We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could be a great place to stay - if only they made the effort!”
Review of Hotel Tower View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tower View
Ranked #66 of 125 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

We paid 500 for one of the downstairs rooms (after trying a lot of other places) - the room was a fair size and the view fantastic but it's too cold and damp! We stayed one night - contrary to the other reviews you can find cheaper, it's just that the rooms can be equally rank! We stayed in 3 places and found this to be the worst of all. I hate to leave a bad review because the food was good and the people running the place were really nice. They need to review their prices or up their game - I could imagine this place being so much better! The sheets are dirty, the shower unuseable, the toilet barely flushable and it's very damp.
If you arrive in darj without booking ahead (as we did) you'll be tired, either find somewhere cheaper and accept the grot or find a cafe to leave your bags and systematically cruise the hotels - we found a nice place near the station but it's down a few lanes and with empty rooms they dropped their price from 2000 to 600 - the extra 100 took us a world away from the grot and the damp at tower view.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

If youre on a budget you wont find cheaper. Sure the place is a bit dirty and the hot shower lasts for 2mins and the service is rubbish. But 450 for double room and really cheap breakfasts isnt bad.
Overall we were satisfied with what we recieved for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We arrived late in Darjeeling and took this room as we wanted somewhere to sleep for the night but left the following morning.

It was recommended in the Lonely Planet, don't know why? The room was dark, damp and full of spider webs and the sheets had stains on them!

For 400 rupees, it was a rip off and I wouldn't advise anyone to stay here unless you are absolutely desperate.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomHPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I hated it! The sheets were grubby, there seemed to be plenty of water running down the walls, but not proper plumbing. The room was abuzz with insects and the service was lousy. It can't be called 'hospitality'. But the views were wonderful, so maybe next time I'll sleep on the terrace.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentishguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Had to stay in Tower View because other hotels were full, but the hotel sadly couldn´t stand up to the standard of other accomondations in that price category. It was cold, wet, had dirty sheets and was very noisy. The walls were like paper and because you couldn´t close the windows properly the doves waked us up at 4 am.. Because of that we were able the take the most beautiful pictuers of the darjeeling morning, but still..

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aHa_India_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Hotel Tower View is the first budget option for all backpackers arriving in Darjeeling. A great meeting point for like minded souls, the efficient restaurant is a great place to hangout over views of Kanchenjunga or browse through books on the shelf. The only negative is that the hotel is terribly damp. The dormitory especially is like a dungeon and the downstairs rooms just slightly better. Plumbing is a bit dodgy as well. But the prices are unbeatable and total value for money. If you are short on cash this is definitely the hotel to head to. It's at one of the highest points in Darjeeling and requires a 15 minute steep trek up the steps and slopes to get to from the market, but the view from hotel restaurant and rooms is worth it.

Room Tip: try to get a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vishalpipraiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mktamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
2.3 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 99 in Darjeeling
355 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pahari Soul
Pahari Soul
#8 of 125 in Darjeeling
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 99 in Darjeeling
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 99 in Darjeeling
552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#71 of 99 in Darjeeling
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tower View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tower View

Address: TV Tower, Dr. Zakir Hussain Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range: £8 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tower View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing