We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toral Value for money”
Review of Hotel Alice Villa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Alice Villa
Ranked #34 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Warm and friendly ambience with the owner Mr Pradhan being very helpful. Total VFM. Food is also good and proximity to chowrasta is less than 5min. Rooms are simple and clean yet have all the amenities. I went with my aged mother who cant walk much hence it was a boon as the hotel is on the ground floor and Mr Pradhan was kind enough to change our room to near the entrance on seeing her condition. It is also very safe as the main gate is locked at 10 pm as we were only two ladies.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank priti71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

great hotel, great location, great owners the pradhans - very honest and not greedy like other hotels who take advantage of the situation and change colours every season, cosy rooms, ask for the duplex rooms with fireplace, great food, simplicity redefined, pls do not expect 5star service, ask with a smile and they are ready to help you with anything, impossible to find place as good as this at this price anywhere in darjeeling, ample parking space, disciplined happy hotel - i am a regular here.

Room Tip: just keep it simple and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rajmylestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We visited Darjeeling during the last week of Navember 2009 spilling over to the first few days of Dec. We stayed at Hotel Alice Villa and it was unbelieveable. The location of the hotel is spot on - a 2/3 min walk to the "Mall Road" from where one gets stupendous views of the sun rise and its reflections off Mt Kanchendzonga. There is a taxi stand lietrally at the door step and so is an internet cafe. The rooms were outstanding, although without any view. We stayed in duplex room which had a small flight of stairs leading to the bedroom in the upper floor and the lower floor was a living room and had a fire place which we used on a daily basis - a throwback to the days where there were no ACs etc etc. The ensuite bathroom was the size of a budget hotel room with running water (running hot water between 6 and 10 in the morning and agian at 6 in the evnening)!!!!!!!! For food we nneded to order well in advance as the custom in this hotel is to serve fresh (it seems they go to market after getting the order to pick up fresh vegetables and meat etc and the ingredients!) - the down side is one cannot get any extra helpings. And the cost - we paid INR 1200/- per night for 3 of us which is USD 26/- for the room only.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SenDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We landed up at Alice Villa by default since we required a hotel with secure parking space.
This turned out to be an excellent choice. Located just 2 minutes from the Mall andnot
even 10 minutes from our favourite eating place:Keventers! also Glenary's is enroute.
The hotel has an old time charm about it, and is well run by Mr Pradhan. The staff
is very helpful too. The rooms are large and clean, so are the toilets.And at least
in off season its a real cinch!

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank ashok123w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

I visited Darjeeling for many a time and as a result, i stayed in many hotels too.But the one with the best service and charm was Hotel Alice Villa. The location of this hotel is just ideal. You can find all the main tourist attractions of Darjeeling not far from there.
Guys, I cant express it in words. I can just say that if you plan a trip to darjeeling, I highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hoodibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

I found this hotel from my Japnese guidebook.
I reached Alice Villa late night, but still they could offer me some nice Indian foods and clean room.
It located closed to the center of the city, so it is convenient for sightseeing, but it is really quiet around this hotel.

Also, the manager was so helpful.

If you are plannig to stay Dargeeling for a few days, I am sure you will feel relax at ALice Villa.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank inekichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

This was a lovely little hotel located just past the main town square towards the north-end comfortably tucked away at the end of a narrow alley & overlooking the high school below.

The boutique-like hotel has an interestingly furnished hallway decorated with cushion-filled chairs, book cases, reading tables & a view over one of the many valleys that Darjeeling overlooks. This view is facing an eastern direction & would probably be a magnificent sight on a clear morning with unfiltered sunlight shinning thru.

Our room had 2 single beds which had a high ceiling, hot water, fan & tv but the most impressive & enjoyable feature was the fireplace. Most of the other well-furnished hotels lacked this one important standout feature for the western tourist, better yet it was actually functioning! No broken promises it was working!

After a long day trekking, sight-seeing or walking amongst the narrow alleyways & cobblestone streets of this once English hill station, Darjeeling begins its hibernation for another night wrapping itself in the endless supply of clouds that pass through the city at altitude. With most of the businesses closing by 8pm there really isn’t a better way to spend the evening than sitting in front of a warm fireplace sipping Darjeeling’s world famous tea.

The hotel is definitely well placed in the budget category and its value would be very hard to beat anywhere else. The rooms are clean & the hotel functions without major flaws.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
2.6 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 99 in Darjeeling
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 99 in Darjeeling
552 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pahari Soul
Pahari Soul
#8 of 126 in Darjeeling
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 99 in Darjeeling
654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#71 of 99 in Darjeeling
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alice Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alice Villa

Address: 41 H.D. Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: £10 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing