of 97 in Darjeeling
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers' Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers' Inn

Property: Travellers' Inn
Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Road | Near TV Tower (Mall Road), Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travellers' Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is very close to the Mall and shopping areas, overlooks uninterrupted view of Mt. Kanchenjunga and Singalila range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travellers' Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing