We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heritage spirit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elgin, Darjeeling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Elgin, Darjeeling
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Gangtok, India
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Heritage spirit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Elgin in darjelling is heritage treat. well maintained garden near mall road
Superb location nice food friendly staff what else one can want enjoy your vaccination
Plant a tree in darjelling while you visit

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank phurbagrangden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Sir !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and ambiance . We at Elgin will continue to strive and maintain the Heritage Spirit of our hotels and at the same time offer you the best of modern comfort and conveniences .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    193
    48
    24
    21
See reviews for
194
190
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Elgin in Darjeeling has an excellent location, right there next to the Mall where every tourist will eventually find himself in. Though the Mall itself is disappointing, the Hotel makes up for it. It's Heritage in every way and the ambiance is one of times long gone by. There's even a Tea Room and a Library! The guest rooms are small but adequate. On our second night we shifted to a ground floor room from the "Attic Room" into which we were ushered into with a promise of "mist wafting in". The climb up endless stairs knocked the life out of us but the shift to the ground floor room made up with its lovely valley view. The food, unfortunately, did not live up to expectations. A well managed hotel run by helpful staff and a delight to stay in.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms, though very few, are best chosen. Upper floors entail a lot of climbing up and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jyotikumar_Sarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Mr Sharma!

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and ambiance . We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you climbing the stairs of the hotel, as an option we have ground floor rooms facing the hotel lawn and should we have an opportunity to serve you again we will be happy to offer you our ground floor rooms .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darjeeling, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

i had been twice time with my group in Elgin Darjeeling afternoon high tea. because of British heritage A 125 year old Royal Manor House. the staff are very friendly good service they provide cake biscuit with high tea which is Rs.375/ per person.

i and all my group enjoy in this place definitely come again with some more group,
thank you all elgin team,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshmitaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Ashmita !

We really appreciate that your group enjoyed our afternoon tea menu at the Elgin Lounge . We look forward to having you and your group once again in the near future and we will strive and continue to improve our services even further .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in the month of June.we were received with a warm welcome and a silk kada.the hospitality is great and the staff is very polite.the room size was fine but had a stale smell(had to open all the windows)
The dinning room and the lounge area are warm and welcoming .
The piano player plays very soothing tunes.
The food is very good and the chef very accommodating .
The location is the best part of the hotel. It is very close to the mall but still is away from the crowd.
The hotel dogs are very docile .Must take a pic with them

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neenashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Madame

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and ambiance . We have two docile snow dogs (Samoyeds) Peter and Lillian who would love to say hello to you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at Elgin Hotel for 4 nights this June . The welcome we recieved was beautiful the Silken Kada was a lovely gesture. The hotel is situated close to the mall and is a beautiful property . We had a great stay as my kids enjoyed playing in the manicured garden while we relaxed.
Just that the bathrooms need to be re- done as per existing standards and inclusion of dishes like sausages etc in the breakfast buffet would be welcomed. Though the Buffet was simple but mouth watering .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Sir !

We are very sorry that we had no sausages for breakfast during your stay with us , this was due to a suppliers supply shortage. We have now changed our supplier and we do hope to serve you sausages of your choice the next time you are our guest . Once again thank you so much for appreciating our hotel overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a very well preserved heritage property, well located and close to Mall. Staff in general is polite except one or two waiters. Dining hall is a cosy place with a pleasant piano player. Food is homely and good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vk167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Sir !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and ambiance .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Me n my wife had booked a room at the Elgin Darjeeling for our honeymoon (17th October to 21st October 2013). Having planned the stay almost 2months in advance, we had done the reservation through the Calcultta office of the Elgin Group. Our contact person Ms. Superna Biswas had been communicated our travel plan along with our room request and also a special request for a room with a nice view and a fire place. Inspite of having spoken to her many times over the phone as also via Email she conveniently forgot to tell us that, during that time of the year the fireplace is not functional at all in the entire hotel (Since the weather inspite of October was decently cool in Darjeeling).

The day we arrived at the Hotel after a long journey from Mumbai we were rudely disappointed to know that the large European group which had just checked in had been given away all the nice rooms in the hotel.

And trust me when i say the property though very beautifully shown on the website does not really stand true to its web images!!!

So when we asked them at the reception about our room they told us that the request was never sent to them. When we gave them the name of Ms. Biswas as our contact person and showed them the email communication which specifically mentioned our requests, they gave us a room which was one of the older ones in the corner on the ground floor and had a fire-place (of course which was not working).

After being disappointed with the room, we still managed to refresh ourselves and went for dinner later in the evening. To our dismay, even there preference was given to the european group. It felt as if we were back in British Raj....the 'Haan Ji' attitude of the management reflected even in the behaviour of the staff at the Elgin Darjeeling. The Dinner was a Buffet style set up and upon requesting naan as i had seen it on the european group's plates too, we were curtly refused saying it was not part of the buffet menu for that evening. Upon asking if we could order it a la carte, we were vehemently refused that option too.

All in all.....the property aint maintained that well, so please visit only if u are of any other origin but Indian.........

Europeans, Brits, Americans, etc. would definitely enjoy their stay.....just like they did in the British Era!!!

Its seems that the Elgin Darjeeling is still running its business the way it used to prior to Independence. May be they should remind themselves that India is a free country now and they need to pay attention to the fact that if they dont mend their ways and improve the qualtity of service towards the Indian Clientele they might really lose out on a lot of business which might have otherwise definitely come their way!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank NinadSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Owner at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Sir !
First of all thank you for choosing the Elgin Darjeeling . We at Elgin treat all our guests equally and with dignity and this is what i have always conveyed to my staff . People are our most valuable asset (All our staff and guests aliike). We agree that our reservations made a mistake in their communication. Howerevr your reaction to the issue is overtly exagerrated and your remarks on tripadvisor are one sided and racist towards foreignors !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.9 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#7 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.8 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin, Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin, Darjeeling

Property: The Elgin, Darjeeling
Address: 18 HD Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#2 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#6 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin, Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin is the oldest heritage hotel in Darjeeling , built in 1887 it was the summer residence of the Maharajah (King) of Cooch Behar. The property was then leased and run by succession of British families the last being Madame Nancy Oakley . It was then acquired by Mr K.C Oberoi of the Oberoi family of Hoteliers fame in 1969 and has been run and managed by the Elgin Hotels & Resorts Chain to this day . The Elgin brand which now owns and operates 4 Heritage Hotels & Resorts in the region of Darjeeling & Sikkim is headed by its Managing Director Mr B.R Oberoi fondly known as Diamond Oberoi . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Elgin, Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Elgin Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing