We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel Alice Villa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Alice Villa
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at Hotel Alice Villa for 3 nights in early June 2014.

This is a fantastic, homely hotel. The hotel is very clean and cozy; beautiful carpeted corridors exuding a old world charm. The rooms are huge, and the size of the bathroom can easily accomodate another room in it. The staff is very helpful and polite, always.

Food menu is limited. One can eat all meals here, although we ate outside for breakfast and lunch, and ate dinner at the hotel. Order for lunch / dinner need to be placed well in advance (e.g. dinner order needs to be placed by 5.30 pm). The food served was freshly cooked, piping hot and very tasty.
The location is very near the darjeeling mall (1 minute walk). Another important point is that the hotel gates are closed around 10 pm, so if you are planning for late night parties, and planning on returning to the hotel very late, this may cause some inconvenience.

If you are looking for a room with a view (of the Kanchenjunga), this is not the hotel for you. For us this was not an issue since the mall was only a minute walk away.

This is my first choice for hotel in Darjeeling.

Room Tip: Try to book rooms in the old wing; Rooms 3 and 4 are duplex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainSpiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    26
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

nice small clean and peaceful hotel. very good restaurant though menu is limited. very polite staff. well located. large clean bathrooms; very big by darjeeling standards. i liked the small changing area that was included in the room that we got.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are better i guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsubho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

one of the best properties in Darjeeling .
the rooms were very clean , cozy and contains all amenities that a hotel must have . The hotel manager Mr.Pradan was very friendly , helpful. all in all , all the staffs were very helpful !!
Had a comfortable stay 11

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bharathwaj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is one of the oldest family owned hotel of Darjeeling. Good for family,couple or solo traveller. Quite near the Mall, only 2 minutes walk. Spacious,clean rooms & bathrooms. Polite and ready to serve staff members.They do have a dining hall to serve meals to guests, but orders for meals has to be placed beforehand, as they do not have a restaurant facility. Plenty of restaurants are nearby only, including Glenary's and Keventars. Sightseeing tour arrangements are done with prior intimation.Tariff is moderate, within Rs.1500/- to Rs.2500/-. They doesnot have any mountainview room. But mountains can be seen within 2 minutes walk from hotel. All in all a very nice cosy place to spend vacation. We stay here nearly once, every year.

Room Tip: Take any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skyvalley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

If you know the history of Bengal's summer capital and miss the charm of an erstwhile era, this is the closest you get to after Windamere, at a much more affordable rate.
Red carpet, Fireplace, wooden walls (these rooms are in the old wing of the hotel) makes for a cozy comfortable stay.

The service is average with basic needs attended to. It's more a guest house than a hotel.

If you notify them in advance they will also prepare your meal... Much like a delicious home cooked food..

Very centrally located, with the mall at a stone's throw...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank footloosefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This Holi, we, ie 3 of us, friends, for the last 50 years, reached Darjeeling, and checked in at the Alice Villa. A hotel just stone throw from the Mall. Pradhan welcomed us with a warm smile, and arranged for a 3bedded room on the ground floor. The red carpeted veranda with the raj day furniture and antique but functioning stove floored us. The room no.7 which was alloted ot us was a spacious and comfortable one with a fireplace in the room. The tea and breakfast was grand. The staff was ready to serve even at odd hours. We had a nice time with the fireplace warming us in the evening. The dinner was spartan but wholesome. We are looking for a relaxing weekend at the hotel with our family and would like to be in the room no.2 or3 which are of duplex type with the sleeping arrangements on the upper floor.

Room Tip: Look for the duplex rooms on the grounds floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudipkroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

BEST LOCATION. So close to the Mall and yet, so far away from the crowd....clean rooms, good food-although more options available close by....this hotel makes your vacation complete....very cooperative staff as well....thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhromon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.4 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#66 of 98 in Darjeeling
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.5 mi away
Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Gleneagles Heritage Resort
0.0 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#17 of 98 in Darjeeling
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Himalayan Resort
Mount Himalayan Resort
#33 of 98 in Darjeeling
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alice Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alice Villa

Property: Hotel Alice Villa
Address: 41 H.D. Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing