We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Services needs to be improved.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Rishyap
Ranked #39 of 124 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Services needs to be improved.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I visited this hotel alongwith my family on 19 th May,2014 to 20 th May,2014 for a holiday.
This hotel was earlier owned by Sonar Bangla Hotel and now has been handed to someone on lease basis. Please do not expect so much from these kind of remote located holiday destinations.

But the quality of making food by the staff is very poor and unhygienic. The local syndicate car owners will charge you Rs. 700-800 for a 6 kms upward journey from Lava !

Geyser facility which is highly expected is not available ! Hot water can be given for bath after 30 minutes.

The hotel don't have experienced management to handle tourist expectations and to feel up basic needs . So many kind of flying insects starts coming in the evening, for which the management must use some pesticides.

Instead I must say that the place is like heaven. Nature speaks here. Clouds touches you and so many kind of unknown beautiful birds will fly before you and the price of food is normal.

Room Tip: Top floor Room Number-1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sumit777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Howrah, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have a very nice experience to stay here. The best part of the hotel is its position. If weather is clear you can view Kanchenjunga from bed through its windows covering the entire front of the room.
Rooms are clean and spacious. No geysure in rooms but whenever required hot water will be given to you in bucket. Food was tasty. Staffs are helpful. I must recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: All rooms in 1st floor are recommended . Among them Room No. 4 is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debasis_lovefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Its a very nice hotel to stay with family. However rooms are not that much spacious but quality of service & food is too good. One shud try Fish tikka for regional flavour.
If the hotel had been more spacious , it wud have been one of the best in darjelling overall rating. Courteous & time bound service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preet8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We reached rishyap one cold december evening, after driving many a mile. The last few km of the road is really very bad. Steep gradients over dusty and rocky terrain. We had no reservations, but looked around and saw many hotels, some with great views and some not. Then we saw this hotel with a large courtyard in front with a panoramic view of the himalayas from everywhere.
The rooms were decent. cozy wooden rooms with windows covering the entire front.you can just relax in the rooms and watch the changing hues of the snow as the sun sets. Facilities are limited but we got adequete service from the two hardworking boys. Whenever we wanted something, we just leaned over the veranda and shouted "somnath" or "achintya" and either of them would appear and cater to our needs. Food was ok, but a bit spicy( maybe to beat the chill !), hot water was available.
Falling asleep at night, watching the snow covered peaks glowing in the moonlight is something to remember..

Room Tip: Go for the 1st floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hris11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We went to Rishyap from Pedong. The last mile to Rishyap is really the last mile before end of Universe. There is virtually no road available and our vehicle had to negotiate the steep rocky village road. But, once you reach the hotel, it is pure bliss in front of your eyes. The hotel is very basic but it has the greatest vantage point in Rishyap. See the photos to understand what I mean. Rooms are good and maintained. No running hot water but a boy will come running with hot water when you want. When we stayed in September, there were no other guests, and we got some extra special treatment. For a few extra bucks, you can get a bonfire arranged and local village chicken cooked by them. Whatever the loss in amenities, you will be compensated with the grand early morning view of the Himalayas from your room. Rishyap is ok for a night stay only as there is nothing other than a few hotels, not even a local cigarette shop. Please remember to carry all personal toileteries / medicines etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SGangopadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Rishyap, as a tourist spot is still not fully developed. There are very few hotels and less no. of tourists visit the place. WE stayed there during first/second week of January. The property is moderate - there was shortage of water, no gayser but rooms were OK. Specially Room Nos. 1 & 2 were specious and well maintained. From these two rooms, the views of Mt. Kanchenjhanga is simply awesome. Since that was off season and far too cold for average visitors, choice of food was rather limited. In winter, you can not survive there unless you are provided with room heaters and they chage fancy hiring charges.

Room Tip: Room Nos. 1 & 2 offer best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anirban1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The Hotel "SONAR BANGLA" is an average hotel with good service and delicious food. I visited Rishyap with my husband and daughter early this year. The hotel staff are well behaved and soft spoken. The food is very good especially, the 'Aloo Paratha'. The first floor rooms provide a mesmerizing view of the Himalayas The maintainance of the hotel is poor and moreover there is shortage of water also. As far as, cleanliness is concerned, it is moderate. The open courtyard in front of the Hotel provides you with an excellent ambience of the Himalayas. Though Rishyap is an excellent tourist spot it is still not well-developed .....as the roads leading to Rishyap are not properly developed.

Room Tip: Always avail first floor corner rooms, on the left- hand side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dipanjanaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darjeeling
11.6 mi away
Kalimpong Park Hotel
Kalimpong Park Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kalimpong
112 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
12.0 mi away
Summit Barsana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#66 of 98 in Darjeeling
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kanchan View Tourist Lodge
11.6 mi away
Deolo Cliff Eco Resort
Deolo Cliff Eco Resort
#40 of 65 in Kalimpong
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonar Bangla - Rishyap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonar Bangla - Rishyap

Property: Hotel Sonar Bangla - Rishyap
Address: PO Lava, PS Kalimpong | Rishyap, Darjeeling 743191, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing