We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisiting Darjeeling”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Darjeeling Tourist Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I can't remember how many times I have been to Darjeeling. She is indeed the queen of Hills - my first love. Though our tour this time was marred with clouds and rains, but still Darjeeling has her own charms. This Govt. tourist lodge (main building) retains all the old world charms. The Bar, the Restaurant, the Corridors, the Doors and the Rooms - everything has the old magic. The lodge is situated within stone's throw distance from the market and the mall. If you are travelling with family or friends and in no great hurry for sight seeing, then this is the ideal place for you. Requested the front desk to show us the rooms in the new building, which they obliged. But must say the new building is like any standard hotel - just OK. Food is good but not very good. Toilets are very big but tiny insects come in during night time (they don't disturb you but...). As you check in to your room, the orderly provides you with hot and cold drinking water, soap and towels and then just disappears. No matter how many times you ring the bell, you will not be able to get any one. You even have to carry your own luggage into and out of your room. Room service is absolutely NIL. But again it is a very very good place to stay and that is it. Better have your food outside.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are bigger. If travelling with elderly people or people having difficulty in climbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aami_ek_Jajabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

The lodge consists of main and annex building. The main building is costlier than the annex, so the rooms.The main building have bigger, cleaner and luxurious rooms. I have attached the annex building room view as there was none in the internet. At present, the property is good but it needs more attention. Anyway, regarding DTL, it is best in its class in Darjeeling to stay.

The Location is the best in Darjeeling but the food charges and the quantity is not although the quality of the food and specially TEA is outstanding. The food charges is too much including the tax. Why WBTDC think that 4 nos Puri and curry/ @ piece toast with butter and jam as complimentary breakfast can satisfy all the customers? If you take one extra plate, It costs Rs 80/- + 19.5% tax. There is no value-for-money feelings as far as the restaurant of DTL is concerned except tea.

Another thing, I am a regular visitor in WBTDC lodges and the additional charges, which they charge at spot as luxury charge, service charge, service tax etc., should be included in the room charges directly at the time of booking except the extra bed charges and which room we are booking ( Room number , at least the floor number) must be clearly specified at the time of booking. Now-a-days, nearly 20% is being charged additionally. The tourist should be given a fair chance to compare different hotel charges and other facilities such as room view, restaurant facilities and costing etc. Public, who do tours regularly to refresh themselves, will definitely do actual expenses which in turn develops the local economic condition, but they should not feel cheated.

Room Tip: Main building rooms are really costly at season including all the additional charges. If you have ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tushar_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

best location in darjiling. near the market and peaceful place rooms are good one can see Kanchenjunga from hotel garden itself.rooms are ok. I lost my iphone in the same property.better to stay in old building then new one

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amitshah1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

though the location is prime,but d place lost its attraction.annex.building ll soon become condemned as its terrace.no lawn /balcony in annex building.room service poor,water contain visible impurities.main building rooms are better. mobile towers r on rooftop in both d building.only advantage is its a cool place in prime location .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank suparnadatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

While in Darjeeling, instead of trying a modern Star studded hotels, try this colonial hotel. excellent location overlooking the Kanchanjunga range and a panaromic view of the valley, a lawn outside your room, large rooms, very good service, very reliable staff, good food, breakfast included, close to chowrasta, Mahakal temple and St Andrews church, Rajbhavan, Mile road etc. A coolie or a taxi takes app 100-150 Rs from taxi stand.
Tariff is in the range of 2200 Rs in the main building and app 1100 in the annexe building. i recommend the main building. it is very good.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms give you access to the lawn and sun basking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Himanshuray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The best view of Kanchengungha from Darjeeling. Good service. Good food value. Overall value for money. Well behaved staffs. From ground floor room you can directly go to the garden. And from 1st and 2nd floor rooms you can get excellent view of Kanchenjungha. Every room has attached balcony also.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SudipBhattacharyya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I would say it best due to several reasons, that I will come across a bit later.
First let me tell you, Darjeeling, Digha and Puri are the 3 places, I never plan in advance.
Once I get a break of 4 days, I normally go to these places to relax.

This is the 5th time in Darjeeling and I booked Darjeeling Tourist Lodge online as I planned just 1 week ago. So, no option to do some early research on this Lodge.
The tariffs are comparatively high. First 2 days I got a room @220 + tax and last day @3100 + tax.

Now back to the review -
The location is just 3-4 minutes drive from Mall Chowrasta. It's on upper Mall.
Walking distance from Mall is about 10-12 minutes.

The reception is just superb and very responsive. We have a room on the 1st floor on 1st 2 days and last day at top floor (2nd floor)

Rooms are quite big and spacious. The wooden floor gives you a kind of different flavor. A small 8.5 ft by 5 ft balcony is just an extra. You can have a lovely Kanchenjunga view directly from the balcony. I dropped my idea of going to Tiger hill to view sunrise next morning as I planned to view it from the balcony itself.

I always take my powerful Bushnell Binaculor (10x * 90x) while I travel. So, I am bit excited to see the sunrise next morning from the attached balcony.

And believe me, very next morning, I have seen the best surise in my life. Haven't seen such a clear view from Tiger hill in my last 4 visits. May be this time, I am lucky to have clear sky with no fog.

The complimentary breakfast is awesome. They don't have buffet system. So, limited breakfast. If you wanna eat more you need to order it.

The dinning hall is very large and have excellent view of the hills from the big glass window,
The lawn is an added advantage for your kids to play.

The Bar is excellent and having the right ambiance that I want while I drink. I was the only guy in the bar. The tax is bit high so I think, most of the people avoid. But I am sure it will worth spending some time in bar.

You can contact the Hotel Manager for booking of cans for sight scene. The rates are more or less same everywhere.

Lastly, if you wanna taste the actual Darjeeling tea, order here. The taste is just awesome and mind blowing!

The only flip side is the tariff could be 20% less. But still if you wanna have a memorable stay, don't miss this lodge.

Thanks guys! Have a nice memorable stay here.
Cheers

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sandip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.8 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#73 of 99 in Darjeeling
98 reviews
2.7 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#10 of 99 in Darjeeling
380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 99 in Darjeeling
665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darjeeling Tourist Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darjeeling Tourist Lodge

Address: Bhanu Sarani | Next to Gymkhana Club, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing