We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elgin, Darjeeling
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“My experience”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

A good looking hotel if I may say so.Great location with nice rooms with beautiful view.Very helpful staff and very courteous.The only sore point is the buffet.....limited cousins.....need to have more eating options for guests for sure.Beautifully done up property..

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ateet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Sir!

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and ambiance .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    199
    48
    27
    21
See reviews for
205
195
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I find hotel good. Interior as well exterior are royal and rich. One get exclusive feel . Food is good but one should not expect five star like food quality. Room service is slightly sluggish. But overall its highly recommend. Chowrasta , which is a nice place to visit during night is very near.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dr shail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Sr !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and ambiance . We have made a note of your comment of the sluggish service and satisfactory quality of food . We will brief the service and kitchen staff likewise .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Outside of hotel was lovely with stunning views and the lounge/bar area with open fire very inviting. We were quite perplexed by checking in procedure, given seat in lounge and then told room was ready but no real welcome( saw other people arriving next day receiving drinks etc). Quite frankly the room needed cleanlng, I actually wrote the words "clean me" in the Dust on the TV stand. We were disappointed that the hotel advertised WI FI in all areas, it only worked in one small area near reception. On a similar note the menu for dinner was not as described on the website, no Chinese or continental choices available. However I had a poorly stomach and I was offered really good cheese omelettes. Bathrobes, towels and bedding were clean but grey and certainly need replacing. Best features of this hotel are the hardworking staff especially the hot water bottle man.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Madame !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation and constructive criticism of the hotel and services. We apologize for the non availability of the chinese and continental menus during your stay as our chefs were on their annual leave at the time . We will however have replacement chef now trained on both cuisines to make up for this in case our chefs are off work for some reason. We also apologize for the delay and shortfalls in your check in and have taken up the matter with our front desk staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney,
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Elgin is a charming colonial hotel packed with well maintained original features. It is very clean, has loads of character and charm, and the 3 dogs are adorable! The hotel is right in the middle of town and is an easy walk to the town square, shopping and restaurants. If you are wanting a hotel in the middle of a tea plantation, or one with views of the Himalayas, this is not the one for you. The honking car horns can be a little intrusive, but Darjeeling is in India after all. Room for improvement: we booked a valley view room, and had noted this as a precondition of staying. Unfortunately upon arrival we were told there were no valley view rooms available, and it was not until we produced a print out of the original email that an appropriate room was 'found'. We took the dinner and breakfast package and found both meals to be consistently disappointing, and inconsistent with the overall hotel standards. In summary, fantastic ambiance, shame about the food.

Room Tip: Request valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Madame !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , the ambiance and services . We are sorry to hear that were not satisfied with the food . Though our food is prepared to the highest standards under the personal guidance and supervision of our owners we would love a more detailed feedback from you through the email so we can improve on the areas where you found our food to be inconsistent with our over all standards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the Elgin as part of a private tour of India so it was booked for us, and as we had only requested standard accommodation we were surprised and delighted when we were shown to the Elgin. As you step through the door you are transported back in time, the lounge area looks as it might have in Victorian times and is utterly delightful, as we arrived in the afternoon we were shown to seats here and brought afternoon tea, and I'm sorry but nowhere that serves afternoon tea as standard can be bad in my book! Our room (room 58) was lovely although we thought we would be getting a double and it was a twin but it didn't bother us, it also had a sitting area with a sofa and fireplace and a small writing desk under the window. The room was cleaned daily, and like others we got hot water bottles at night. We really ate well during our stay, it was buffet but mostly a good selection of hot food and the waiting staff were really good and we enjoyed a good few chats with them. The grounds of the hotel were well kept and pretty although not extensive but given the area that's not a surprise. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and felt that it was really good value.

Room Tip: Room 58 is huge and has a sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fellulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Madame !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel and services . We are sorry that we could not give you a double room as this was not requested in advance by your travel agent .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Having arrived in the hotel after a long flight, we were pleasantly surprised at the warm reception and the location of the hotel. With beautiful views from the garden ,despite being just below mall road( albeit a steep climb for city folks) and an old world charm this hotel spelt class.Good food spread,impeccable service and an eversmiling staff made it a memorable experience. Kudos Mr.Oberoi and the team for their high standards.Do not forget to play the the pet dogs in the premises!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hemalparag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Sir & Madame !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and the fluffy dogs .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at the Elgin for 4 nights and had a lovely time there. The rooms are great and very clean and comfortable , and there is the added bonus of a hot water in your bed at night! The staff are all very helpful and friendly. There are some lovely fluffy dogs that live there too!

Room Tip: We booked the suite for an extra Rs1000 a night (roughly) as travelling with a small child - very la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomandluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Sir & Madame !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and the fluffy dogs .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 97 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 97 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 97 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#6 of 97 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 97 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin, Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin, Darjeeling

Property: The Elgin, Darjeeling
Address: 18 HD Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#2 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#6 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin, Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin is the oldest heritage hotel in Darjeeling , built in 1887 it was the summer residence of the Maharajah (King) of Cooch Behar. The property was then leased and run by succession of British families the last being Madame Nancy Oakley . It was then acquired by Mr K.C Oberoi of the Oberoi family of Hoteliers fame in 1969 and has been run and managed by the Elgin Hotels & Resorts Chain to this day . The Elgin brand which now owns and operates 4 Heritage Hotels & Resorts in the region of Darjeeling & Sikkim is headed by its Managing Director Mr B.R Oberoi fondly known as Diamond Oberoi . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Elgin, Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Elgin Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing