We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Glenburn”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenburn Tea Estate
Ranked #3 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We were at Glenburn from April 21st through 24th. We stayed in the Planters Suite. Sp here is the down low:

Travelling there: We landed at Bagdogra Airport on a very warm day. As instructed by Glenburn, we went outside after collecting our luggage and the driver Asik was there in hte green Glenburn uniform. He was very pleasant and after seating us in the car, gave us cool "nimbu-pani" (lemonaid) and wet towels. What a nice welcome!

We then set off for a 3 1/2 hr drive to the plantation. On the way, we stopped at an observation point- where we had sandwiches- (packed by Glenburn), tea and cake. YUM!
When you turn off the main road to approach the plantation- hold tight! The road is a single lane road full of potholes -going down hairpin curves. It is quite literally single lane- the same lane for going and oncoming traffic- as a result- God forbid another car is coming up when you are going dowm. But the drivers are experienced and do a good job.

Room: We stayed in the Planters Suite. It shows slight wear and year and could do with an slight uplift. All in all the room is good if you like antique furniture. It had a old tub in the bath (we prefer a shower) which was hard to use- the whole bathroom floor got wet when we used the hand held shower.

The doors and mesh screens do not shut properly- as a result we had 2 geckos in our room Now I am terrified of bugs- but the staff was very sweet and promptly removed the geckos from the room.(manually)

Food was good- service was excellent. The tea tour- great! And the non-stop first flush tea served the old fashioned way on a tea tray with silverware and teacups is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Get a room in the Water Lily Bunglow- it is newer- unless you like older rooms with character. the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gotham3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

Wonderful hostess made our welcome amazing after a 13 journey from Chennai. Fabulous iced tea. We were offered a pot of tea and some cakes and biscuits as we had not had lunch. It was brought quickly to our beautiful room, and then on to drinks by the bonfire and a wonderful shared dinner experience with the other guests. It truly feels like a home stay - if your home has a magical staff catering to your every need!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Live2TravelAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

On arrival we were greeted wjth a refreshing drink and cool towels to freshen up after our journey from Delhi.In our room was a bottle of chilled champagne and a celebration cake {sugar free} We spent 5 nights ,and enjoyed every moment of our time. Nila helped us arrange our days with a lovely pinic and a bottle of wine at the Summit overlooking the tea plantation for my birthday.
The trip to the river and BBq was especially relaxing .Any special needs were discreetly and quickly addressed.Eg.the day after treking along the river my leg muscles were a bit tight,jokingly I said "I need a step ladder to get into bed"that night there was a small step by the bed to assist my assent.Thank you to NILA AND ALL THE STAFF FOR A WONDERFUL 5 DAYS

Room Tip: Dining room which offers group sitting .Great to meet new people and share experiences. Also offere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We spent four nights here and loved every minute of our time in the plantation. We also were welcomed by Najma who is a charming hostess and offered a cup of Glenburn tea before being shown to our rooms. We were all thrilled with our rooms which were large & spacious and beautifully decorated. Our rooms were not in the main house and you would have to be able to climb some steps to get to the main house for dinner/drinks etc. We had some wonderful walks one of which was down to the river where they had organised a picnic lunch. The food was very good and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: February 2012
4  Thank fido0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We have just returned after staying at Glenburn for 4 four nights. It was just the rest I needed after having a very busy few days in Sikkim at a Wedding. The Host was perfect, the staff were wonderful the place is just perfect. No stress, no hassle just relaxation. Thanks to all the staff. Yes it is a long journey but worth every penny expecially if you do see the mountains perhaps next time for us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MinnieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We love this elegant small hotel, here's why. The approach? Okay so Its down a very long, winding, bumpy dusty narrow single track lane through the vast tea plantation and you'll prpbably be exhausted by the time you reach the house and wonder what all the fuss is about, you're about to find out.  What about the welcome? Great. We were greeted by an attractive young lady who immediately puts you at your ease by offering tea or coffee before showing you to your suite. So what about these suites, what if I'm travelling alone? No worries because there is a room which used as a single, the rest are suites, seven of them. These suites are in two separate buildings quite close together in the grounds overlooking the tea plantation. The main house or Burra Bungalow has three of the suites and the room. It also serves as the general meeting place for lunch and dinner,  unless you'd prefer to dine alone, this, we were told would be no trouble. There are no suite numbers just names, we had 'Camellia'  in The Water Lily Bungalow, no need for keys, unless you insist. Our suite was perfect with a small terrace offering picture perfect views of the glorious mountains and the Sikkim Hills, the suite next door is almost the same but has a four poster bed and two terraces for you to enjoy the same view. The bathroom? It's huge with a separate shower room, the freebies are green tea based soaps and shampoos. And lets not forget the fluffy white towels. The bed has beautifully locally embroidered cotton sheets. At night it gets cold but you have two heaters in your suite together with an electric blanket and hot water-bottles if you so wish. There is no television in any of the rooms and no Wifi. A further nice touch is the freshly cut flowers everywhere. In each 'Bungalow' there is a common lounge area, outside of which is a large sun terrace where you can sit and meditate, there's chequered marble flooring, potted plants and flowers everywhere alongside the obligatory white wicker furniture. We sat there enjoying tea from a proper teapot, drinking from bone china teacups gazing at the towering hills of Sikkim in front of us. The only sound likely to disturb you are the birds and the soft breeze, apologies for romanticising but frankly it's hard not to, it is an extraordinarily romantic place. Lunch is at the one table so you get a chance to share your thoughts and experiences with the other guests. The food? Delicious! The best to date during our five weeks of travelling in India. The staff? Impeccable, the best. Anything else? Yes. You get a fresh basket of fruit in your room, as much tea and coffee, snacks, cakes, biscuits, soft drinks as you like whenever you want it, all inclusive with the room rate, not bad.What about the booze? You can get what you want, as for wine, here's how it works, you pay for the first glass, the second and third are complimentary and you start to pay again after that, and if you like your G&T's, sorry but you're going to have to pay the full price for all spirits, but if it helps, they are 'healthy' measures. But please note, booze is not cheap here, but you probably guessed that already, besides, whose counting, you're on holiday, enjoy. We did meet guests who told us that they thought the booze was all inclusive, they never thought of themselves as big drinkers, until they got the bill, but that's Devon folk for you. Things to do? Lots! It's a working tea plantation so you can do a day tour, camping, rafting, fishing, hiking, bird watching, visit schools, local villages, main towns, cookery classes, in other words there's plenty to do and enjoy, and if the weather doesn't permit enjoy the complimentary tea and home cooked brownies. By the by they offer complimentary laundry and ironing, it just gets better and better. Any downsides to this piece of heaven on earth? Very few but if I was really nitpicking I'd say that if you decide to stay in Water Lilly you've got a lot of steps to climb to Burra where everything happens in the evening, however I believe the views from Water Lily out-weigh that, after all you're here for that incredible view of Kanchenjunga. Anything else? Well breakfast is served under the tree at Water Lily level, again you share a table with fellow guests. Dinner is like an informal dinner party, all together at one grand table, we loved it and they take into account the guests nationality and prepare appropriate dishes. You might want to pack a few smart items, casual but elegant. There must be some faults surely? Okay there is, but I'm scraping the bottom of the barrel now, there ought to be an impressive fine whiskey collection or brandy for after dinner drinks, there is no heater in the bathroom unless you count the heated towel rail, no minibar, no phone in the room, no sun loungers or hammocks for the sun worshippers and the bathrobes are ridiculously small and the perhaps the greatest sin of all...the plastic hangers!! Lastly, you do feel cut off in the Water Lily, there I've said it. But apart from that I think you'll be very, very pleased with your stay at the most perfect place in India. Our Recommendation: if visiting West Bengal and Sikkim use this hotel as your base, forget other hotels with the possible exception of the Windermere (see my reviews for full explanation) anything worth seeing is a short drive away, I urge you to stay at Glenburn it offers everything the others don't.

Room Tip: Every suite is unique so you'll be fine. The water Lily bungalow offers the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank caribbeanskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Glenburn is wonderful.our room was truly great and the staff were really helpful. Can't recommend this place enough. Wish I could have stayed longer as the was plenty to do and keep you occupied

Room Tip: I think the waterlilly bungalow rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arden1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
5.0 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 97 in Darjeeling
654 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 97 in Darjeeling
550 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 97 in Darjeeling
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ging Tea House
Ging Tea House
#8 of 97 in Darjeeling
81 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#12 of 97 in Darjeeling
313 reviews
4.9 mi away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#7 of 97 in Darjeeling
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenburn Tea Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenburn Tea Estate

Address: Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenburn Tea Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Glenburn Tea Estate Hotel Darjeeling
Glenburn Tea Estate West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing