We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel
Ranked #63 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel”
Reviewed 27 December 2009

The hotel is really nice: very clean, spacious rooms with great views over Darjeeling and cozy beds (the only minor imperfection: the carpets should be renewed). The staff is super friendly and helpful and even provide you with hot water bottles (the nights can be very cold). The location is perfect for restaurants, shopping and sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ivylee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    43
    25
    14
    30
See reviews for
58
46
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

The staff at the Bellevue are friendly and charming and go out of their way to help. We were picked up from the station even though our train was very late. They provide advice and guides for treking trips.
The hotel is in a great position just off the Chowrastra and the lovely, spacious rooms have fantastic views.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank springvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We booked this place from UK and e mail communication was very efficient and we received a warm welcome on arrival. We had a very big room, well appointed and as it was cold during our stay we were grateful for the extra blankets and heater which arrived within 5 mins of request!
Lovely views from room and we enjoyed meals and breakfast in the conservatory and on the balcony. We have seen the kitchen where meals prepared and it met our high standards! Great location, we enjoyed the walks in the mornings and had many cups of tea and delicious cakes at Glenarys. The chalet building is lovely, true Raj style and easy to imagine previous occupants enjoying these wonderful views. Nothing was too much trouble for the Siddartha and his wife and we wish them well. Hope they don't miss the UK too much!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Indiafile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

I recently had the great pleasure of staying at the Olde Main Bellevue and meeting its owner, Mr. Gyaltsen The staff were very helpful and the room was very comfortable and extremely clean. It's right at the Chowrasta, and has great views. You can't go wrong staying there. Also, Glenary's restaurant is good and is close by.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DCJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Staying at the hotel was a good experience in all. The chalet wing wing suite we stayed in was big and comfortable and the room and toilet were clean. The view was great. The frontdesk people specially Pritam were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is bang on the Chowrasta and we could walk down to the mall whenever we felt like it. There's no question of noise as no traffic is allowed in the mall area. It was also a safe place to stay in with young kids. Only disadvantage was the hotel did not have its own restaurant, but they do bring in food for you from a caterer who is on contract. And there is no dirth of eating places the moment you step out. The maintenance of the place could be better, but we came away feeling happy we stayed there. If you are looking for somthing swank, this hotel is not your cup of tea.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wanderworld13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddhartha412, Owner at Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2010
Thank-you! Spot-on! Very honest and very helpful for us to manage expectations!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treehuggerjms
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We organized a trip for 55 people to come to Darjelling. Most had never been to the mountains before so it was a real experience. The staff were wonderful from start to finish. They were able to help orgainze so much of the trip even before we arrived via email communication. Very professional and so wonderfully helpful. I wasn't sure how easy it would be to arrange a week long trip for so many people but they helped to make it easy and everyone was able to enjoy a wonderful holiday together!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank treehuggerjms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We traveled by Motobike, an old Enfield Bullet coming from NJP. We were welcome very friendly, they fund a small closed place for the motobike and a very nice old fashoned room for us. Its seems for us to go back to the beginning of the 20th century, like an old gentelman and an old lady, walking on old wooden floor, observing the tea plantation far in the mist... a magic place. The hotel staff was helpfull and we feel like with friends. An unforgettable moment.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marc_pondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.9 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#67 of 98 in Darjeeling
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#17 of 98 in Darjeeling
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill Crown Retreat
Hill Crown Retreat
#83 of 98 in Darjeeling
78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel

Property: Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel
Address: | The Mall, Chowrasta, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing